Customer Reviews for

Muscling Through

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

How can you not love Al

I simply love this book. It was refreshing and fun and I love Al

posted by Sahrenity on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Muscling Through by JL Merrow

I really enjoyed this book. It's told in first person, a difficult method in my opinion but Merrow carries it off. The main character is uneducated, perhaps a bit on the dim side, tender-hearted, but very tough both physically and in appearance. When he meets the pr...
I really enjoyed this book. It's told in first person, a difficult method in my opinion but Merrow carries it off. The main character is uneducated, perhaps a bit on the dim side, tender-hearted, but very tough both physically and in appearance. When he meets the professor, he is child-like in his devotion. Both characters gain from the partnership, each with his own strengths and weaknesses. I find the book whimsical and delightful. Not a heavy read, and on the light side, but fun. I intend to read it again sometime.

posted by grandmat03053 on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How can you not love Al

    I simply love this book. It was refreshing and fun and I love Al

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved it!!

    JL Merrow's stories are always very entertaining! She has a great knack for adding humor in unexpectedly. Al and Larry are very loveable, romantic characters. Having the story told from Al's point of view was genius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Beautiful story!

    This is sweet and truly lovely story. Telling the story from Al's POV made it that much more beautiful. Love this! It will leave you smiling :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    First impressions are always important but sometimes they can be dead wrong. That's what Larry learns when he first mistakes Al for a mugger on a dark night in an alley. Al thinks poor Larry is drunk and needs help getting home. The somewhat comical beginning sets up a relationship that is definitely more than meets the eye. Everything Larry learns about Al shows a sensitive, caring individual. Larry soon falls in love with Al but Al is used to derision for his height and slower thinking so he doesn't believe a smart guy like Larry could love him. It'll take some creative planning for Larry to finally convince Al of the truth.

    Every once in a while a book comes along that you just love to pieces. That's what I felt with Muscling Through. I adore every single thing about this book and hope everyone else does too. It's so heart warming, genuine, funny, romantic, sexy, caring, sensitive, witty, and just about any other description I can come up with. The story is told from Al's perspective as a gentle giant. He's extremely tall and muscular while being a little slower to pick up on things and he doesn't always understand subtly and nuance. He's definitely not stupid but he's not as quick witted and smart as Larry. Even so, Al has a huge heart and a very caring nature.

    Al tells the story of how he and Larry meet and go from occasional sex buddies in his mind to an actual in love couple. Al doesn't always see things the same way Larry or the average reader might, which makes his perspective all the more lovely and wonderful. He delights as a charming narrator that can see the truth when needed but prefer the rose colored glasses too. It's lovely to see that Larry recognizes that and loves Al for those reasons. There are several secondary characters that sometimes appreciate Al and sometimes think he's not good enough for Larry. The two must navigate those potential pitfalls and their own insecurities to find happiness.

    The story is masterfully written with a great balance of dialogue, tone, and pacing. There are numerous small touches throughout the story that add emotion and depth. In fact I almost cried during a particularly romantic part. The only setback could be that the story is told entirely to the reader instead of shown and you realize at the end that it's Al relating the story of how he met the love of his life. That obviously didn't phase me at all and I think the strength of the novella will definitely overcome any qualms readers may have. This is easily one of my favorite books of the year so far and urge everyone to get this.

    Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Great read

    This is one of my favorite "opposites attract" stories. I think this is at least the 3rd time I've read it - it's always a great read for a romance that leaves me feeling good and positive afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Wonderful Read

    Intellect is all in perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1