Customer Reviews for

Murder on the Rocks (Gray Whale Inn Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A nice, exciting little mystery

The author did a good job introducing us to the island characters - I look forward to reading the next two books and "Visitng" them again. She also wraps up the story lines well. I appreciate that this is a good mystery with no profanity, as well as a little romance w...
The author did a good job introducing us to the island characters - I look forward to reading the next two books and "Visitng" them again. She also wraps up the story lines well. I appreciate that this is a good mystery with no profanity, as well as a little romance with no smut!

posted by 8550100 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, solid story. A little slow in a few places, but kept my i

Good, solid story. A little slow in a few places, but kept my interest until the end. It is nice to read a big where the story is not filled with useless profanity.

posted by SGMomma on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    A nice, exciting little mystery

    The author did a good job introducing us to the island characters - I look forward to reading the next two books and "Visitng" them again. She also wraps up the story lines well. I appreciate that this is a good mystery with no profanity, as well as a little romance with no smut!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good easy read

    Great tea cozy mystery, I liked the characters and the setting

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Great Escapist Read

    Im not someone wo reass mystery novels but I wanted something different to read. This book is great, the story and characters are well thought out d original and it reminded me of my summers spent in Maine. Its also really easy to read and goes by super fast.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    An excellent first novel of a series making you want to read the next one.

    The characters, setting and story are totally enjoyable. The mystery was entertaining and kept me guessing. I the book from beginning to the end and look forward to reading the next book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    I didn't know who did it

    This is a fairly typical cozy mystery: part romance novel, part mystery, no gore. The scenes are beautifully described and the characters well drawn. I didn't know who did it until the end. My complaint? I'm tired of supposedly strong and capable women who constantly do stupid and impulsive things. It's easier to write the book that way, but it doesn't help the story if you keep wanting to slap the heroine. Still, an engaging mystery, actually mysterious.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Nice read.

    I enjoyed this book. It isn't too deep and is not a really light read. If was fun to read it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good cozy mystery series

    Read the last of this series first and had to go back and start reading this first book of the series!! Nice cozy read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    really enjoyed this mystery

    A well-told mystery that I really enjoyed, in a setting I've never visited. The characters seemed quite believable, and the small town atmosphere charming...except for the busybodies we all recognize.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book and all of them in the series!

    I absolutely loved this book and all of them in the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Savory blend of charm, humor . . . with a pinch of murder

    As new owner of The Gray Whale Inn on Cranberry Island, Maine, young entrepreneur Natalie Barnes offers comfy beds and breathtaking views of rose-dotted sea cliffs, while cheerfully whipping up her delectable home-cooked goodies. She¿s content to be serving up a peaceful slice of Americana, until a wealthy developer arrives with plans that threaten to destroy the habitat of the endangered black-chinned terns--and to replace the Inn with a parking lot. Finding the developer dead on the rocks outside was nowhere on Natalie¿s well-planned menu. Especially when the police consider her a prime suspect . . . and the real killer wants her dead too. Murder on the Rocks, complete with recipes, is a delightful combination of New England charm, eccentric characters, tongue-in-cheek humor and heart-pounding action. The author paints the story in such detail that the reader smells the tang of salty air, feels the coastal summer sunshine and savors each succulent mouthful of lobster dripping with butter. MacInerney gives us a down-to-earth and plucky heroine who may be seen calmly pedaling her aging Schwinn uphill to deliver Killer Cranberry Scones in the morning . . . then hoisting a chef¿s knife to defend herself in a stormy blackout later that night. Surrounding Natalie is a fabulous cast of characters (and suspects) including B&B guests, quirky neighbors, a well-coiffed and outspoken best friend, and a way-too-tempting local deputy. Murder on the Rocks hooked me on the first page and kept me reading right on through, and now has me shopping for the ingredients to try out the killer recipes. It¿s a book that leaves you eager for second helpings--the next book in the Gray Whale Inn Mystery Series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Luv it

    Luv it luv it luv it luv it luv it luv it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun, clean mystery!

    What a delightfully, cleanly written mystery! This story held the intrigue and suspense to the very end then rewarded the reader with a few recipes for scrumptious treats!
    In an Island setting, Natalie buys a Bread and Breakfast only to discover it may be lost due to the planning of a new resort next door. Murder and mayhem breaks out and she is one of the prime suspects. All but two friends determine her to be guilty. She alone must prove her innocence but the other suspects are many. How will she prove her innocence -or will she?
    Clean for all ages and a fun book for Book Clubs to review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I loved the premise of this series and this book. A Bed & Br

    I loved the premise of this series and this book. A Bed & Breakfast set on an island in Maine. I enjoyed the descriptions of the island and the inn. I felt as if I were vacationing on the island and getting to know the residents.

    This is a breezy read-- great for a summer afternoons.

    Natalie is very likeable. It was nice to see that Natalie had a love interest, neighbor John Quinton. The other characters were developed and likeable. The storyline offered a few twists and turns. I loved the recipes. Haven't tried any yet but I live in Michigan-- a huge blueberry state-- so I'll have to give them a try.

    Some of the comments I read stated that they didn't like Natalie's eating habits or sleuthing skills. I think she should bake and eat what she wants and I thought she handled herself like a true Nancy Drew.

    I like the setting, the characters and the artwork of the books in this series.

    I look forward to reading the other books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good, solid story. A little slow in a few places, but kept my i

    Good, solid story. A little slow in a few places, but kept my interest until the end. It is nice to read a big where the story is not filled with useless profanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Well Written Debut!

    "Murder on the Rocks" makes you wish you could pack your bags and head for a stay at the Gray Whale Inn! This well written mystery describes the inn and its surroundings so vividly that you feel like you are indeed in Maine at the inn, ready to sit down to breakfast. This story, with it plot twists and interesting characters, draws you in until the very end. As is typical for mysteries with a female main character, Natalie Barnes does several dangerous and somewhat irrational things, but this only slightly interferes with the uniqueness of the story. This enjoyable read contains absolutely no profanity and as a bonus, the recipes for Natalie's mouth-watering creations are included at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Refreshing

    I loved this book. It was quite unexpected. The authors discription of both characters and events made me feel I was watching a movie in my head. I kept thinking of Agatha Christy. I would highly recommended this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Excellent book. Kept me guessing. Hard to put down.

    Highly recommend for anyone who enjoys mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Excellent Mystery

    The description of the setting was amazing. I felt like I was there. The book was hard to put down and always kept you guessing. I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Murder on the Rocks

    Murder on the Rocks rocks. Sorry, couldn't resist that. This is a great read. Fun and interesting characters who keep the story moving with a lot of humor and eating. Eating! This book will have you looking for comfort food snacks. Murder! Some intriguing murder and an inspector who is determined to stick our heroine with the rap. Entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    An e-book that is a must to read!

    I found this in the free e-books ....what a great find!

    Enjoyable, well written .....a great cozy mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9