Customer Reviews for

Murder of a Real Bad Boy (Scumble River Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    A

    Denise Swanson writes a grat series! I'd recommend this book, but anyone of the series will keep you chuckling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    highly recommended

    very enjoyable. recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    One of my favorites of the series!

    Sheriff Buck Peterson: "I don't know why you're so riled up, May. I'm not accusing Skye of nothing."
    May: "Right. And I'm not saying if brains were water, you wouldn't have enough to baptize a flea."
    Denise Swanson- Murder of a Real Bad Boy

    Today's choice for my book to read and then donate to Better World Books was another in the Scumble River Mystery Series by Denise Swanson. Along with the witty dialogue I have come to expect from her books, this one held my interest with some clever side stories as well as some intriguing new characters.

    In Murder of a Real Bad Boy, Skye Denison soon discovers that while the contractor she hired is easy on the eyes, he is definitely hard on the bank account. The little work that is actually getting done on the house she inherited is subpar to say the least. She realizes that she is not the only one displeased with Beau Hamilton when she arrives home and finds that he has been murdered. And as an unhappy home owner, Skye looks like a prime suspect to Sheriff Buck Peterson.

    In between finding her lost cat, exploring her feelings for Wally, and finding out what secret her brother is keeping, Skye needs to figure out who really killed the all-thumbs contractor. But her meddling may end up getting her killed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Another fun Skye Denison cozy mystery

    Skye Denison has hired sexy contractor Beau Hamilton to renovate the old house she inherited. Everyone recommended him, after all. His good looks don¿t hurt either. Especially since Skye has sworn off men since her breakup with her boyfriend. Unfortunately Skye soon realizes his work isn¿t all it¿s cracked up to be. Before she can fire him, she finds him murdered. Who could have killed the contractor? Soon Skye finds the list goes on forever. Can she find the killer without putting herself in danger? Plus should she give Simon another chance? Then there¿s Chief Wally Boyd who is showing real interest in her. What¿s a girl to do? I love this series. School psychologist Skye Denison is such a fun character. No wonder the kids love her so much. I was happy to see Wally and her giving it a chance in this book. I¿m not sure which man I want to see her with, but she hadn¿t even given Wally a turn so that she could make a better decision. I always enjoy the wacky characters in this series. The author has done a great job of creating an enjoyable series with a town full of interesting people. This installment didn¿t disappoint! I can¿t wait to read the next book. I highly recommend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    A fun multi-tiered regional mystery

    She came back to her hometown of Scumble River to lick her wounds and heal with plans to leave her family quickly, but four years later Skye Denison is still in town firmly entrenched in the community working as a school psychologist. When a resident leaves Skye her house as an inheritance, the psychologist hires handsome contractor Beau Hamilton to do the renovation after obtaining great reports about his work thus far she doesn¿t understand why as his work is very shoddy.--------------- When she finds the gumption to fire him, Skye sees Beau is not where he is supposed to be at her house. A fear grips her especially when she sees a boat tied to a dock with a severely injured Beau. She races to get him to the hospital but he is DOA and the sheriff who would like to see her in jail and the chief of police, who would like to take her to bed both claim jurisdiction of the crime scene. Skye can¿t leave well enough alone and manages to inveigle her way into the investigation which brings her face to face with a cold blooded killer again.--------------- The Scumble River mysteries are always a pure delight and the latest novel in the series is no exception as these regional mysteries are special because they are as much about the town and its eccentric residents as it is about the who done it. Side bars abound such as where is the heroine¿s missing cat is and who is getting into the heroine¿s home leaving a mess these instead of being intrusive add extra layers to a fun multi-tiered regional mystery.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1