Customer Reviews for

Murder in the South of France

Average Rating 3.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Highly reccomend

After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder...
After reading all of the posted reviews, I would have to say that I agree with almost all of them but---

I would like to lnow where the person who foind this book too vulgar was reading. After reading the entire book, page by page and word by word, I wonder from where the vulgarity came. Sure there where some romantic scenes, but I really did not find them explicite. The language was not all that strong either. As a matter of fact, I thought that this novel was surprisingly refreshing. It was well written, kept you wondering until the end "who done it", explained what needed to be explained and left to your imagination that which is more intetesting when fully imagined. I will definitely read hey other novels.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

vulgar

Do not like the dirty language.

posted by bm54 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Twists and turns galore.

    This was my first time reading this author and I enjoyed it. This book takes place partly in Atlanta and partly in Paris and other parts of France. You could probably consider it a cozy, but with a little bit of international flare. Maggie Newberry is the main character. She goes to France to find her sister's daughter and bring her back to Atlanta. The plot has a lot going on and I don't want to give anything away, but between the pages there are a lot of twists and turns and some unexpected events. There are 2 more books in this series and I plan to read them both.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Unsympathetic Characters; Dumb Protagonist; Writing Overall is Good, Though

    I just couldn't get into reading this book, even though I really tried.

    First, the technical/editing issues: there are points in the dialogue where the person talking is not the person who "said" whatever it was that was stated. For example, in a work meeting, someone named Patti is talking about Linda, yet the quote ends with "Linda said." Don't mean to nitpick but there were mistakes like this throughout the book.

    Now, on to the characters...There is one called "Brownie" who is just suddenly referenced in the beginning of the book, and who pops up now and again, but it's never explained exactly who this person is. An ex-boyfriend? An old friend?

    Next, we have the protagonist's boss, who is written with mannerisms and speech patterns stereotypically "flamboyant gay male", yet he is married to a woman, and has a child. No reference is made to any ambiguities or inconsistencies (like maybe a hint that the character had "a secret" or "a boyfriend" somewhere). It just left me confused as to why the author wrote him like that.

    The protagonist, to me, was dumb as a box of rocks, with a priviledged attitude that made me completely unsympathetic to her. If the author was trying to characterize a typical priviledged Southern woman, she did get that right.
    Unfortunately, I didn't give a darn what happened to her or her family.

    As to her (lack of) intelligence, it would be hard to find a more clueless character in a cozy mystery. There are such obvious clues regarding the identities of the protagonist's 'niece' and the protagonist's French fling, and the French fling's shadiness and suspect motives (which she doesn't question until the clues are right in her face) that she didn't pick up on, that after the first 100 pages or so I just got sick of her stupidity.

    I didn't care who killed her unlikeable, creepy sister. The sister came off as a spoiled, judgmental, elitist fool.

    I didn't like the protagonist and her stuck-up attitude - especially when she decided, against everyone's advice and also against any kind of compassion for special-needs people, to track down and question a delivery boy who already told the police he didn't see anything. But she has. to. do. something. No matter how stupid or insensitive.

    She barely questions this random Englishman who is charging her father money to retrieve a niece she has never met, and knew nothing about. She asks one or two questions but backs down when he gets offended. Then does whatever he says, even when he brings in some equally random Frenchman to help.

    The protagonist doesn't see anything weird or creepy about her fling with the Frenchman. She doesn't question him or even get mad when he turns up after having no contact with her for six months after she left France. She doesn't think it's at all presumptious or odd that he assumes he can just move in with her when he arrives - without a job (he is supposedly on vacation, but doesn't tell her from what) or apparently any money.

    She asks why he's there, and he says, "For you." Ok, sure, that makes total sense - to a completely self-absorbed dummy.

    It's not what I would call a "bad" book. It's just that I don't understand why the author wasted her own time writing about such strange and odious characters. The plot's not bad but it wasn't particularly compelling.

    I will look for her other books and give another one a try.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Wasn't as bad as some reviews claimed - I kind of liked it!

    Although it is unbelievable that she stays with Laurent - I would have castrated the bastard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    OK, but not believable.

    I would have liked to have seen the characters a little more fleshed out. And the plot towards the end seemed rather contrived. And she stayed with her boyfriend? I can only think she stuck with the lying ass because there's a sequel in the making.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2015

    a good mystery

    Good story and the characters are intriguing. Editing could have been better...sometimes the errors it would alter the story. Would have given 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Decent mystery

    The mystery plot of the story was okay. Kept you wanting to find out what was going on. The romance part of the story was rather unbelievable and silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Light read

    Very light with not much substance but a good bedtime or beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2014

    Hardly Believable

    Maggie Newberry comes from a wealthy Atlanta family. Twice, her sister is supposed to have been killed, and later Maggie realizes that she was probably the target, not her sister. For some reason, she feels that she must go to France. Did I mention that she can solve crimes better than the police. Perhaps this is just a ploy to move the action to a more interesting venue. There are two editions of this book. I read the first, and did not compare it to #2. Somehow, I don't feel that I need to read another book by this author, but maybe book groups would like to discuss it. They certainly have various ideas of what constitutes a 'good read.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    A bit disjointed...

    It was okay, but the story line seemed disjointed & was difficult to follow at times. I did enjoy the descriptions of Paris; it was fun to revisit places I've been.

    It also seemed to me that the author and/or her editor may SPEAK French, but don't really READ & WRITE French--there were a lot of spelling and conjugation errors, which were irritating to me, and probably contribute to the confusion of non-French-speaking readers--it's hard to look up a word on Google Translate when it's not spelled correctly.

    All in all, not bad, but not one I'd want to purchase the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    3 stars

    Good book, but i found the use of French language annoying. I had to skip over most of that, which made me feel like I was loosing out on some of the best parts of the story. I will not read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Nice cross-cultural interactions with characters. Kept me guessing till almost the end.

    I think that the sadness & grief of Maggie, who is trying to find the killer & understand her sister's horrible life choices, and the twists of the plot provide a depth to the story that make you want to finish the reading,although I did find her relationship with Laurent strained credibility and prevented me from fully enjoying the tale. I questioned her judgement since she just jumped headlong into lust/ love with a virtual stranger & accepted him back into her life & invited him to move in with her after 6 months of silence. The French fling was understandable but when he turns up in the US with no explanations, eluding all questions, and moves right in...!? I finished the story not trusting him and wanting Maggie to be tougher on him. I did enjoy all the French in the book, and did not need any translation but I can see that a glossary at the back would be helpful for non-french speakers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Liked it

    C

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Good Mystery - Easy Read

    This is a good mystery easy to read. Fun for an afternoon or two at the beach. Set in Atlanta, not much takes place in Southern France. I was actually looking for some descriptive paragraphs of Southern France, but all in all, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Fun light read

    A bit predictable, but a fun light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    The setting is fun.

    Ho hum, another murder mystery...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Dulp

    It did not interest me but it was free so no complaints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    A fun read--especially if you like French phrases.

    I did enjoy the book. I love mysteries that are the "cozy" type, and I took French year's ago, so I chose this book to answer both of my interests. At times there could have been more transitions between chapters to keep the text flowing, but overall it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    You must check it out

    Enjoyed this little mystery very much. Think this is my second time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Do not recommend. Slow reading. Over 600 pages.

    It had a good plot I guess, kinda slow. I don't speak French so there was a lot I probably missed, but I wouldn't suggest to my reader friends to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Review

    Good book with couple nice twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2