BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read

Loved the characters and the author's way of writing. A very pleasant read from cover to cover. My only complaint is that the second in the series is not available for Nook. In fact I think the next available book in the series for Nook is about book 8 or 10. So dis...
Loved the characters and the author's way of writing. A very pleasant read from cover to cover. My only complaint is that the second in the series is not available for Nook. In fact I think the next available book in the series for Nook is about book 8 or 10. So disappointing to get started in a series only to find you either have to wait until they come out on Nook, which should have been established already, or read them in paperback version. This defeats the purpose of having a Nook.

posted by SFL on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

will make a good movie, but poor book

This book dragged on sooooo long, then at the very end, all of the sudden eveything was zipped up tight. I got the feeling that the author had a page limit and didn't know how to fill it, then realized she only had 5 more pages and figured she'd better actually do some...
This book dragged on sooooo long, then at the very end, all of the sudden eveything was zipped up tight. I got the feeling that the author had a page limit and didn't know how to fill it, then realized she only had 5 more pages and figured she'd better actually do some murder solving. Utterly ridiculous and totally unbelievable.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    A Great Read

    Loved the characters and the author's way of writing. A very pleasant read from cover to cover. My only complaint is that the second in the series is not available for Nook. In fact I think the next available book in the series for Nook is about book 8 or 10. So disappointing to get started in a series only to find you either have to wait until they come out on Nook, which should have been established already, or read them in paperback version. This defeats the purpose of having a Nook.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really liked the story. Meg definatley has her hands full with h

    Really liked the story. Meg definatley has her hands full with her relatives and her friends. I can honestly say I did not want to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Very enjoyable, cozy mystery!

    Gave me a whole new appreciation for peacocks! LOL Great characters, made me want to read the next one in the series immediately! Funny and intriguing page after page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    What a fun read

    The quirky characters and odd-ball antics were just fabulous and made me laugh out loud many times. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Holy crap I wish my life was like Meg's. This is a fantastic boo

    Holy crap I wish my life was like Meg's. This is a fantastic book (and series) that kept me laughing the entire time. Murder with Peacocks
    is the beginning to a fantasic series of mystery, crazy family, and overall insanity. A must read for any mystery enthusiast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Flamekit

    Join?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Dewkit

    A white kit with golden patches pads in. She has bright minecraft-diamond colored eyes. She seems eager. "Hi! Hi! Hi!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Mooskit

    (Gtgtb bbt)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Whisperkit

    A small white she-cat stumbled in, shaking. "H-Hello?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Brownrock

    Yep. All can.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    ..

    I think you should really change your clan name..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    LS

    Hello! If you wanna join, the answer is always a big fat YES!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Great story, loved it

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Love this whole series!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series opener.

    You'll love it and crave more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    Hilarious fun!

    This book was so fun I had to get all of the books in the series! Wacky characters, hilarious situations, good mystery. If you like Janet Evanovich, read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Intelligent and embarassing

    I loved the intelligence and vocabulary, as well as the cynical humor. Just like home. I could relate, my family is also a little wayward. I loved reading the book, but I would laugh out loud and get many strange looks. Embarassing, to say the least. But oh so much fun. I totally recommend this book, as well as the whole series. I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    Funny,Funny,Funny and a great mystery too!!!

    This was one of the funniest mysterys I have ever read, I loved it Meg is a great character and her family is the icing on the cake.Ms.Andrews does a great job at keeping you interested!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    definitely recommended!

    this was an entirely too funny book and i couldn't finish one sentence without laughing. i loved the characters, who were out of wack, and the absolutely crazy settings. this was one of the best books i've read in a long time. when does the next book come out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    Perfect Peacocks

    Meg Langslow sets out to organize three summer weddings¿one for her mother, one for her best friend and one for her soon-to-be sister-in-law. The wedding themes range from Renaissance attire for all the guests to a Native American purification ritual. If that was not enough, Meg's future sister¿in-law decides that free-roaming peacocks would add a nice touch to her outdoor wedding! In between dress fittings, coordinating pre-wedding parties, finding a truckload of peacocks and contacting the calligrapher who has disappeared with boxes of invitations, Meg tries to keep a close family member from being killed. There are many surprises and dashes of humor that really made me like the characters and the story. I thoroughly enjoyed MURDER WITH PEACOCKS and I cannot wait for MURDER WITH PUFFINS! This is the first time I wanted to re-read a book as soon as I finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3