Customer Reviews for

The Murderer's Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Great read

    This book pulls you in immediately and keeps you emotionally engaged. Did not want to put the book down...left me thinking about the characters while I was away from the book. Left me yearning to help children victimized by crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    This was a terrific read. Want to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book. It was hard to put down and completely believable. I highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gets you from page one.

    I laughed, I cried, I couldn't put the book down. The characters and story were so believable. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    VERY MOVING

    the kind of book that you hated to put down, and couldn'd wait to get back to. looking forward to more books from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An impressive, fictional debut that had me in tears at one point. Beautifully told, sad at times yet ultimately hopeful.

    The murder of Lulu's mother and the near murder of her younger sister, Merry is hard enough for Lulu to understand, but at the hands of her own father? How does a ten-year-old child deal with the fact that her mother is no longer there for her? How does she accept that her father is a murderer and in prison? In addition to the enormity of the situation itself, Lulu feels responsible for her sister, who happens to still love her father, despite the fact that she almost died because of him.

    This book did all sorts of things to me. It made me angry and sad and sometimes I hated the father, but other times I questioned myself. Would it be possible to forgive someone for killing your own mother? Does a child's love run that deep? Although The Murderer's Daughters deals with some really heavy themes, there is a brightness to it. It's not all dark. In fact, much of it is hopeful.

    I loved these sisters. I loved their relationship and I could relate to both of them. Meyers managed to create realistic tension between them, without it seeming forced. They were each complex in their own way, and each so different, yet close, very close and I admired the skill it took to make them that way. I also loved the touches of detail here and there that helped round out the story. It wasn't too much. Not the "in your face" filler detail that you often see with new writers.

    I'm not sure what I expected when picking this one up, but I think I expected a more melodramatic tale and I was so pleased that it wasn't that kind of book. Book clubs would do well with this one. There is so much to discuss and much of it is still on my mind. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good Read

    This was a great book. Your money is not wasted in purchasing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended, Absolutely great read

    I won this book as a first-reads on the GR website. I'm so glad I did. Heartbreaking, tear-jerker, moving. I put myself in each of the daughters positons but for the life of me I could not decide what I would have done. I won't give anthing away because I want to encourage everyone to read it, but I will say what happened to them, I'm sure happens all too frequently. And it's sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Was surprised how taken I was with this book. Had a hard time putting it down each night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Subject

    In The Murderer's Daughters, Randy Susan Meyers outlines how a domestic abuse crime affects not only the participants, but how the event causes ripple effects throughout the entire social structure around them. Lulu is ten and her baby sister, Merry, is five when their father comes to their apartment, fights with their mother and kills her. While Lulu runs for help, the father tries to kill both Merry and himself, failing at both.

    The girl's father is imprisoned, but the girls are also. Their lives change immediately and for all time with the thrust of that knife. There are few relatives; elderly grandmothers on both sides and an aunt and uncle. The grandmothers are not able to care for the girls, and the aunt convinces her husband that they cannot take the girls in. Lulu and Merry are sent to an orphanage. It is a bleak and terrifying place. After several years, they are fostered out and remain with this family until they are grown.

    Lulu has survivor's guilt and stuffs her feelings down, down, down until they cannot be uncovered. She concentrates on becoming the perfect child, making excellent grades and becoming a doctor. She feels that she must protect everyone, and attempts to control everything in her environment.

    Merry is left with questions about why her father would do such a horrible thing, and why he tried to kill her also. Far from stuffing her feelings down, she is consumed by them, and moves from man to man, always afraid to commit to anyone or anything. She doesn't forgive her father, but cannot break the connection and visits him in prison over the years.

    Randy Susan Meyers has done an excellent job of describing the aftermath and fallout in families from violence. She expertly outlines the different relationships the girls have, and how this one event controls how they handle every other event in their lives. While each copes in a different manner, both are less than whole, always attempting to determine why this happened and what it means. This book is recommended especially for readers with family tragedies. It will help them come to terms with what has happened to their families and how to move on from disaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    Excellent book. A Page Turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3