Customer Reviews for

Museum of Thieves (The Keepers Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

One word-AMAZING

This book was truly fantastic! I reccomend it to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games, because it reminded of that futuristic disciplined society. It was full of action and suspence and heart-warming moments, though not sappy so it's great for boys or girls. I can't wait...
This book was truly fantastic! I reccomend it to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games, because it reminded of that futuristic disciplined society. It was full of action and suspence and heart-warming moments, though not sappy so it's great for boys or girls. I can't wait for the sequel to come in Septmber!

posted by 6342463 on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Parents and Christians BEWARE!!!

If you are a conservative Christian, I would be very leery of this book. The underlying theme throughout the book seems to be nothing more than a mocking of conservative Christian values. The whole plot is riddled with anti parent, anti authority,and anti Christian lang...
If you are a conservative Christian, I would be very leery of this book. The underlying theme throughout the book seems to be nothing more than a mocking of conservative Christian values. The whole plot is riddled with anti parent, anti authority,and anti Christian language. The little girl (and I mean little girl because she's only 12),rebels against authority, runs away from home, and then proceeds to learn how to be a good liar and a good thief. Even if your not a Christian, as a parent I would not recommend letting your kids read this one. There is so much other quality literature out there to choose from. Remember parents...garbage in, garbage out! Think about it.

posted by joyfulathome on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    One word-AMAZING

    This book was truly fantastic! I reccomend it to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games, because it reminded of that futuristic disciplined society. It was full of action and suspence and heart-warming moments, though not sappy so it's great for boys or girls. I can't wait for the sequel to come in Septmber!

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Eclectic adventure in a creepy museum

    This fantasy takes us to the controlling city of Jewel, a place where children are chained for their protection until Separation Day. When Goldie Roth's questioning nature lands her in trouble again with the Guardians, she's motivated to do the unthinkable and run away. She finds herself shelter in the Museum and once she proves herself a thief by stealing some cakes and coins, she's recruited into their mysterious service.

    The museum shifts and holds unwanted items from the cities past including war and plagues that threaten to break free from their storage rooms. Perhaps my favorite character is a hound who sometimes is a small dog and other times a monstrous beast. He both befriends Goldie and terrifies her and its not his fault since his transformation is beyond his control, more attuned to the circumstances they find themselves in. With the quirky cast of fellow keepers of the museum and the towns people, this is a fun, eclectic read.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Really?

    To all you people who say this book is nonchristion, you are right, but come on. Its just a book! Its not like when your done reading it, you are going to get up and say " Hay I think Im going to go runaway and become a lier and a theft," That aside, this is like, the best book ever! It keept me on eage the whole time!

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Really!!!! >:-(

    So eveyone is saying its "anti-christian" but wasnt oliver twist a book about theving? And THAT book is classic literature now. A book can talk about stuff like this, it isnt saying "hey kids go rebel against your parents and become theives"

    19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Lian Tanner, keep working, YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!!! :O)

    To start off, his book is funny, awesomely written, magically wonderful, and chock full of suspense and 9-12 year old fun! Lian Tanner jnows exactly what to put in a book! I stayed up til' 12:30 am reading this for the SECOND time! It's edge-of-your-seat reading for non-stop kid or pre-teens! I recommend it, and I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE CITY OF LIES!!!! Thats book #2!!!!! Thank you Lian for inspiration of being able to imagine a place where kids are more useful than thought! Keep writing!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Here is another great little book for tweens and young teens that I feel comfortable recommending to my 11 ½ year old granddaughter. I am always on the lookout for books that are neither too violent nor too risque.

    This is an exciting tale which takes place in the city of Jewel. The people of Jewel have tried to create a utopian society in which no evil exists. There is no disease and no crime but also no information about the rest of the world. Everyone expects to be taken care of and no one knows what to do when they have to think for themselves. The few who might entertain new ideas are afraid to speak of them because they are always being watched, by the Blessed Guardians, in order to prevent free expression which could create resentment. The punishment for thinking outside the box is very severe. Those in charge provide for all their needs and the citizens, therefore, look to them to solve their problems. The fly in the ointment is that there is also very little freedom and absolutely no creative thought or free will. Everything is controlled and regulated. In order to protect them, the children are literally chained to their parents until age 16, (until the law is changed to age 12 by the more lenient Protector, but then rescinded at the separation ceremony because of an unusual event). When Golden Roth escapes from the canceled separation ceremony, pandemonium is unleashed upon the city. She finds her way to the Museum of Dunt where she meets Toadspit, another runaway, and the museum caretakers who take her in and protect her. The museum is a world unto itself. It changes and shifts, it grows and shrinks in size, the rooms move from place to place, the scenery changes. There are frightening creatures and magical staircases. There is a world out there that she never knew existed. Goldie is very brave and finds herself in some frightening situations which test her courage once the adventures begin. The book is about friendship and relationships, family ties and responsibility. It has no romance or sex but it has some violence. It is not beyond the pale as it is in some recent books like the popular Hunger Games and almost feels justified, if one can justify violence. It has a similar theme in that children are really the main focus of this book and the center of the community. The children are the heroes and heroines. Violence is only against those doing evil and those doing good are the victors. One of the valuable themes of the book is to think before you act. It discourages being impetuous which often leads to unnecessary consequences. Goldie is taught to think carefully about all of her actions so as not to create problems that could be avoided. She is taught to believe in herself and her ability to succeed. Sometimes you have to bend the rules for the greater good, but most of the time, you must be obedient and careful about how you behave because your actions affect others. When you make a decision, you want to be sure it is the one you want and the best one for the moment. It teaches responsibility. This is the first in what will surely be a wonderful series. Can Goldie and Toadspit rise to the occasion and be brave enough to save the citizens of Jewel who need their help? You should read it and find out.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!

    Love this book action around every corner. It kept me up on school nights just waiting to read the next page and everyone after that. Loved and injoyed reading this book, recomend it to everyone. :]

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anonymous

    Let me first say that I love this book. Let me continue by saying that I don't think this book will encorage your child to rebel anymore than The Chronicles of Narnia books will make your kids believe in "good magic vs bad magic". What is taunted here is not really Christian values, but more of the strict parenting that parents insist on today verses just a generation ago. Parenting that says your kid can only play on a padded playground with close adult supervision and if the child gets a cut it's suddenly the end of the world. I think this book is more of a social commentary then some "anti-Christian agenda". Just a side note: I am a Bible believing Christian.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Its a free game and if you are good at spotting the difference then its fun. Got me interested in the book though i tend to
    notice things so it was easy for me

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    The best book ever!

    I loved it because it was soo fun and i love puzzles! This book is fun and enjoyable, so if u liked the hunger games, then yiu should get this book. The game is also free! I played the second game and it was fun too.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Validation of many childrens' suspicions

    The initial setup is confusing, but the main character is frustrated by her social environment. How many twelve year olds feel torn between helplessness and a desire for independence? Goldie is a character with which the target audience can identify.

    Not recommended for the children of conservative Christian? That sounds like the sentiment of the Blessed Guardians. What this book teaches is that many politicians are self-serving and religious leaders like weilding absolute power. This is not breaking news to some adults, and most kids probably suspect as much.

    One positive moral value does hold true, though: parents love their children, perhaps so much as to allow their over-protectiveness to go too far. Would I spoil anything to say risk-taking is necessary?

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Surpised

    This was a very good book. I was surpised by it. I got it to see if it was something I could read to my kids and I think they are going to love it. I am 38 and couldn't put it down. Read it in an afternoon. I am confused by the "anti-christian" issues. I am a Christian and I found nothing wrong with this book. I wonder if the ones who are taking offence actually read the book all the way through. I am going to buy the next book now and am looking forward to my daughter's nap time.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING NOTHING LIKE THE GAME!!!!! READ IF U KNOW WHATS GOOD FOR YOU!!!! PATH OF BEASTS (book three for thoose of you who dont read lian tanner's blog) IS COMMING OUT ON OCTOBER NINETH 2012!!!!!!!! I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!! WONDERFUL AND WAY BETTER THAN THE GAME BY A LOT!!!!!! READ READ READ!!!!!

    ~a person with a name ;)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    EPIC BOOK

    Personally i love this book its not boring its exciting keeps you guessing i cant wait to read both city of lies and path of beast and any other seeies that come out never read the hunger games but if you like this you will probably like the hunger games and same visa versa so hope you enjoy the book cause i did

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Luv

    I lllloooovvvveeee this book! I also recommed the seconde City of Lies

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great

    This is the book,not the game,but its a great book

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    awsome!

    the best book ever!,

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Lalalalaaaaaaa

    Me being a thief and all.... I LOVE IT, YOU DIDNT HEAR THAT FIRST SENTENCE BY THE WAY, RIGHT? RIGHT?

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was sooooo good. Unlike anything i have ever read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7