Customer Reviews for

Murder On The Mind

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

A Stand-Out Debut

MURDER ON THE MIND is a gripping debut by a skilled author. L.L. Bartlett pulls no punches when it comes to her characters, and ably draws us along to search for the answers right along with Jeff Resnick and his skeptical brother. Both brothers have plenty to learn abou...
MURDER ON THE MIND is a gripping debut by a skilled author. L.L. Bartlett pulls no punches when it comes to her characters, and ably draws us along to search for the answers right along with Jeff Resnick and his skeptical brother. Both brothers have plenty to learn about each other along the way--and they have to learn fast, because the murderer isn't cutting them any slack. It's a dark-edged story written with concise efficiency--be prepared to discover a fresh new reading experience (and to be glad you did!).

posted by Doranna on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well written, but the main character didn't do much "detect

Well written, but the main character didn't do much "detecting" and thinking. He did the footwork after the clues popped into his head, so it was hard for me to have a high opinion of his skills.
Weak ending.

The occasional unexpected font changes were distra...
Well written, but the main character didn't do much "detecting" and thinking. He did the footwork after the clues popped into his head, so it was hard for me to have a high opinion of his skills.
Weak ending.

The occasional unexpected font changes were distracting. There should be a way to correct this at the publishing office.

posted by 17084254 on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A Stand-Out Debut

    MURDER ON THE MIND is a gripping debut by a skilled author. L.L. Bartlett pulls no punches when it comes to her characters, and ably draws us along to search for the answers right along with Jeff Resnick and his skeptical brother. Both brothers have plenty to learn about each other along the way--and they have to learn fast, because the murderer isn't cutting them any slack. It's a dark-edged story written with concise efficiency--be prepared to discover a fresh new reading experience (and to be glad you did!).

    41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Jeff Resnick of "Murder on the Mind" is a much more c

    Jeff Resnick of "Murder on the Mind" is a much more complex character than meets the eye when we first meet him - and he does not particularly want to be a complicated guy. Quite the opposite. But his discovery of how his life changed following a mugging, the graphic images of a murder that keep flashing through his head, and attempting to rebuild his personal life following a life-changing head injury make for a fascinating plot with lots of action. Here's hoping that there will be more Jeff Resnick stories in the future!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I loved this book. Great characters, great read!

    I loved this book. Great characters, great read!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Murder on the MInd has what I like in a mystery -- strong charac

    Murder on the MInd has what I like in a mystery -- strong characters, driven plot and a paranormal twist. I look forward to Jeff's next adventure.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    .

    A very good book - I couldn't put it down. Good characters with a very interesting plot. Looking forward to reading mote from this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Loved this Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a very interesting storyline.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    L.L. Barlett is a very skillful writer and a mind for writing a excellent mystery. Really enjoyed this book so much that I purschased the series. Kudous to this author. Keep up the good work. More mysteries pls.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Wonderful mind candy, great way to spend a snowy day

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Loved it

    This was interesting and believeable. The characters are well-developed with real problems, not just perfect subjects found in many novels. While you know who-dun-it early on, it's still enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was truly an amazing read. Once I started I could not put the book down! There are only a few books that can do that to me. Nonetheless, I am so excited that she continued with a series. Looking forward to more reads from this great author. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    From the beginning, Murder on the Mind is a book you won't want to put down. Great story that keeps your interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    very good book

    Very good red


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    AWESOME murder mystery by new author to watch!

    After reading Murder on the Mind by L. L. Bartlett, I honestly hope that I've witnessed the birth of a new mystery series. Frankly, I have absolutely no trouble envisioning this as a pilot for a new TV drama series (I hope the networks are paying attention!). This well-written novel 'stars' Jeffrey Resnick, a widower and out-of-work insurance investigator. Just when his luck is about to change and he is on the verge of starting a new career, he becomes a New York statistic - just another victim of a vicious mugging that leaves him with brain damage. Having no one to turn to save his wealthy older half- brother, Jeffrey follows him home to Buffalo in order to recuperate from the effects of the savage beating. Jeffrey begins having strange dreams, the details of which seem to parrot a recent murder. Wanting to share what he 'knows' with the authorities in order to help catch a killer but not wanting to arouse suspicion himself, Jeffrey is not sure how to proceed. Enlisting the reluctant help of his half-brother, Jeffrey decides to use his investigative skills to look into the murder himself. The story is riveting and action packed. The reader won't want to put this book down until finished. I especially loved the ending because it leaves an opening for more novels featuring the future escapades of Jeffrey Resnick. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Excellent mystery hopefully leading to a series!

    Murder on the Mind, by L.L. Bartlett, is a remarkable story that pulls the reader in with subtle foreshadowing and rich character development. I appreciated the clarity of the writing, finding it moved the story along at a very quick pace, making it hard to put the book down until I had devoured the last page. L.L. Bartlett writes with skill, guiding the reader along Jeffrey Resnick's path as he explores a new found talent which forces him to help in solving crimes, and while he tries to convince everyone, including himself, that this talent is indeed something to trust. L.L. Bartlett weaves a story about psychic abilities into something that will leave the reader wanting more. Often, books with psychic phenomena in their plot line leave a great deal to be desired, but in Murder on the Mind, L.L. Bartlett provides solid action and intriguing twists and turns that are nothing but well executed. This was a book I thought about and chewed over for days after finishing it, and to me, that means it was an excellent story. I do hope this is the beginning of a long series following Resnick and his family, as I was left with a lot of interesting questions!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Bring on more L.L. Bartlett mysteries!

    I was hooked before the end of the first chapter of Murder on the Mind. I wanted to know more about Jeff Resnick and why he was having visions of a deer hunt. Then he is visciously mugged and wakes up with more issues than he had while he was just unemployed and down-on-his-luck. His half-brother takes him to Buffalo to recuperate. Here we add layers to the mystery surrounding Jeff. It's not just the visions that I wanted to know about. Now I wanted to know about his brother and why they seemed so estranged. Where was the rest of Jeff's family? And I wanted to know about Richard, the half-brother and Brenda, his girlfriend. Jeff seems to know as little about Richard as he does himself. L.L. Bartlett manages to weave a great mystery with equally great characterizations. Every page turned takes you deeper into the visions that Jeff has, the murder(s) and the strained relationships. When I finished 'Murder on the Mind' I wanted more. I anxiously await more Jeff Resnick mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine paranormal amateur sleuth

    In Manhattan Jeff Resnick leaves a bar after winning some money playing pool. Outside, two teenage thugs demand he gives them his cash. He says he is out of work, but hands them what he has. They tell him it is not enough so they use a ¿Reggie¿ baseball bat to batter him. --- Jeff¿s half-brother Richard Alpert brings him to recuperate in the Buffalo area where he lives with his lover Brenda. As he heals Jeff suffers nightmares and visions that include seeing someone filleted. When Richard¿s banker Matt Sumner is found murdered just as Jeff envisioned it, the New Yorker believes he has psychic abilities. He persuades a cynical Richard to assist him making inquiries with the victim¿s family and banking pal not realizing that no one wants the siblings to investigate with one person killing again. --- MURDER ON THE MIND is a strange but interesting who-done-it because of Jeff¿s psychic abilities that do not keep him or his sibling out of trouble once they begin to make inquiries. The reaction of those they question is priceless as no one wants to cooperate and seemingly everyone appears pleased that Matt is dead. Though Richard and Jeff hardly know each other considering they are siblings, fans will realize first hand how much the older brother cares. The killer is in plain sight yet most fans will miss the obvious clues. This fine paranormal amateur sleuth will send readers shuffling off to Buffalo to accompany Jeff on his investigation. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Unputdownable

    What a cracking and original story, every page is full of action and the story simply races along. After a late night mugging in New York Jeff Resnick wakes up to discover that he has psychic ability in the form of graphic flash backs and dreams. At first meaningless but which become very real after moving to his brother Richard's home in Buffalo to recover from his injuries. After Richard is convinced of Jeff's psychic ability he is drawn into the mystery which puts them both in danger. All of the characters in the book are well drawn and the reader gets to know them so well that by the last page is sorry to say goodbye, lets hope it is just Au Revoir, A sequel is a must, and I shall be first in line to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    Murder on the Mind Captures Reader

    Murder on the Mind kept me riveted to my chair until I'd finished the book. Jeff Resnick experiences a mugging anyone could in this day and time, and his whole life changes. We live with him through his pain, psychic experiences and investigation as he and his half-brother try to solve the crime. The story ends with a twist that has me hoping for another book soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Like many others, I was introduced to Bartlett/Barrett with the

    Like many others, I was introduced to Bartlett/Barrett with the Booktown mysteries. I enjoy those, but I found I like this first Resnick mystery more. The introspection of the main character, the freshness of Resnick's struggle with his possible psychic visions, and the (so far) lack of an unlikely struggle by several characters fighting for the main character have made this book hard to put down. I enjoy knowing a new Booktown mystery has come out, but I'm buying all the Resnicks as fast as possible now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Great

    It is amazing what wonderful free books you come across. Terrific story, characters, action and plot. Can't wait to start the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10