Customer Reviews for

Murder in the South of France

Average Rating 3.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly reccomend

After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder...
After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder from where the vulgarity came. Sure there where some romantic scenes, but I really did not find them explicite. The language was not all that strong either. As a matter of fact, I thought that this novel was surprisingly refreshing. It was well written, kept you wondering until the end "who done it", explained what needed to be explained and left to your imagination that which is more intetesting when fully imagined. I will definitely read hey other novels.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

vulgar

Do not like the dirty language.

posted by bm54 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    vulgar

    Do not like the dirty language.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Can't recommend this one

    I love a mystery, but this is just a confused mess, with unlikeable (and unlikely) characters.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Worst book I have read this year

    So far I have read over 250 books this year and this is easily the worst one i have read yet. It is not easy to follow, the characters aren't developed, and there is a lot of French in it with no translation. I have read the reviews for the other books in the series and they are more favorable, but not enough for me to purchase them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not to hot

    I realy did not like lt

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Wow, can't believe that this received 5 star ratings by some rea

    Wow, can't believe that this received 5 star ratings by some readers. I was looking for another series of mysteries set in France and hoped this would be it.
    How disappointing! I wanted to like it but I agree with some of the other reviewers that it was very messy and disjointed. I think the idea might have worked but 
    the story didn't seem to progress logically or in a logical time frame (Maggie is desperate to know who killed her sister but waits 6 months to go back to France?)
    The French was frequently incorrect, incorrect verb tense, etc. If you're going to put something like that in your book, make sure you get it right! Who was the editor
    on this thing, maybe if the editing had been better, it would have had a prayer... Sorry, but I won't be buying any other books from this series. If you want a well plotted mystery set in France, check out the Aimee LeDuc series by Cara Black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    I'm amazed that this book receives so many positive reviews. The

    I'm amazed that this book receives so many positive reviews. The plot is implausible and the writing juvenile. I feel sorry for the reviewer who found it" fun to learn some French along the way." As a former French teacher, I wanted to hurl this book at the wall as hundred times. The love interest who is supposed to be a Frenchman uses poor grammar with almost every sentence he utters. The editing is horrendous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Either this book lost something in the transfer to digital or th

    Either this book lost something in the transfer to digital or the author left out a few paragraphs along the way.  Very confusing when you are 
    reading one paragraph and the next you are wondering how the characters reached that point.  Lost interest very fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Can't stand stupid leading characters. Especially when they're f

    Can't stand stupid leading characters. Especially when they're female. And this one is really stupid. Poorly written book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Storyline too choppy

    I tried several times to get into this book. I read to page 396 on my nook and it just wasnt keeping my attention and the flow wasnt good. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    What an absolute yawn-fest

    First of all, the main character was a straitlaced bore. I kept reading, hoping that the story would get better--that she would grow up and perhaps become interesting. It didn't happen. What was the point of rescuing the little girl if the grandparents didn't intend to get her help? And the mother--I can't decide if the novel was aggrandizing her addiction or there was a hope of her recovery. In the end I didn't care for any of these characters. If this is the world the writer comes from then she is welcome to it. As for me it was a crashing bore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Stupid

    I just cant get into this book, and i read most anything! Unrealistic, no substance to the chzracters and what is there just isnt interesting. I put it aside at page 50.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1