Customer Reviews for

A Murderous Procession (Mistress of the Art of Death Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Joanna's Journey

A fascinating who-dunnit. Nobody writes mysteries better than the British & "Procession" is no exception. The reader is given innuendo & a few sparse clues to sort out the villain; nothing is given away until the very end of the tale. Ms Franklin's research & knowledge ...
A fascinating who-dunnit. Nobody writes mysteries better than the British & "Procession" is no exception. The reader is given innuendo & a few sparse clues to sort out the villain; nothing is given away until the very end of the tale. Ms Franklin's research & knowledge of the story's historical time frame is superb &, as before, she uses an actual historical event during the reign of Henry II as the framework against which the mystery is set ~~ Princess Joanna's journey (procession) to Sicily in 1176. Well written, impeccably researched & provocative, "A Muyderous Procession" is excellent.

posted by dragonsscape on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bridget's Review

Adelia is known as the Mistress of the Art of Death. Some call her a witch because of her healing abilities, some are aware of her talent but others would be more than terrified of this strong-willed woman. She has to perform her art craft under the guise of a translato...
Adelia is known as the Mistress of the Art of Death. Some call her a witch because of her healing abilities, some are aware of her talent but others would be more than terrified of this strong-willed woman. She has to perform her art craft under the guise of a translator. It's tough but Adelia makes it seem effortless.

When King Henry II wants to send his daughter to marry, he chooses Adelia to make sure that his daughter arrives safely. Once they set off, people seem to be dropping dead all around them. Can Adelia figure out who is behind this before she loses her life as well?

This book started out a little dry for me. When I was about halfway through it got a lot better. Overall, a decent read.

posted by bridget3420 on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Joanna's Journey

    A fascinating who-dunnit. Nobody writes mysteries better than the British & "Procession" is no exception. The reader is given innuendo & a few sparse clues to sort out the villain; nothing is given away until the very end of the tale. Ms Franklin's research & knowledge of the story's historical time frame is superb &, as before, she uses an actual historical event during the reign of Henry II as the framework against which the mystery is set ~~ Princess Joanna's journey (procession) to Sicily in 1176. Well written, impeccably researched & provocative, "A Muyderous Procession" is excellent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yikes! A Cliffhanger??!

    While I just love this series, the ending reeked. Too many life or death questions left hanging makes for an unhappy reader. Okay, maybe this once I'll let it go, but only because I just HAVE to know what happens next! All the characters are still great, and I love the O'Donnell even though I felt so sad for him at the end. The intricacies of the plot kept me guessing right up until the end when Scarry was revealed. I really liked the viewpoint shifts from Adelia to Scarry; they provided glimpses into his twisted mind that gave a counterpoint to the hypocrisy of the Church. The thematic elements of blind dogma and cruel zealotry deepened the story beyond just entertainment, offering insight into many of the dark undercurrents that plague even our modern world. While the book can be read purely on a surface leve as a good mystery story, the interweaving of darker depths gives it the multi-level complexity of real literature that I find most enjoyable of all. Yeah, it's a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Adelia is known as the Mistress of the Art of Death. Some call her a witch because of her healing abilities, some are aware of her talent but others would be more than terrified of this strong-willed woman. She has to perform her art craft under the guise of a translator. It's tough but Adelia makes it seem effortless.

    When King Henry II wants to send his daughter to marry, he chooses Adelia to make sure that his daughter arrives safely. Once they set off, people seem to be dropping dead all around them. Can Adelia figure out who is behind this before she loses her life as well?

    This book started out a little dry for me. When I was about halfway through it got a lot better. Overall, a decent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will Adelia come to a resolution?

    The fourth installment of the Mistress of the Art of Death series sees Adeila under the orders of Henry II accompanying Princess Joanna to her wedding in Sicily. Unknown to her and her personal entourage, Adeila is being followed by Scarry - the partner of the evil character from the previous book. He has disguised himself as part of the Princess' entourage and no one suspects except Rowley and Ulf after trouble starts to plaque the procession. The story is enthralling, keeping the reader's attention and at times, taking your breath away. I was a bit disappointed at the swiftness of the conclusion as if Ms. Franklin felt the story should end and just did it but I also wish there wasn't such a cliffhanger. I love the series and wish the books came faster, but I don't want the quality to fall. The author has passed away and I fear that Adelia's fans will never know what happens, but it is fun to speculate!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Can't wait for the next one.

    Having been told about the series by a friend, I read Mistress of the Art of Death and was completely hooked. A Murderous Procession did not disappoint. My only concern now is the cliff hanger ending. Cannot wait for #5. Please hurry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    the best in the series yet!

    loved this book. I've read them all and this is easily my favorite! The plot was excellent, the humor enjoyable. This is the first in the series where I was wrong in my guess as to who the villain was! As soon as I finished it I went back to read it again. it's THAT good. Can't wait for the next one. Hope to see the O'Donnell again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Amazing!

    The entire series is captivating and the leading character becomes someone I cant wait to hear from! I have a new found appreciation for historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Thrilling Historical Mystery from Ariana Franklin

    The engaging character, Adelia Aguilar, is back in this fourth book of Ariana Franklin's Mistress of the Art of Death series. Adelia is surprised to find herself commanded to accompany Henry II's daughter Joanna, to Sicily for an arranged marriage to William II of that country. Adelia is dismayed to find that she must leave her daughter behind ( Henry's way of making sure that Adelia returns to England ). Adelia also does not know that she has been stalked by an assassin, and that it is due to the influence of Rowley, Bishop of Saint Albans, that Adelia accompany the procession. Rowley's hope that by doing so he is taking Adelia out of harm's way is short-lived, and it is clear that the enemy has joined the group as well. Rowley only knows the criminal by his bandit name of Scarry, and must match the person to a gentrified name before it is too late. Franklin's deft writing once again creates a book that is enjoyable to read, and her memorable characters and thrilling plot line make this a must-read for fans of historical fiction and mysteries alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Welcome Addition!

    This 4th in the Adelia Aguilar Mistress of the Art of Death series is a welcome addition for mystery and history fans. Ms. Franklin seamlessly and realistically blends her fictional characters with true life figures and events in 12th century England and Europe. Readers of Adelia's previous mysteries will recognize many characters, real and fictional, and the renewal of previous relationships and plots---both romantic and dangerous. In this latest adventure Adelia, a physician, is ordered by the King of England to accompany his daughter as she travels across Europe to her royal wedding. Along the way Adelia faces physical hardships, warfare, religious persecution, jealousy, superstition, royal politics, challenges to her ability as a healer, and of course, murder.
    Unlike previous Adelia Aguilar mysteries, this one ends with a cliffhanger! --Eek! ---What a surprise. I'm hoping that the next in the series will be along soon.
    Readers can enjoy this novel without reading the previous books in the series, but I would recommend reading the others too as I think it is an enjoyable and well-written mystery series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid 4th in the Series

    While the first book is still my favorite, this was a decent fourth installment in the series. Still love the character of Adelia and all of her cohorts, including a couple of new ones introduced in this book. In this installment King Henry "persuades" Adelia to accompany his daughter to Palermo for her marriage to William. Along the way they encounter many the misadventure, all the while being stalked by an old enemy out for revenge. While this book started a little slow for me, it did pick up the pace about half way through and was a satisfying entry in Adelia's continuing story. I can't wait for the next book -- and there had better be a next one, as I was a little unhappy with the ending of this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The fourth Mistress of the Art of Death historical mystery is an entertaining tale

    In 1176, King Henry II of England orders his most trusted friend and adviser, his Mistress of the Art of Death, Dr. Adelia Aguilar to escort his ten year old daughter Joanna to Sicily where she will marry her second cousin King William. Adelia knows the area quite well having studied medicine in Salerno, Italy.

    The trek proves dangerous as there are several assassins who want to strike at King Henry by killing his daughter and by one insidious killer Scarry, who wants Adelia dead. Some members of the wedding party are murdered as they journey across the continent. However though seeking the killers, Adelia never loses sight that keeping Princess Joanna safe is all that counts.

    The fourth Mistress of the Art of Death historical mystery (see Grave Goods) is an entertaining tale based on the real wedding journey of Princess Joan. The deadly trek hooks the audience although the historical aspects overwhelm the whodunit. Still readers who enjoy a late twelve century tale will want to join Adelia, Joanna and their companions on they travel from England to Sicily.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    To andy

    Im stacey. Gi to the last res if u want me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Tony

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4