Customer Reviews for

Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Murder on the Orient Express

If your not looking for a book full of suspense and don't want to try to solve a crime as it unfolds beneath your nose than don't bother reading Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. This is a mystery crime book that had multiple suspects, maybe one or more m...
If your not looking for a book full of suspense and don't want to try to solve a crime as it unfolds beneath your nose than don't bother reading Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. This is a mystery crime book that had multiple suspects, maybe one or more murderers, and one victim. The lesson to learn from this story is that maybe the people you trust aren't that trustworthy or don't try to run away from your problems and face them.

While Belgium detective Hercule Poirot is on his way to Paris in an express train an American passenger onboard is stabbed multiple times. Not until daybreak the next day is he found lying dead stiff on the floor of his room. With the window open to the cold white snow outside and the door locked and chained from the inside is when the exciting mystery begins to be told like a movie in your head. There are multiple clues that you might want to take note of so you can try solving this exciting mystery on your own. Every one of the thirteen passengers should be looked at as suspects so you can prepare matching the clues with each one.

Herclule Poirot is the detective that the author puts in the story to feed you the clues on the crime and help you solve the mystery. Mr. Rachet (fake name) is the poor guy that gets killed. Later you find out his real name. He is the character that makes the story possible but isn't much in keeping the story stay alive and exciting.

Agatha Christie doesn't use any special types of writing styles. She just starts at a begging and adds events and clues throughout the book in real time story telling. I'm not saying its bad because its not. Christie has a natural story telling way of writing. The story is smooth and flows with greater excitement from time to time. For example: every time detective Poirot is questioning someone, somehow Christie makes it exciting to now what the other characters involvement in this crime were. I can't explain exactly what she does, just that is written well. She does a great job on making you suspect some people and not expect others at all. Every character has an interesting personality that is to be paid close attention to.

This mysterious crime story is written in a first person view of Hercule Poirot. It was the best choice for Agatha Christie to make for the point of view for this story because the information we gather is only limited to the knowledge of the detective Hercule Poirot. I never thought of reading a mystery book before but now because of Christie I think I am going to get into them. I usually read science fiction novels like Enders Game and The Andromeda Strain, which are some of my favorite books. I would have to say that Agatha Christie did exceptionally well on this book with the storyline and extremely different personalities for each individual person on the train. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mystery books and is looking for an exciting suspenseful read.

posted by Fabio-De-Sanchez on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

No!

This book sucks! I read it and i was confused the whole time!

posted by 6072217 on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Murder on the Orient Express

    If your not looking for a book full of suspense and don't want to try to solve a crime as it unfolds beneath your nose than don't bother reading Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. This is a mystery crime book that had multiple suspects, maybe one or more murderers, and one victim. The lesson to learn from this story is that maybe the people you trust aren't that trustworthy or don't try to run away from your problems and face them.

    While Belgium detective Hercule Poirot is on his way to Paris in an express train an American passenger onboard is stabbed multiple times. Not until daybreak the next day is he found lying dead stiff on the floor of his room. With the window open to the cold white snow outside and the door locked and chained from the inside is when the exciting mystery begins to be told like a movie in your head. There are multiple clues that you might want to take note of so you can try solving this exciting mystery on your own. Every one of the thirteen passengers should be looked at as suspects so you can prepare matching the clues with each one.

    Herclule Poirot is the detective that the author puts in the story to feed you the clues on the crime and help you solve the mystery. Mr. Rachet (fake name) is the poor guy that gets killed. Later you find out his real name. He is the character that makes the story possible but isn't much in keeping the story stay alive and exciting.

    Agatha Christie doesn't use any special types of writing styles. She just starts at a begging and adds events and clues throughout the book in real time story telling. I'm not saying its bad because its not. Christie has a natural story telling way of writing. The story is smooth and flows with greater excitement from time to time. For example: every time detective Poirot is questioning someone, somehow Christie makes it exciting to now what the other characters involvement in this crime were. I can't explain exactly what she does, just that is written well. She does a great job on making you suspect some people and not expect others at all. Every character has an interesting personality that is to be paid close attention to.

    This mysterious crime story is written in a first person view of Hercule Poirot. It was the best choice for Agatha Christie to make for the point of view for this story because the information we gather is only limited to the knowledge of the detective Hercule Poirot. I never thought of reading a mystery book before but now because of Christie I think I am going to get into them. I usually read science fiction novels like Enders Game and The Andromeda Strain, which are some of my favorite books. I would have to say that Agatha Christie did exceptionally well on this book with the storyline and extremely different personalities for each individual person on the train. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mystery books and is looking for an exciting suspenseful read.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book from Agatha!

    This book is such a great book! It has such an unexpected ending. It is just fantastic!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Not memorable

    Overall, this book was pretty good. It wasn't difficult to understand (except for the French). The only flaw I saw in it was the undeveloped characters. The people working on the train had no personality, and weren't memorable at all. This was frusturating, having these bland, indifferent chracters among an array of interesting, colorful people (the passengers). Months after reading this book, I cannot even remember anyone who worked on the Calais coach except fot the lietenant.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Murder on Orient Express is about a Belgian detective who works

    Murder on Orient Express is about a Belgian detective who works to solve a murder mystery on a train stuck in the snow. 

    Hercule Poirot is riding a train to Paris when, one midnight, the train is stopped because it is stuck in the snow. The next morning, a wealthy American is found dead, stabbed twelve times. Because the train is stuck and there are no police available, the train conductor calls on Poirot to solve the mystery. So, he interviews each of the passengers, searches their luggage, and uses all resources available to him to solve the mystery.

    This book is full of plot twists and clues. All of the passengers' stories back each other up and none of them seem guilty at first glance. But, Poirot delves deeper into their stories and makes some very intelligent guesses to solve the mystery. I think that Agatha Christie wrote this book very well. She created each of the characters' personalities with great detail. Also, she tells the story from a third person limited point of view. The reader's knowledge is limited to what Poirot knows, allowing the reader to try to solve the mystery by him/herself as well. The ending was also a huge surprise.

    I really enjoyed this book because of the suspense and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    The Murder on the Orient Express is a suspenseful and intriguing

    The Murder on the Orient Express is a suspenseful and intriguing book that keeps you wondering what or whom committed the crime. The characters in the book all have different round personality and different stories that tie the novel together. The feel that Agatha Cristies sets for the novel makes the reader keep turning the page and not want to put the book down! It should receive attention and extra thought while reading; the book can be a little confusing. Overall this novel was a suspenseful and well written book that i would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyed it but was still a little confused as to the murders at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Should i get it

    Im twelve and i need to read a mystery book for school. Should i get it. Oh and how many pages are there

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    A good quick read.

    I love Agatha Christie novels and this one did not let me down. I must say that while I was mostly confused by the clues, I pretty much had the ending down pretty early on in the book. I can't really say how I knew, because usually I am clueless until the very end. It was an enjoyable book nonetheless and I would recommend it to any mystery reader, especially Christie lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hop aboard and enjoy the ride as Poirot catches another killer.

    Hercule Poirot at his best. The great Belgian detective uses his little gray cells to solve one of the most complicated crimes ever. It was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprise from Poirot

    Agatha Christie is one of my favorite authors but I generally prefer her Miss Marple series to Hercule Poirot. I gave this book a chance and I loved it! It was wonderfully written (as is standard for Christie) and kept me guessing until the very end. This novel is a fabulous read that will hold your attention until you've discovered who-done-it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Ok

    It's one of the most famous Christie's book. I liked it but was not her best I've read. I prefer Hallowe'en party or Crooked House for example.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    student

    I chose this book to read because I thought it would be a interesting book to read,by it being amurder mstery.I enjoy a good murder msstery,its kinda fun trying to figure out who commited the crime.This book was a rather interesting murder mstery I really enjoyed reading this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    A Good Read

    I choose to read this book for a class I had and was impressed. It's not one of the best books I have ever read, but a good one. This book had a really good story, but I think it could have been told in about 100 pages instead of the 250 the author took to tell the story, however, the ending is worth the wait. I had to read it twice for it to completly make sense, but I would have never guessed the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Help Hercule Poirot Solve a Mystery

    Murder on The Orient Express is the first mystery by Agatha Christie that I've ever read. I enjoyed it very much. The way Christie sets up the murder for you, helps the reader feel as if they are helping solve the mystery. I had trouble keep this book down because there were so many possibilities to the murder. As Poirot tried to figure it out in his brain, I tried to figure it out in mine. Not only is Murder on the Orient Express a great piece of literature, but it is a challenge to the reader's brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    A Mysterious Murder

    I chose to read Murder on the Orient Express for my British Literature class. It was required reading but I enjoyed it so much that I would have read it had not it been assigned. This book was a fairly quick read and kept me interested throughout most its entirety, but at some parts it felt a bit repetitive. The majority of the book is Poirot solving the case, so there is not much action. The story consist of a murder mystery and the inspector of this murder, Hercule Poirot, keeps the reader intrigued by his clever and sharp discoveries. I most enjoyed trying to figure out the murderer along with Poirot and was surprised by the ending. The characters of this book are all passengers on the Orient Express and all contain secrets involving this mysterious murder aboard the train. They all are from different backgrounds and areas on the world, but all have one major connection. It seems to be coincidence that they are all on the same train, but could it be planned? Read Agatha Christie¿s Murder on the Orient Express to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    An Interesting Read

    Murder on the Orient Express was interesting and a wonderful story, but towards the end the solution to the mystery became very obvious. The plot is complicated and enigmatic, and the detective, Hercule Poirot, solves the mystery by doing a lot of guess work rather than logical thinking, which can be frustrating if the reader is trying to solve the mystery before he does. It is a very captivating read, as at first the mystery seems unsolvable, but it has a great ending and many unexpected turns along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Good Book

    A very good book with twist and tuns and making you wan't to read on. A surprising finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    I could not put it down!!!

    This book was one of the best books I have read. This is the first mystery book I have read and I could not put it down. It is easy to follow, and the twists in it are not to difficult to understand but are so interesting. When I read this book I felt like I was on the train figuring out the mystery with detective Poirot. This book is a wonderful book about a family getting revenge on a killer, and has a bitter sweet ending .If you like a book that has twists and turns and you feel like you¿re actually in it you should read it. Agatha Christie makes this fiction story seem so real. I loved this book and think that anyone into heart-felt mystery books should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    This book keeps you guessing! It's great!

    This book was way better than I expected it to be. I thought, overall, it was a great book. It contained mystery and suspense. The characters had their own part in the story, which was cool, instead of reading about just one main character. I don't want to say too much more because I don't want to give away the awesome ending!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Murder on the Orient Express

    The Murder on the Orient Espress was definitely a novel that grabbed my attention. The novel had an excellent plot and the concept that a killer is trapped on an immobile train is incredibly suspenseful. Though there are many characters in the novel, they are developed quite well and by the end the reader gets a full description of each person's backorund. Each character plays a major role in the unravelling of the mystery making every character important and worth paying attention to. At times the novel seemed boring, however, there were glimmers of foreshadowing that came up throughout the story and were brought up when Poirot gives his resolution of the mystery. The body of the novel was a bit tireless because it took a while to lead up to the climax and the resolution of the murder of Mr.Ratchett. Also, when the resolution was finally reached it was quite difficult to absorb all of the information being thrown around by Poirot the detective. Yes,it was a lot of information but if the reader looks closely at Poirot's analysis he/she can truly see the brilliance of the plot and the complexity of the novel. Overall, The Murder on the Orient Express is a novel I would recommend to anybody into intricate plots and mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5