Customer Reviews for

The Murder of the Century: The Gilded Age Crime That Scandalized a City and Sparked the Tabloid Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Totally engrossing

Fascinating story written so well it reads like fiction! The investigators and detectives have their hands full without any of the modern forensic tools and even fingerprints are considered junk science! And the media? Boy if you think the media is out of control today....
Fascinating story written so well it reads like fiction! The investigators and detectives have their hands full without any of the modern forensic tools and even fingerprints are considered junk science! And the media? Boy if you think the media is out of control today... you've got to read this!!

posted by Peanut61 on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting

Really enjoyed the book. The history of print journalism and the story itself was very entertaining.

posted by 4152465 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    X

    Not worth buying the whole book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting.

    Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Hitchcock must have known.....

    Hitch probably knew of this crime. When reading this I could imagine some of his direction & lighting. Would make a great movie if handled as well as this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Three stars

    Interesting read but it did drag in a few places.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Murder of the Centry

    Really horrible book!! Dont

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I enjoy reading books about journalism and I enjoy mysteries. Th

    I enjoy reading books about journalism and I enjoy mysteries. This book had both. I love when a non-fiction book reads like fiction and this book did. It's not fair for people to give it one star because they were angry that the book was shipped for free to their Nook. That is lowering the review mark unjustly. I paid for my copy and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Educational as well as enjoyable read.

    This is a nicely paced book about a sensational murder trial that took place in the late 1800’s. It is not only about the murder but also includes events surrounding this murder trial. The publishing war between Hearst and Pulitzer and some ramifications and changes brought about by the coverage of this trial. It was an easy read that was educational as well as enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Dumb

    :(

    0 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Don't

    waste your money on this one!

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Good read

    Even though i didn't go looking for this book, I found it entertaining and informative on the time period and people who lived in it. Wide variety of names sometimes can be confusing, but overall an apt portrait of life (and death in some ways) of NY.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good read

    This murder mystery is rich in details.of the era in NYC -- before it was composed of 5 boroughs. Best part is depiction of the role of newspapers. Gives an eagle eye view into "yellow journalism" and the competition between newspapers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10