BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Musashi: An Epic Novel of the Samurai Era

Average Rating 5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Life Changing

    I read this book when I was 15. It has shaped much of how I viewed becoming a man. I still relate to it now that I am 36. It is a brilliant, intelligent and thought provoking read. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stretch their mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Terrific in every aspect of writing

    A book of civil strife and a man who overcomes the challenges that all great samurai try. Musashi is one of the greatest literal and historical characters anyone can relate to. The way the story fits into Japanese lore is perfect (as opposed to 'Shogun' where it bends the lore to fit the story), and you truly learn to love (or loathe) the different characters! I recommend this novel to anybody who seeks to perfect their own mind and body.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Go without regrets.  Musashi is the most famous of samurai, havi

    Go without regrets. 
    Musashi is the most famous of samurai, having won renown by traveling the country perfecting his skills as a swordsman (with a wooden sword!), developing the two-handed style, and remaining undefeated his entire life.
    This book tells his story, and a wonderful story it is. The most memorable thing to me is the vivid and living portrayal of each and every character. By the end you will come to love, respect, despise, pity or admire almost everyone. This is a story that sticks with you. I would compare it to my favorite western novel, Lonesome Dove, which won the Pulitzer. It’s a world that fully envelops you and affects you long after you’ve read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Still thinking about it!!

    I'm 39 now,but I read this book once when I was 24, and then I lent it to a friend never to see it again. I don't remember the specifics, but I remember it being the best book I've ever read, and I still think about it and I want to buy it and read it again! So don't tarry, go get it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    SUPERB, A TRUE EPIC!

    A superb book! A thousand pages of page-turning adventure, I could not put it down. A story of honor and of love, with very deep and passionate characters, and set with vivid and detailed description, in Japan's most scenic and beautiful places, it felt almost like being there. And the story will sweep you away, with emotions and philosophies rarely found in books nowadays. UNFORGETTABLE. A REAL JOURNEY! A book worth keeping!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Bushido

    Adventure... the best time I had since I read Shogun! gripping, original, extraordinary well described samurai tale... Ingenius work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Excellent

    Wonderful read. I am in awe. The skill of the writer to easily transport you into the days of the Tokugawa left me breathless. The fighting scenes were so poetic. The dangers that Musashi escaped by paying attention to the subtle changes around his environment and to describe it in writing was simply genius. The characters were memorable. the build up, the anitcipation, the suspense leading to the final battle. Inimitable. The Denoument: brilliant. their is not enough words in the dictionary to praise this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    Phenominal book.

    If you are one to respect samurai culture and in the slightest way admire, you will enjoy this title immensely. I can not sing its praises highly enough. You must read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    this is the best book ever!!!!

    this is a very good book and i think that everyone should have a chance to read it. this book will make u beg for more until the een. you wont want to miss out on this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Best Samurai novel ever.

    Not only is this a great novel with excellent wording.... Its a historical fiction meaning some of the events and people actually existed. You feel attached to musashi through his trials and tribulations.although the ending left something to be desired , i would recomend this book to anyone who likes samurai or musashi myamoto.... BUY THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Awsome book for young adults who have good reading skills

    I read this book as a fifth/sixth grader but I thought the interest level would be very fitting for a teenager (probably male) or even someone in there thirties! Nothing even comes close to Musashi so I won't recommend anything else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Wait

    I havn't read it yet and its already that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    Magnificent piece

    This is the third time I have purchased and read this book, I keep lending it, never to see it again. Not this time, I agree with another reader, this is by far my favorite book. An inspiring story mixed with a rich description of feudal japan. Breathtaking and an unstoppable read...Gary - Oregon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    The late Eiji Yoshikawa did it everytime

    To own his books 'Taiko' and 'Musashi' has been the greatest pleasure to me. Musashi is very inspiring and motivational, and can provide those who has profound interest with the Japanese past a satisfiying read. What are you waiting for? Go and get it!^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Musashi is Magnifico!

    Musashi is by far the BEST Japenese novel on the samurai era I have ever read! I have a new favorite!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    My Fav!

    This is my favorite book. Its along read at almost 1,000 pages, but moves fast. I first read this when I was 15, and still love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Sublime

    Very few novels ever grip one's heart and soul. It's not cliche, it simply is true: this novel conveys Musashi's spirit and the spirit of all the characters in a masterful way. Only the best literature does this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    This book is awesome.

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2