BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight Mystery Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Gaslight Era murder mystery is a terrific entry

    Mr. Edward Higginbotham of the Institution for the Improved Instruction of Deaf Mutes visits businessman and school patron Nehemiah Wooten at the latter's office. He plans to discuss with Wooten the desires of the man's pretty sixteen year old daughter Electra, a student at the school; she wants to marry a New York Institute for the Deaf and Dumb teacher Adam Oldham. Higginbotham finds Wooten dead.

    Because NYPD Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy has a son who attends the "Lexington School" that Higginbotham runs and the witness asks for him, he is assigned the lead as the brass believes he brings insider information. This proves true as he understands the deep philosophical divide between the rival two schools teaching deaf children. The DS quickly knows the murder weapon is a brass loving cup and learns the deceased is a believer in eugenics as lectured recently by Alexander Graham Bell; as such Wooten opposed two deaf people marrying out of fear they will pass on the hearing flaw to their offspring. However, Malloy makes little progress so when a second homicide in the Wooten family occurs, he hesitantly asks midwife Sarah Brandt, who has helped him on previous Manhattan murder mysteries, to provide him advice.

    The latest Gaslight Era murder mystery is a terrific entry that uses the background like references to Bell to set the era while also providing insight into the two predominate education theories of teaching deaf students. The whodunit is complex as Malloy works his investigation assisted by Sarah, but has too many suspects from family, business and school to rule out. Readers will appreciate the latest Victoria Thompson's historical investigate tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Best Murder Mystery Series you are not reading.

    This is the best Series I have read in a long time, this book made up for the disspointment a lot of fans had over Murder in Waverly Place, which was a great Murder Mystery but it lack a bit of interaction between Malloy and Sara.

    Fans of Malloy and Sara will be very pleased, they are certainly making progress, they are much more relaxed around each other and theres a bit of a change where Malloy needs Sarah to help him and does not seem to be annoyed or scared to have her in the house where the possible culprit lives.

    Mrs Malloy makes a short but very funny appearance and it was nice to see more of Malloys world as opposed to Sarah's.

    The author teases us with a bit of Catherine and her origins, I expect the next installment will cover more of it.

    All in all I was extremely please with this installment and I am waiting anxiously for the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Love this series

    I happend by chance to stumble upon this series. Now i am hooked. It is a love story within a mystery. A Massie Dobbs set in New York at the turn of the cemtury. But a lot more fun with the setting in NYC. I love how Ms. THOMPSON develops the seconday characters of Mrs. Decker, Mrs. Elsworth, Mrs. Malloy and Maise. With each book she builds upon the other characters and the many ethnic groups found in the city. Wouldnt this be great as a mystery series on PBS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    This series is like comfort food. I keep coming back to see what happens next. I am a sucker for a gentle love story neatly tucked into a mystery. Keep writing Victoria.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have read all of the Gaslight series. Victoria Thompson combines love, humor and mystery in a combination that makes you always looking to read more.

    I love series novels when you get to know the main characters in the book. Mrs. Brandt and Detective Malloy make a superb couple.

    The time period of New York in the early 1900's is also interesting. There is so much diversity of nationalities and also social classes.

    All of this without any sex or swear words, another reason I like it and recommend it. You don't find that very often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Ice giant relm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Another Excellent Novel

    Victoria Thompson has never disappointed and this novel is no exception. Always enjoy her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Nice addition

    Sticks with the ongoing relationship of Sarah and Malloy. Hard not to figure this one out early on or to eork up any sympathy for the supporting characters for this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I have enjoyed all of her books, but this was one of the best! The ending was great and I was quite surprised. I am looking forward to the next one. This is a great series!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE THIS ERA

    The latest in the Gaslight Series proves to be a page-turner with lots of twists and turns along the way...you can second-guess the ending, but you're always surprised at what happens. Read this book, then read the previous titles...you'll love them all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2