Customer Reviews for

Murder on the Eiffel Tower (Victor Legris Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

In some ways more a historical thriller than an amateur sleuth, MURDER ON THE EIFFEL TOWER is in either case a terrific tale

In 1889 while the Buffalo Bill show parades through the streets of Paris as part of World Exposition extravaganza, a rag and bone man dies from a bee sting. Soon afterward at the top of the new Eiffel Tower, Parisian bookstore owner and photographer Victor Legris watch...
In 1889 while the Buffalo Bill show parades through the streets of Paris as part of World Exposition extravaganza, a rag and bone man dies from a bee sting. Soon afterward at the top of the new Eiffel Tower, Parisian bookstore owner and photographer Victor Legris watches as a woman, Eugenie Patinot, apparently dies from a bee sting.

Victor meets with his business partner Kenji Mori, his friend reporter Marius Bonnet and Russian illustrator Tasha Kherson. With a common interest to spark them, Victor and Tasha become an entry. When a third "bee sting" death occurs near the Colonial Palace, Victor investigates hoping he can write an article for Le Passe-partout.

In some ways more a historical thriller than an amateur sleuth, MURDER ON THE EIFFEL TOWER is in either case a terrific tale. Readers will be caught up with Victor's energy as he escorts the audience around Paris at an exciting time for the city. The whodunit is cleverly devised to provide fans with a strong mystery, but the entertaining story line belongs to the hero and his supporting cast especially late nineteenth century Paris at a time when technology is booming.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ FOR LOVERS OF PARIS

I bought this book based on the title and cover. I love France and especially Paris. When leaving on a recent trip to Paris, I selected this book for the plane. I figured it would be a great way to get in the Francophile mood. I have always loved mysteries and histo...
I bought this book based on the title and cover. I love France and especially Paris. When leaving on a recent trip to Paris, I selected this book for the plane. I figured it would be a great way to get in the Francophile mood. I have always loved mysteries and history. This book easily combines the two, carefully weaving the 1889 Exposition in Paris with a series of mysterious deaths. The characters are interesting and believable; the descriptions were excellent, making it easy to envision the people and places, at that time. The story is light, sometimes funny, sometimes romantic and also informative. I searched Paris for the 2nd book in the series, but was only able to find it in French! Ordering it now on bn.

posted by Michelle-Fl on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ FOR LOVERS OF PARIS

    I bought this book based on the title and cover. I love France and especially Paris. When leaving on a recent trip to Paris, I selected this book for the plane. I figured it would be a great way to get in the Francophile mood. I have always loved mysteries and history. This book easily combines the two, carefully weaving the 1889 Exposition in Paris with a series of mysterious deaths. The characters are interesting and believable; the descriptions were excellent, making it easy to envision the people and places, at that time. The story is light, sometimes funny, sometimes romantic and also informative. I searched Paris for the 2nd book in the series, but was only able to find it in French! Ordering it now on bn.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In some ways more a historical thriller than an amateur sleuth, MURDER ON THE EIFFEL TOWER is in either case a terrific tale

    In 1889 while the Buffalo Bill show parades through the streets of Paris as part of World Exposition extravaganza, a rag and bone man dies from a bee sting. Soon afterward at the top of the new Eiffel Tower, Parisian bookstore owner and photographer Victor Legris watches as a woman, Eugenie Patinot, apparently dies from a bee sting.

    Victor meets with his business partner Kenji Mori, his friend reporter Marius Bonnet and Russian illustrator Tasha Kherson. With a common interest to spark them, Victor and Tasha become an entry. When a third "bee sting" death occurs near the Colonial Palace, Victor investigates hoping he can write an article for Le Passe-partout.

    In some ways more a historical thriller than an amateur sleuth, MURDER ON THE EIFFEL TOWER is in either case a terrific tale. Readers will be caught up with Victor's energy as he escorts the audience around Paris at an exciting time for the city. The whodunit is cleverly devised to provide fans with a strong mystery, but the entertaining story line belongs to the hero and his supporting cast especially late nineteenth century Paris at a time when technology is booming.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent historical detail; plot/characters need work

    I was excited to read this book because I am an avid fan of historical mysteries AND the amateur sleuth in the novel, Victor Legris, was a Parisian bookseller. What an unbeatable combo for any bibliophile!

    Set in the glittering world of 19th-century Paris, the author effortlessly whisks readers to the vividly painted world of the City of Light during the 1889 World Exposition, a heady event commemorating the 100th anniversary of the storming of the Bastille, which dazzles visitors with its many wonders from around the globe and whose highlight was the sensational unveiling of the then-tallest structure in the world: the Eiffel Tower. And it's at the Eiffel Tower that a string of seemingly unrelated deaths occur that compel bookseller and amateur sleuth Victor Legris to investigate what he believes is actually murder. Thus begins an engaging romp around turn-of-the century Paris in pursuit of the truth.

    "Murder at the Eiffel Tower's" best aspects are how it transports readers to the streets and inner sanctums of fin de siècle Paris as well as serving up a host of tasty tidbits about the art and book world of the time. FYI, Claude Izner is actually the pen name for two French sisters who are modern-day booksellers in Paris who are touted to have expertise in this time period, thus the reason why this historical whodunit has such well-researched period details that are so spot-on and pitch perfect. You will also especially like this book if you are a fan of French architecture. The actual mystery aspect of this volume seemed, to me, less masterful and many of of the characters, especially the secondary ones, felt less than fully fleshed out. However, the author does hold potential: I did enjoy the story and would check out another book by this author (especially as this book launches an 8-book series featuring Victor Legris) to see how "they" are developing their craft.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Not my cup of tea

    I was looking for a new author to read, but this is not the one. The book lacked something - not sure what, but it didn't hold my interest much. I thought most of the characters were jerks and didn't connect with them. Won't buy the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Slow starter....

    This one seemed to move rather slowly for me. I had a difficult time really getting into it. I wouldn't rush out and buy another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Throw it off the Tower

    Besides being poorly written and terribly translated, this book is just simply not very good. If I did not have a compulsion to finish every book I start, I would have tossed this one after reading the first third of it. Initially intriguing, I found this book to be terribly plodding and unrealistic. Given the time period, Izner took what could have been fascinating and turned it into a hack that may have been written in a week, if not less. I would not recommend anyone wasting a day on reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    Perhaps it was the translation but this was a difficult story to

    Perhaps it was the translation but this was a difficult story to endure. The first chapters were promising as a mystery but then the main character Victor appears. His internal and external ramblings comprise most the rest of the story. He is petty, jealous, confused, insecure, and, considering he finds but does not recognize the murder weapon even though it had been stolen from his book store, inept. I was also not impressed with the depiction of the World Exposition nor Paris. The only character for which I had any affinity was Joseph, an employee Victor mistreats. I have no interest in continuing the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    When I first saw this book, I thought this book would be great.

    When I first saw this book, I thought this book would be great. But to my disappointment, there was extremely confusion and awkward in the characters. Fortunately for me, I borrowed this book from a local library. Whew...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A futsy, fussy waste of time

    Despite the nom de plume Claude Isner, it is obvious this book is written by two women, who are not quite in sync. The prose and dialog is wordy and awkward and the story moves along in fits and starts and I found myself losing interest. The first few times I thought i was just tired, but I could only read a few pages before my mind started wandering to other things. My wife had the same problem and she reads everything. Her vote was "its okay." My vote is that a committee cannot write a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    very disappointed

    Unfortunately I felt this book read exactly as if two people had written it. It was disjointed and drawn out. I found myself skipping entire sections just to keep the motivation to finish the book. I did not develop any attachment or connection with the characters. I don't believe I will be reading any more from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1