Customer Reviews for

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Hercule Poirot Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Avid reader

This was my first real mystery book and I read it only for a school project. I had assumed it would be a real chore to read but I loved it. The beginning was really boring but after awhile I got really into it. When the ending came I had no idea, no idea. I had assumed ...
This was my first real mystery book and I read it only for a school project. I had assumed it would be a real chore to read but I loved it. The beginning was really boring but after awhile I got really into it. When the ending came I had no idea, no idea. I had assumed the killer would be fairly obvious and I had my theory but the conclusion really caught me by surprise. The ending really made the story. And I'd definitely read it again even without the urging of a teacher.

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read,but don't buy this one

Great book.That's why this version is so insulting,they chopped out the drawing the author intended.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    A case unlike any other, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is a myster

    A case unlike any other, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is a mystery in the class of mysteries where the concept is so novel that it will shock you and surprise you, leaving you with your mouth hanging open even though decades have passed since its publication! Howsoever, I tried I could not come up with one clear suspect. Agatha Christie expertly shifts her focus of suspicions from one character to another leaving the reader with no clue as to the real murderer. I tried all my "little grey cells" but could not pin point the murderer and when the killer was finally introduced I felt as if I had been punched so hard that no air was left in my lungs! This is one book that can be reread any number of times and it will entertain and shock us each time. An ageless and a gem from a legendary author, I give The Murder of Roger Ackroyda full shining 5 stars out of 5 and very highly recommend that you read this amazing mystery. A must read for everyone and a deserving "must have" for every avid reader. Read the complete review on blog Njkinny's World of Books..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Wow!

    A really good book. I think I could read it again and I still wouldn't be able to figure out the ending! I've never read anything like it. Ever since I read it I've been reading every Agatha Christie book I can get my hands on, and I have yet to be able to guess the ending. It's almost scary all the different ways she can think up to kill someone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is the classic Agatha Christie mystery. I've read the entire Christie canon and hold The Murder of Roger Ackroyd as one of her best. The narrator tells the story of Ackroyd's murder and Poirot's investigation. Poirot's surprising final deduction is revealed in a typical English murder mystery fashion. It is indeed a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Incredible narrative!!!

    I only read three agatha christie narratives and the three of them are amazing. If you did not read the murder of roger ackroyd, you need to read it, though from the three books I read this is the best one. You cannot believe it when you read the conclusion of this book. It is really unexpected. Besides, I love hercule poirot stories. You need to read this spectacular book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Excellent!

    When people say this is the penultimate hercule poirot book they aren't kidding! You will NEVER guess the culprit.(And I'm not telling) so I really recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Its Poirot, so therefore its good

    WHO CARES ABOUT THE OLD PIC BEING REPLACED!? Hercule Poirot is pretty much an AWESOME Belgian detective, the best of fiction. This mystery's ending was so ingeniously suprising and contreversial, that it is Agatha Christie's first and maybe largest masterpiece! Don't complain about the front cover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Ingenious

    The book that made Christie famous. Poirot is at his most amusing, having retired, become bored and been mistaken for a hairdresser. Give the poor man a murder. Even if you're not a Christie addict, this is one you shouldn't miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    The Quintessential Christie Novel

    Though Christie published numerous brilliant pieces of writing, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is, without a doubt, my favourite (and the first of Christie's books that I read). Not only is the plot mesmerizing and engrossing, the characters and the setting (Britain, 1920's) are utterly charming and insightful. And, as is typical of Agatha Christie, the book is intrinsically satirical. Please, read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

    ***PLOT SPOILER***








    I was looking for a book where the antagonist was the narator. I finally gave up because I could not find anything and decided to read an Agatha Christie mystery (and all of her mysteries that I have read are super). I randomly chose this book. I was SO surprised that I had found that it was just what I was looking for! It is the weirdest thing that I happened to find probably the only well-written book with the antagonist as the narator by chance on the same day I had given up searching for one...







    ***PLOT SPOILER***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Book is very good read. Different from Masterpiece classic movie

    Book is very good read. Different from Masterpiece classic movie, more intense. Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Left Me Guessing Until the End

    Agatha Christie has exceeded expectations again! I started the book knowing her ingenius ideas and admiring her as one of the greatest mystery writers of all time, but when I reached the climax, I sat bolt upright and shouted, "WHAT?!" I guessed all through the book, but I was astonished yet again by Christie's flair for surprise endings...and selective truth telling. By turns funny, baffling, and charming, this book is one you won't want to miss, with unforgettable characters and a whodunit that will require all your "little grey cells"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    One of my favqo One of my favorites

    Classic Christie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Such a great mystery!

    I defy you to solve this one ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Read this!!

    This was an incredible book!!!!!!! It had a surprising ending that you won't find in your regular old, classic, original, non Agatha Christie-ish, murder mystery! ( Meaning, only Agatha Christie could come up with such a brilliant twist!! ) I highly reccomend this phenomnal ( however you spell that! ) book!!!!! Another brilliant book by Agatha Christie is Murder on the Orient Express although you can't go wrong when if come to Agatha Christie cuz they're ALL phenomnal!!!!! Although, i have to admit, if i read a bunch of Agatha Christie books in a row, the stories all blend to gather and the plots all seem the same!!!!! And i also have to admit that i prefer the Hercules Poirot books rather than the Miss Marple and the stand aione ones!!! Let's go Poirot!!! 2, 4, 6, 8, who dowe apprieciate? Poirot, Poirot, POIROT!!!!! ( Sorry. Random chant! ) Well... i'de better sign off now! So i'll say ... GOOD BYE!!!!!!! ADIOS!!!! ( is that how you spell it??? ) Well... bye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"" ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Probably one of the most shocking endings I have ever read in my

    Probably one of the most shocking endings I have ever read in my entire life. Till this day when someone asks me for a good mystery novel (as I am an avid reader) I always reccomend this one. I read the Crooked House as well but the ending was ruined by my dad ( who is a great fan of Christie and was the one to tell me about her) therefore it wasnt as enjoyable. I did have to force myself through most of the book, but the ending made it all worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Excellent

    Very difficult to find fault with this great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    best mystery ever

    the book was exhilerating and the events and clues were chasing each other like track runners

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    murder of roger ackroyd

    I have all her books. This is one of my favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    One of Poirot's Best

    Agatha Christie has created a fine mystery in the English tradition with all of the elements you expect but a twist at the end you never see coming. This book is a lot of fun. There are a multitude of characters, a quaint British countryside setting, a nasty murder, secrets galore, and a slowly unraveling, byzantine plot that ends with a shocking twist. If you've never read Christie before, this is a good place to start. It's not graphic, topical, self-referential, or psychologically complex as some contemporary crime fiction is, but for a classic whodunit - this is as good as it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    A Famous Christie Mystery with a shocking memorable ending

    This was one of Christie's most popular and controversial novels. It has all the features of a terrific whodunit. Picturesque rural English country village, shocking murders, unique suspects with intriguing motives and an denouement you will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6