Customer Reviews for

Murderous Relations

Average Rating 3.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Watch out!

Good book! But ther are a few pages where you have to read top to bottom. Its annoying but worth putting up with it to get the full story. It does get back to normal so no worrys.

posted by 6639678 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

good story; terible editing

The plot was interesting and the ending not completely given away too early; however, the mispellings, repeated words, omitted words, etc. were very distracting. The worst problem was that 10 pages listed as 126 were displayed in a single vertical line of print. I sti...
The plot was interesting and the ending not completely given away too early; however, the mispellings, repeated words, omitted words, etc. were very distracting. The worst problem was that 10 pages listed as 126 were displayed in a single vertical line of print. I still don't know what the actual newpaper story was that led to the discovery of the murderer because I gave up trying to determine where one word ended and the next started. Don't know how this problem occurred or if it can be corrected, but it was a bummer!

posted by 8094815 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    good story; terible editing

    The plot was interesting and the ending not completely given away too early; however, the mispellings, repeated words, omitted words, etc. were very distracting. The worst problem was that 10 pages listed as 126 were displayed in a single vertical line of print. I still don't know what the actual newpaper story was that led to the discovery of the murderer because I gave up trying to determine where one word ended and the next started. Don't know how this problem occurred or if it can be corrected, but it was a bummer!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Was fun to read in spite of poor editing

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Not to bad...

    I had a really hard time getting into the book and staying intrested in it. To me the writting was a littl off, but that doesn't mean someone else won't like it. There is a hint of mystery to it. It was free, so worth the read in that sense.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Kept me guessing!

    It had a lot of mispellings, but other than that, it was interesting! I would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Good read

    Very enjoyable. Easy read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I did enjoy this book. I will definately read more of Ms. Drake's books. There were some spelling errors but I could get past that. The book kept me interested the entire time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good story, bad spelling

    The storyline was great and the ending surprising. What irritated me was the written words that were misspelled, the sentence that had words repeated one after another, and the names of characters that were misspelled or even changed. I know this author can write, but how about having a competent proof reader go over the transcript before the book gets printed and sold. The story would have been such a joy to read if it would not have been so frustrating to make sense out of some sentences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Hmm

    It was a decent book but alot of grammer and spelling errors disappointed in that aspect otherwise ok book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Not bad

    Not bad but needs some serious editing and a bit help eith the plot. Its sometimes a bit long and I skipped entire pages towards the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Not bad

    Okay mystery, but the missing PAGES and other errors were frustrating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Recommend only for light reading.

    The plot and characters were interesting, but the writing was sketchy, and the grammatical errors were excessive. I probably will not read another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Predictable, but a good read!

    I enjoyed reading this mystery, although I guessed the perp early on. Some grammatical and spelling errors, which I find distracting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Pretty good

    This book was ok. Not a complete waste of time, but at the end it felt like the writer got tired of writing and wrapped the story up real quick. Some of the jumps the story made werent always believable, but not too bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Needs To Be Edited

    I agree with the other posters that this book is pretty good if you can get past the bad editing. If not for that, I would have given it a higher rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    decent attempt

    There are a fair number of spelling errors as well as grammer issues in the book. The book has a great outline, but, there certainly was not enough detail or character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    interesting story line but many spelling and punctuation errors

    easy read but if errors bother you, then this is not a book for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No editing

    Anna Drake made every written mistake, an author could make, not once or twice, but over and over and over again. It became very annoying. I really liked the heroine of this story, she was an educated woman, teaching a writting class in Chicago. Ironic that this 462 page book has so many errors, when the main character is a writting instructor isn't it? A teacher would have to have at least, a basic knowledge of computers, yet (and I had to laugh) she requested a computer store employee help her select a laptop computer that was wireless usable. DUH! It also seemed as part of the story was missing in places, which was confusing.
    Besides all the mistakes, this was a very good mystery. I will try this author again, but if the next book has as many mistakes. I will not read a third.


    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Good story

    Interesting story...held my interest but had to read through and around many spelling/grammatical errors...seemed like at least 1 or 2 per page;i.e.,extra words or missing words as well as misspelled words. I would think there would be a way to correct this before it goes into print for an ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    Yes it had some editing problems but some must have been corrected before I read it. I certainly could not figure out "who done it"! It also showed why we should let our detectives do their job like they are trained to do! I wanted to give it a 3 1/2 but for some reason I cant get it to do the 1/2 anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Easy and predictable read

    Enjojyable quick read although grammer and editing was sorely lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4