Customer Reviews for

Murder in the South of France

Average Rating 3.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Highly reccomend

After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder...
After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder from where the vulgarity came. Sure there where some romantic scenes, but I really did not find them explicite. The language was not all that strong either. As a matter of fact, I thought that this novel was surprisingly refreshing. It was well written, kept you wondering until the end "who done it", explained what needed to be explained and left to your imagination that which is more intetesting when fully imagined. I will definitely read hey other novels.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

vulgar

Do not like the dirty language.

posted by bm54 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Highly reccomend

    After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

    I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder from where the vulgarity came. Sure there where some romantic scenes, but I really did not find them explicite. The language was not all that strong either. As a matter of fact, I thought that this novel was surprisingly refreshing. It was well written, kept you wondering until the end "who done it", explained what needed to be explained and left to your imagination that which is more intetesting when fully imagined. I will definitely read hey other novels.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended-Check it out!

    I highly recommend this book. I enjoyed the French phrases in it, all of which were translated into English. The protagonist and her friends are very likable. I enjoyed the French flavor of the book and descriptions of the surrounding area. I also enjoyed the wine and food references. I have read all the books in this series and enjoyed each one.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    vulgar

    Do not like the dirty language.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Twists and turns galore.

    This was my first time reading this author and I enjoyed it. This book takes place partly in Atlanta and partly in Paris and other parts of France. You could probably consider it a cozy, but with a little bit of international flare. Maggie Newberry is the main character. She goes to France to find her sister's daughter and bring her back to Atlanta. The plot has a lot going on and I don't want to give anything away, but between the pages there are a lot of twists and turns and some unexpected events. There are 2 more books in this series and I plan to read them both.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Very good. Mystery, adventure and vicarious travel. I liked i

    Very good. Mystery, adventure and vicarious travel. I liked it enough to buy the next in the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This is a "light" murder mystery with a female protago

    This is a "light" murder mystery with a female protagonist that I found entertaining and easy to read.
      There is mention of many things French and use of some French language, which Francophiles
    might also enjoy.  The main character is  likable and believable.  The thing I enjoyed the most, is that 
    the story focuses on relationships and human character rather than a lot of heavily researched political
    nonsense used as filler in so many of the "best sellers" these days.  Criticism of the book would be  
    occasional too flowery language, and a few stereotyped characters,  but it's forgivable.   Overall a very pleasant  and interesting non-action murder novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Can't recommend this one

    I love a mystery, but this is just a confused mess, with unlikeable (and unlikely) characters.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Wow, can't believe that this received 5 star ratings by some rea

    Wow, can't believe that this received 5 star ratings by some readers. I was looking for another series of mysteries set in France and hoped this would be it.
    How disappointing! I wanted to like it but I agree with some of the other reviewers that it was very messy and disjointed. I think the idea might have worked but 
    the story didn't seem to progress logically or in a logical time frame (Maggie is desperate to know who killed her sister but waits 6 months to go back to France?)
    The French was frequently incorrect, incorrect verb tense, etc. If you're going to put something like that in your book, make sure you get it right! Who was the editor
    on this thing, maybe if the editing had been better, it would have had a prayer... Sorry, but I won't be buying any other books from this series. If you want a well plotted mystery set in France, check out the Aimee LeDuc series by Cara Black.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Worst book I have read this year

    So far I have read over 250 books this year and this is easily the worst one i have read yet. It is not easy to follow, the characters aren't developed, and there is a lot of French in it with no translation. I have read the reviews for the other books in the series and they are more favorable, but not enough for me to purchase them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Meh didnt like this

    Who dates a guy and moves him in and doesn't ask about his life or his family? Doesnt know a thing about the guy. And she goes to his native land and he is worried but doesn't go with her. Doesn't have a job for months. Dumb.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Enjoyed immensely! I read some of the reviews AFTER I read th

    Enjoyed immensely!
    I read some of the reviews AFTER I read the book, and wondered what book THEY read.
    I saw very little profanity, or explicit sex scenes, and I thought the surprise ending was exciting, and surprising! I love that in a mystery-- to be surprised. I stumbled over the French used, but thought it was kinda' fun to learn some French along the way. Over all, I liked this book, and will read more of this author. I'm anxious to see just how Maggie and Laurent continue their relationship.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not to hot

    I realy did not like lt

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I tried to read this, I really did. I tried about seven times.

    I tried to finish this book. I tried over and over. I could not get past page 100. From there on I gave it a rapid scan, here and there, just to see what happened. It simply did not hold my interest. Unlike a few other reviewers, I never did feel as if it were vulgar. The mentions of sex were not explicit. Not a lot of cursing. It was rather tame in fact, unless it became worse after page 100, and I missed the vularity. Dog gone it. My main problem with this book was all the French words and moving about. Perhaps you will like it more.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Um...where do I start? First of all the characters are totally

    Um...where do I start? First of all the characters are totally unbelievable. The main character makes so many stupid decisions you just want to slap her. What kind of person would let a man so utterly deceive them but then justify continuing the relationship? Really? Does this author want to make women seem so stupid and vacuous that it takes us back to the Stone Age? I just don't get it. Love does not cover lies and deceit. At least not in my book. Another totally unlikable character was Roger. His contempt of American people comes across loud and clear. The author made sure of that. Why people need to think all Europeans feel this way is beyond me. I have lived in Germany (mother German dad military) and have relatives still there that I visit yearly as well as have traveled extensively in other countries and for the most part have been treated with respect and even kindness. Never been made to feel as if I was an insect on the bottom of a shoe. Why Maggie took his you know what and still liked him is beyond me. This is really how a professional woman acts? Secondly....since when does it take seven hours to drive from Atlanta to Savannah? Obviously this author has never made the drive. I have driven it in as little as three and a half but on average it is about four hours tops. Just google it if you don't know. Details are important. They can give validity to a story or break it. Little things like this as well as spelling, grammar, etc...matter. Just my two cents. I will not read the other Maggie Newberry mysteries. Before going I would like to say I did not find the novel to be vulgar in any way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Unsympathetic Characters; Dumb Protagonist; Writing Overall is Good, Though

    I just couldn't get into reading this book, even though I really tried.

    First, the technical/editing issues: there are points in the dialogue where the person talking is not the person who "said" whatever it was that was stated. For example, in a work meeting, someone named Patti is talking about Linda, yet the quote ends with "Linda said." Don't mean to nitpick but there were mistakes like this throughout the book.

    Now, on to the characters...There is one called "Brownie" who is just suddenly referenced in the beginning of the book, and who pops up now and again, but it's never explained exactly who this person is. An ex-boyfriend? An old friend?

    Next, we have the protagonist's boss, who is written with mannerisms and speech patterns stereotypically "flamboyant gay male", yet he is married to a woman, and has a child. No reference is made to any ambiguities or inconsistencies (like maybe a hint that the character had "a secret" or "a boyfriend" somewhere). It just left me confused as to why the author wrote him like that.

    The protagonist, to me, was dumb as a box of rocks, with a priviledged attitude that made me completely unsympathetic to her. If the author was trying to characterize a typical priviledged Southern woman, she did get that right.
    Unfortunately, I didn't give a darn what happened to her or her family.

    As to her (lack of) intelligence, it would be hard to find a more clueless character in a cozy mystery. There are such obvious clues regarding the identities of the protagonist's 'niece' and the protagonist's French fling, and the French fling's shadiness and suspect motives (which she doesn't question until the clues are right in her face) that she didn't pick up on, that after the first 100 pages or so I just got sick of her stupidity.

    I didn't care who killed her unlikeable, creepy sister. The sister came off as a spoiled, judgmental, elitist fool.

    I didn't like the protagonist and her stuck-up attitude - especially when she decided, against everyone's advice and also against any kind of compassion for special-needs people, to track down and question a delivery boy who already told the police he didn't see anything. But she has. to. do. something. No matter how stupid or insensitive.

    She barely questions this random Englishman who is charging her father money to retrieve a niece she has never met, and knew nothing about. She asks one or two questions but backs down when he gets offended. Then does whatever he says, even when he brings in some equally random Frenchman to help.

    The protagonist doesn't see anything weird or creepy about her fling with the Frenchman. She doesn't question him or even get mad when he turns up after having no contact with her for six months after she left France. She doesn't think it's at all presumptious or odd that he assumes he can just move in with her when he arrives - without a job (he is supposedly on vacation, but doesn't tell her from what) or apparently any money.

    She asks why he's there, and he says, "For you." Ok, sure, that makes total sense - to a completely self-absorbed dummy.

    It's not what I would call a "bad" book. It's just that I don't understand why the author wasted her own time writing about such strange and odious characters. The plot's not bad but it wasn't particularly compelling.

    I will look for her other books and give another one a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Wasn't as bad as some reviews claimed - I kind of liked it!

    Although it is unbelievable that she stays with Laurent - I would have castrated the bastard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    I'm amazed that this book receives so many positive reviews. The

    I'm amazed that this book receives so many positive reviews. The plot is implausible and the writing juvenile. I feel sorry for the reviewer who found it" fun to learn some French along the way." As a former French teacher, I wanted to hurl this book at the wall as hundred times. The love interest who is supposed to be a Frenchman uses poor grammar with almost every sentence he utters. The editing is horrendous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Good story line but needs editing.

    Mistakes galore. Story line is what held my attention. However, there are so many unrealistic aspects. I still liked it but it could be better with work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Murder in The Siuth of France

    This was a good read in spite of all of the ERRORS.
    I really enjoyed that there was a death immediately followed by other deaths or Murders! It kept my mind wondering, oops that dead woman wass not who she should be, to the wrong dead woman is alive so who is that dead woman! The author successfully put all of the wondering to rest, my questions answered and I did enjoy the mystery, not real crazy about deception in the love category

    SDCexy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    OK, but not believable.

    I would have liked to have seen the characters a little more fleshed out. And the plot towards the end seemed rather contrived. And she stayed with her boyfriend? I can only think she stuck with the lying ass because there's a sequel in the making.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7