Customer Reviews for

Murder on the Half Shelf (Booktown Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Tricia Miles, mystery bookstore owner and amateur sleuth, is att

    Tricia Miles, mystery bookstore owner and amateur sleuth, is attending the trial run of the new Bed and Breakfast with her sister, Angelica. Owners Pippa and John Comfort will open their establishment in a week. When Tricia walks Angelica’s dog, they come upon Pippa’s dead body. To add to the tense situation, Tricia recognizes John Comfort as her old flame and writer, Harry Tyler. Why did Harry hide his name? Could he kill his wife? Or did someone else from Stoneham kill her?
    This adult cozy mystery was a great read. I love the residents of Stoneham with all of their quirks and backstories. I love the plot that keeps twisting and turning, making it hard to figure out who did it. Personally, Ms. Barrett always surprises me. I can’t wait until her next book is released.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended I love the whole series so far

    Lorna Barrett keeps you intrigued and wanting more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I love this series. I have followed it since the first installm

    I love this series. I have followed it since the first installment. Lovely little fictional town with tons of real life New Hampshire "plugs". Very easy to read and follow, when I start reading I can't put it down. The characters are likeable and quirky and well described. I find it easy to get to know them. The plot is well thought out and kept me guessing with more than enough "Red Herrings".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Another great mystery

    Will Trish ever find a permanent assistant manager? Will Angelica and Bob get back together? And what about Mr. and Mrs Everrett? How has that windfall affected them? Want to know the answers? Lorna Barrett has done it again. It's a mystery of the dead reappearing, twists, turns, betrayal and just plain greed. You will never see who it was until the end and then guess what happens!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a big fan of Lorna Barrett’s bestselling Booktown myst

    I'm a big fan of Lorna Barrett’s bestselling Booktown mystery series featuring Tricia Miles, the owner of the Haven’t Got a Clue mystery book store and her cat, Miss Marple, and had been looking forward to this sixth book in the series.

    The small town of Stoneham, New Hampshire may have its share of bookstores, but had been sadly lacking in Bed & Breakfasts. This is about to change when the Sheer Comfort Inn is ready to open its door. But first, they offer a free trial night to some local residents, including Tricia. What should have been a relaxing night quickly turns into a nightmare when Tricia discovers the murdered body of the inn’s owner.

    The plot thickens when it turns out that the murder victim’s husband is Tricia’s former lover Harry, who she believed had died more than twenty years ago. Harry is the prime suspect, but while Tricia is furious with Harry for having staged his own death, she doesn’t think he’s capable of murder. Tricia’s investigation into the murder is complicated by the developing romantic relationship between her and the lead detective on the case.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this well-crafted and fast-moving cozy, and the twists and turns of the plot kept me guessing until the very end. But even more than the mystery, I enjoyed revisiting with all my favorite characters from the series. It’s quite amazing how much goes on behind the scenes of this seemingly sleepy small town! Miss Marple makes frequent appearances throughout the book, which, of course, made it an even more enjoyable read, and as you might guess from the adorable cover, there is also a d-o-g in this book. Sarge belongs to Tricia’s sister, and he plays an important role in the story.

    And as far as the ending, without giving anything away, I can honestly say that this is the first cozy I’ve read that ends with a cliffhanger! Don’t worry, the murderer will be identified before the book ends. You’ll just have to read the book to find out what I’m talking about!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Excellent- I can't give it enough stars!

    Tricia owns a mystery bookstore in a small town whose main street is designed for specialty bookstores. They survive on the tourist season. Tricia's sister owns the store next door and they make for quite the pair of amateur sleuths. So the newest bed and breakfast hotel opens up and the sisters find a dead body. And Tricia's long dead boyfriend from 20years ago.

    Fast paced story telling, it leaves you hanging on the end of each chapter so that you have to keep reading on to the next page.

    I was so hooked that I finished it in two days! And the ending left me hanging about the main characters future and next book.

    Love that! Makes me want to read so much more! The last book in the series seemed a little too unlikely of a murder scenario but the author has really come up with a great story here. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Tricia Miles, owner of Stoneham, New Hampshire's Haven't Got A C

    Tricia Miles, owner of Stoneham, New Hampshire's Haven't Got A Clue mystery bookstore returns in Lorna Barrett's Murder on the Half Shelf, the sixth book in her Booktown mystery series.
    Tricia agrees to join her sister, Angelica, who has won an overnight stay at the new Sheer Comfort Inn. Tricia realizes this trip is going to be no prize when she stumbles across the body of Pippa Comfort, who ran the inn with her husband Jon. Things go from bad to worse when Tricia realizes that Jon is actually Harry Tyler, a man from her past who faked his own death and is now living under an alias. This means that Tricia can not be ruled out as a suspect, which puts a big wrinkle in her and police chief Grant Baker's relationship. Tricia is determined to clear her name and get her relationship back on track by finding the real killer.
    Besides the main mystery which will keep you guessing until the end, there are also some awesome side storylines and two new characters , Linda Fugitt and Pixie Poe, who take up residence in Stoneham. I'll leave it up to you to guess which one is my favorite. I am already looking forward to the next one, as each book in this series just seems to get better and pull me in more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Lorna Barrett has done it again! The best book in the series so

    Lorna Barrett has done it again! The best book in the series so far! Every time I return to Stoneham I fall in love with the series all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous mix of jealousy, surprises and murder equals entertaini

    Humorous mix of jealousy, surprises and murder equals entertaining reading
    As the story begins, Tricia and Angelica, two sisters who own shops in Booktown, a revamped original part of Stoneham, NH are trundling their way to the new Sheer Comfort Inn, a beautifully renovated Victorian home. Angelica has won an overnight stay for two in a draw in a dry run a week before opening. After a brief conversation with their hostess Pippa Comfort, Tricia becomes aware that they expected Angelica to bring Bob Kelly, owner of Kelly Real Estate and head of the Chamber of Commerce. Tricia glimpses a slightly familiar-looking man in the hall as he tries to avoid being seen. Who would she know here aside from the other Chamber members? He looked like he worked at the hotel.

    Love is definitely not in the air, but that doesn't stop a bit of running around among some of the residents. What is happening to romance in Stoneham? Angelica is angry with ex-boyfriend Bob, Mr. Everett is concerned about his marriage, Tricia is on the outs with boyfriend/lover Grant Baker, police chief, and more. Some friendships slip and jealousy rears its head. The mixed bunch of guests at the Inn don't seem to be having a romantic evening either. When Tricia takes Angelica's dog Sarge out for a walk a few minutes after getting to their room, he sniffs out a body behind the fence...the body of Pippa Comfort. What on earth could have happened in the few minutes since they spoke? Naturally Tricia becomes a suspect after she reports the "accident".

    There are so many suspects for this murder and a lot of very interesting hobbies among the shopkeepers come to light. Nothing like a murder investigation to bring out the dirt, and this bit of laundry is sure to hang out someone to dry eventually. A lot of changes in this, the sixth of the Booktown Series. Lorna Barrett has served up another great mystery with old and new characters, a surprise from the past, good news and seriously bad news for Angelica in particular. Will she rise from the ashes of her career? Lorna Barrett's characters come with human foibles and believable. I love some of the tongue-in-cheek names that show up occasionally in these books. Now I ask you, what could be more fitting than the Full Moon Nudist Camp and Resort?

    Meanwhile, with the town beginning to think of Tricia as a jinx, who is sending her "gifts" in the mail with oblique messages? Why does she have to find another body, fortunately one that is still breathing, on her next walk with Sarge, the dog with the great sniffer? So many questions to be answered and difficult to guess what the answers may be. Lots of twists and mixed emotions among the Booktown people in this book. Once again, a downright good read. Good, solid writing and a very funny last paragraph...don't peek, it won't make any sense unless you read the book! Four easy and tasty recipes included.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Drew

    He feels a loss." Bye....."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Clarice

    Which cabin is this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Matt

    Im a son of hecate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Andreaa

    Holds the necklace and smiles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    ATHENA CABIN

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Steel to Roy

    She put up a Fyre forcefield around him & moved him to first result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Sage

    "My mom kinda made zues mad. And yes i can fight. I use my other senses"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Rick

    I want a fight

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Tina

    Walks back to the main res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Pierce

    Sits under a tree and causes apples to grow on it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Katt

    Sighs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2