BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Murder on the House (Haunted Home Renovation Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Well, Juliet sure has another winner on her hands and I'm so gla

    Well, Juliet sure has another winner on her hands and I'm so glad I came upon all of her wonderful books and I can't wait for the next adventure Mel gets into!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Murder on the House is the third installment in the Haunted Home

    Murder on the House is the third installment in the Haunted Home Renovation Mystery series. This series just keeps getting better and better! This is a wonderful paranormal mystery series by writer Juliet Blackwell. Her writing is impeccable, the story fun and utterly readable. Don't miss this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just completed my 2013 New Year's resolution of reading Juliet

    I just completed my 2013 New Year's resolution of reading Juliet Blackwell's Haunted Home Renovation Series by December 31st!

    This was my third read and I enjoyed it as much as I did the first two. Juliet's character development, realism, and continuity make for wonderful story telling. Sometimes, you almost feel that you're at the kitchen table in Fruitvale with Mel. her father, Stan, and Caleb.
    I highly recommend this book and look forward to the others. Also, check out her Witchcraft Mystery Series! Happy New Year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Good Read

    Really enjoyed this book and the series. It was a fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    In Blackwell┬┐s paranormal mystery novel, the word is out on cont

    In Blackwell’s paranormal mystery novel, the word is out on contractor, Mel Turner—she can communicate with the dead. When an impressive historic home comes up for restoration, Mel sucks it up and embraces her new found identity as a “ghost buster.” The new owners want to turn the house into a haunted bed and breakfast and they invite Mel to spend the night and make contact with the other side. During the unnerving night, an elderly woman is found dead and while Mel attempts to speak to the dead—a killer hiding in plain sight closes in.

    A cleverly plotted story with a great deal of detail regarding the history of the greater Bay Area—smooth, seductive—I can’t wait for the next installment.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoy this author a lot

    I live in a house more than 100 years old, so old house renovation appeals to me, add paranormal and mystery and I'm pretty happy. I've enjoyed this series, it's fun and holds your interest with an interesting mystery wrapped in the other features. It isn't great literature, but I read for fun and these books hold my interest and I never put them down at the end disappointed. I keep coming back and getting to know the characters better. I think that's enough from most cozy series and this fits in paranormal too, what more could you want? I was pretty sure what had caused the death of the ghost family and turned out to be true, but that wasn't the real mystery so it just made me feel bright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Book 3

    As good as the other two I read in the series. Not quite finished yet but am enjoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Juliet has done it again by writing an entertaining story that I

    Juliet has done it again by writing an entertaining story that I could not put down. The mystery kept me turning the pages as I had to know what was happening next. Melanie is a great character and I like that with each book we continue to learn more about her and her friends. This was a fun read and one of the best thus far and I can’t wait for the next book in this wonderfully crafted series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    A ghostly bed-and-breakfast. Could it get any better? I really e

    A ghostly bed-and-breakfast. Could it get any better? I really enjoyed this book. I was able to follow along even though this is the first book in this series I've read. I liked the historical background Juliet Blackwell brings to the story. It was spooky at times... staying among ghosts all night in the hotel in order to win the bid. The mystery moved along and had a few twists and turns. I love home renovation and I loved the mix of the mystery and renovation. Quirky cast of characters and a ghostly murder makes this a must read! I'm going to read the first 2 books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    OK Just OKay Just OK Just okay

    I was somewhat disappointed after reading the other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Very good book--fun series

    Very good book--fun series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Heart and Soul RULES

    1. No fighting. If there is a disagreement, come to me.

    2. No one goes outside if it is storming. Too much risk of somebody getting fried.

    3. All hurt or sick animals get treated by me or a med animal, no exceptions. I don't want you to die.

    4. Large animals (dragons, horses, etc.) will stay outside unless it is storming or special circumstances. Sorry, too much chance for disaster.

    5. NO EVIL ANIMALS!!! I don't want someone coming here and killing everybody. If you dare come anywhere near here, you WILL be driven off.

    6. If you follow the rules, you will be rewarded by various things. If you disobey, you will not be able to go outside for a short period of time.

    Thanks!!!

    5.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bed-and-breakfast┬┐with a side of ghosts. Mel Turner has a wa

    Bed-and-breakfast—with a side of ghosts.




    Mel Turner has a way with ghosts and people are starting to talk. So much so that the new owners of a historic house have contacted her not only to restore the house but to use her abilities to encourage the ghosts thought to be there to roam about. They want to open a haunted Bed & Breakfast.




    In order to win the contact she must stay overnight in the house with another prospective contractor and the elderly caretaker, who also is the previous owner. The sleepover comes to an abrupt halt when the estate gains another supernatural occupant. Someone didn’t make it through the night. Mel hopes that she can get the resident spirits help her find the killer before she becomes another victim and joins them in their ghostly world .




    These stories first drew me in because of my house construction background but now in addition to that it is the history woven into the story. Juliet Blackwell blends the history with the mystery to give us readers an excellent read. That the house the story is based on could actually have been haunted just added to the story.  I could hear the creaks and the groans and the marbles bouncing down the stairs – sent shivers up my spine.




    Mel is a spunky protagonist and seems to have no fear most of the time but even this set of ghosts took their toll on her. Her life is not turning out the way she planned. She wanted to take off for Paris but her dad needed her so she came home. She enjoys restoring homes but there are days she wishes for Paris, but I think the trouble who just follow her there. Her gift now realizes would sneak up on her wherever she goes. I am glad she is sticking around San Francisco and the construction biz. Who knows who she will have haunting her during her next renovation?




    Murder on the House is a smart and clever mystery all cozy lovers will enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    I love Juliet Blackwell's writing. Her books are very entertain

    I love Juliet Blackwell's writing. Her books are very entertaining and you can get lost in them to escape the real world for a short time. Many of her books have been there to help me through rough times in my life. She is a wonderful author. If you have not read any of her books- you are really missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2