Customer Reviews for

The Murderer's Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    So far so good

    I have not finished this book but the book has captured my interest in the first couple of chapters its hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book. I readit in almot half a day. I couldn't put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    As others have noted, it's amazing that this is the author's fir

    As others have noted, it's amazing that this is the author's first novel. It was so well-plotted, with believable characters and real-life emotions and situations, that you'd think it was the work of a much more seasoned novelist. A friend recommended this to me, as a lot of what happens is similar to events in my own life, and she was spot-on. I identified so much with Lulu, in both good and bad ways, that at times it was uncomfortable. It raises so many questions: Is redemption possible? How much do we owe our parents? Are family ties forever? Should they be? How much does your family history play a role in who you are as an adult? Is it possible to hide from your family and their secrets? I highly recommend it to everyone and I cannot wait for the next book from this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love it.

    Characters are so alive and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend!!!!!

    This is one of those books that I pray to find. I couldn't wait to pick it up each night to read it. It is so interesting and well-written. The characters are great, the story is great. I loved it!!!!! I highly recommend this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    What A Story

    I couldn't put this down. It starts out with the violent murder of the mother, but the true story is what comes after. It's two sisters, whose lives are destroyed by the acts of their father. They have only each other and are caught in the cross-hairs many times, and their story is quite incredible.

    I have recommended this story to several friends and have yet to find someone who was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    A fantastic and phenomenal story!!!!!!!! A must read

    From page 1 the story just grabs you and doesn't let go. I loved the story, the way it was written was genius, and the realism that the story possessed was incredible. I highly recommend this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A TERRIFIC STORY; BEAUTIFULLY TOLD!!!!

    This is one of those books that stay with you long after you have finished the story. This is Randy Susan Meyers first book, but it reads as if she has been a MASTER STORY TELLER ALL HER LIFE. This is the kind of book you want to get Signed by the Author and place it on a shelf so all can see it...BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREEEEEEEEEEEAT BOOK; I LOVED IT

    OH MY GOD.This book is SO thrilling.The father is a drunkie.You know how they are,confusing yet they are still in there somewhere.Well the confusing part of the father loses control while the mother is sleeping and the children are not.Of course the mother knows about how unbearable the father is so warning the children of him is the only sulution.Of course young Lulu,whos only about 9,dosnt understand the tragedy that is going to happen.So by disobeying the mothers orders lets him in.She goes and gets Mama and that ends up in tragedy.Death.The father loses control and kills Mama while Lulu goes and gets the neighbor for safety.When they arrive Mama is dead on the bed and Merry,the other child,is laying next to her hanging for dear life with a knife through her chest.GREAT book and welly written.Recommended to adults.Even though Im 12:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    A Powerful Read

    I read THE MURDERER'S DAUGHTERS late into the night. Despite the heart-breaking topic (two sisters witness their father kill their mother) the pages flew by. The book follows the sisters from ages 10 and 6 to reaching their forties. Watching them grow up, from little girls to adults, I was breathless reading the disparate ways they reacted to the horror that happened to them. Though completely different in their reactions, the sisters were inseparable.
    This is a book you will never forget and will probably return to again. I know I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4