BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Music of the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Must read!

WOW! Simply amazing story and characters. Katie Ashley delivered once again! Buy this book, you wont be able to put it down.

posted by 16650618 on March 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Idiot

Did all reviewers forget to mention Jake was an A%#wipe? After how he treated her at the beginning of the book, they passed a point of no redemption. D.O.N.E!!! He never attempts to truly make it up to her. AND after saving herself, she deserved someone more worthy. ...
Did all reviewers forget to mention Jake was an A%#wipe? After how he treated her at the beginning of the book, they passed a point of no redemption. D.O.N.E!!! He never attempts to truly make it up to her. AND after saving herself, she deserved someone more worthy. I hate these new storylines that try and baptize manwhores through some symbolism of female virginity. That was the old romance book formula from the 1980s.

posted by On-to-the-next-book on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Must read!

    WOW! Simply amazing story and characters. Katie Ashley delivered once again! Buy this book, you wont be able to put it down.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    4.5 Stars This is going to be a quick, down-and-dirty review as

    4.5 Stars
    This is going to be a quick, down-and-dirty review as I have read this book numerous times as a Beta reader as well as an editor. I am simply amazed at the growth and development of this book over the last two weeks up until Katie pressed the "publish" button.

    I simply adored Abigail aka Angel, who is the main female character. Abby is almost twenty-two years old, has a voice of an angel, and admits that swearing is her one and only vice. She is also a virgin and has been saving that "gift" for the love of her life who she has yet to meet.

    While searching for her brothers' tour bus (Jacob's Ladder), Abby mistakenly ends up on Runaway Train's tour bus, along with the hot, lead vocalist known as Jake Slater, and his bandmates AJ, Brayden, and Rhys.

    Jake is the handsome rocker who is only interested in one-night stands. He has no desire for a committed relationship, nor does he have the time. In his mind, women have one use and one use only.

    After a bet, Abby stays on the bus for a week, and during that time there are many funny scenes where Katie Ashley's incredible writing and humor comes through. One of my favorite scenes is when Abby sings "Like a Virgin" to Jake at a diner. I could visualize the entire scene simply by reading the pages.

    We also learn that Jake's mom's cancer has returned, and Abby gets to witness a side of Jake she had no idea even existed. Jake's answer to everything is to get mad, isolate himself, and hurt the people that love him the most. Due to some of the choices and events in his life, he doesn't think he is worthy of having someone truly love him for the person he is...the person he tries to hide from everyone.

    Katie Ashley's heartfelt scenes between Jake and his mom, Susan, were real and heart-wrenching. Unfortunately, I know this from personal experience so the realness was very, very important to me.

    Yes, this book has the hot rocker, some great steamy love scenes, angst, humor, heartbreak, and tears. But once again, it's proof of the incredible writing skills of Katie Ashley.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Loved it

    A must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Liked it!

    I read the second book of this series first. Thats why i decided to read.this.one. I did really like it but the second one was a bit better. Good storyline though. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Great Book

    I enjoyed the story of Abby and Jake can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Very sweet story

    Loved this story could not put it once i started. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Thought this was a great read.  Keep reading for hours - could n

    Thought this was a great read.  Keep reading for hours - could not put it down. Wish they would make a movie of this one. Katie is one of my favorites authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    This is my first time reading a book by Katie Ashley, once I sta

    This is my first time reading a book by Katie Ashley, once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. 
    It had me laughing, crying and other emotions. It is a heartfelt story and brings the characters alive.
    It reminds you that no matter who is standing in front of you, no matter if they are black, white or brown,
    If they are inked and pierced with purple or pink hair coloring, they have deep feelings and can feel pain and grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Get it. Its a good story. There is a little of everything. I wasnt ready for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great

    Book!!! You will enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Good..fast read!

    I had this in my library as a sample and decided what the heck!! I really enjoyed this book and liked Jake and Abby. I really like this author. The fact that she knows about the lifestyle and the fact that she has brothers let's him know he can't fool her. The attraction is palpable and heady. I enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    I laughed, I cried, and then I laughed some more. This book has

    I laughed, I cried, and then I laughed some more. This book has everything, a potty mouth tattooed rocker and a beautiful, sexy virgin standing solidly on her Christian upbringing. Talk about opposites attracting! Jake, the lead singer of Runaway Train, is an emotional virgin. He doesn't do relationships-he just has sex whenever, wherever and with whomever. Abby accidentally ends up in his bed and then she captures his heart. When Abby's brothers discovers that she is on Jake's tour bus with his band, their reaction had me on my knees. I was laughing so hard! Jake is going through a really dark time with a member of his family and Abby is the light that helps him get through it. Really beautiful love story but way too much profanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Heart warming

    I'm so glad it's a happy but tragic ending. I love every word of the book! It completely and utterly pulled my heartstrings out. I would love to have a guy love me the way Jake did. And I love abby too, she is one hell of a heroine. She was not like your 50 shades anastasia who was way too sappy. But was strong and knew how to handle herself well. Overall great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great read

    Just finished the book,loved loved loved it.
    So worth the money and time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Heartfelt

    This was my first Katie Ashley book and it was wonderful. The reviews by other readers don't lie. I look forward to reading other pieces from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    I really like all of Katie Ashley's NA books. She is a great wr

    I really like all of Katie Ashley's NA books. She is a great writer and I have read everything she has written since I discovered her first book. I loved this book. I read it all in one sitting neglecting all else until I finished it. Definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Romantic and sweert

    What an aweome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Good read!!

    Read it in one day... very good story you'll enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Loved this book

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Good book

    Needs more of an edge...great basis for story but it would have been 5 stars if i felt more passion in the writing like i feel when i read colleen hoovers thoughtless, effortless, etc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4