Customer Reviews for

Mussolini's Rome: Rebuilding the Eternal City

Average Rating 3
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting read!

I never really thought about how a political system can actually shape a city until I read this book. This is a fascinating read for anyone who's interested in either history or architecture, and I would even recommend it for anyone just looking for a thought-provoking ...
I never really thought about how a political system can actually shape a city until I read this book. This is a fascinating read for anyone who's interested in either history or architecture, and I would even recommend it for anyone just looking for a thought-provoking read.

posted by DrewGeoff on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Informative, got a tad lost.

I will confess, I knew very little about Rome during Mussolini's reign. Therefore, when I started to read this book, I could quickly become lost at times. This is a book to read in addition to basic knowledge, rather than a book FOR basic knowledge.
However, that is n...
I will confess, I knew very little about Rome during Mussolini's reign. Therefore, when I started to read this book, I could quickly become lost at times. This is a book to read in addition to basic knowledge, rather than a book FOR basic knowledge.
However, that is not to say this is not a good book. It is. It is well written, very informative, with great footnotes for further information, as well as pictures that aid rather than detract. If you don't have basic knowledge, it is still very rewarding but will be a bit harder of a read through than if you have that knowledge. If you are interested in Rome as a city, Italian history before and during WWII, or politics and their influence on architecture-this is a must read.

posted by Voracious_Bookworm on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Informative, got a tad lost.

    I will confess, I knew very little about Rome during Mussolini's reign. Therefore, when I started to read this book, I could quickly become lost at times. This is a book to read in addition to basic knowledge, rather than a book FOR basic knowledge.
    However, that is not to say this is not a good book. It is. It is well written, very informative, with great footnotes for further information, as well as pictures that aid rather than detract. If you don't have basic knowledge, it is still very rewarding but will be a bit harder of a read through than if you have that knowledge. If you are interested in Rome as a city, Italian history before and during WWII, or politics and their influence on architecture-this is a must read.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Very interesting read!

    I never really thought about how a political system can actually shape a city until I read this book. This is a fascinating read for anyone who's interested in either history or architecture, and I would even recommend it for anyone just looking for a thought-provoking read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Highly recommended

    As an American of Italian ancestry I found this book enthralling. In matter of architecture I found it enlightening. When we travel to Rome we will use this book as a guide.

    The background to Rome's history between the wars was well developed and well documented. Mussolini would have arguably been hailed as important if he as had Franco stayed out of the Second World War. However in a desired to not be out match by Hitler he failed to preserve his legacy as a builder. Instead he will go down in history as megalomaniac. However, much of modern Rome still bears his marks.

    In regard to the Papacy he is fairly balanced with a few minor errors. Pius XII was not given much credit for protecting the Jewish population of Italy. A mere mention of Scrivener's work is important and should be followed up. The Pope has taken some untrue hits about his ignoring the Jewish peoples' problems. He opened the churches and monastic house to them in order that they might be saved. At least this truth is foot noted.

    None-the-less this is an important subject and an important work that should be read and if you go to Rome you will be lost without it.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Awsome

    A great insite on how he changed Italy

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Specialized historical perspective

    I bought a Nook and, within a few hours, was on a plane for Rome. I didn't know how it all worked, and had few books loaded on my new Nook - this was one of them. I have what some call a "learning personality," which seems to me to mean that I'm happy when I learn something new. So, Mr. Painter's book kept my interest through the concept of cityscapes/archicture/urban renewal as political tools. Surely future historians will be interested in changes to Rome wrought by Mussolini. For the general reader unfamiliar with Rome then and now, the level of detail about the fascist urban renewal project is overwhelming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Good read for a History buff. Good portrait of Mussolini

    This is a good read for any history buff. Kind of tedious with many names and places but the pictures and footnotes help in the overall understanding of the events. Definitely recommended.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great Read

    A must read...Highly recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good maybe.

    This book looks good because I like to read about things from WW2. But sadly I can't read it yet... but if I were you, I'd read it. It looks good.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Mussolini's Rome

    I was very disappointed with this book. It was a long, long report on construction in Rome and the environs during the 20-year Mussolini rule. So detailed and boring were the reports that we were told how many rows of photographs and how many prints per row were exhibited in a museum. If you really must read this book (because it is free) start on Chapter 7 or maybe 6; thereafter, you will find a little about the war and what the Italian citizens thought about fascism. Oh, there was one humorous fact that was revealed early: that the corporate role in the fascist scheme never really got launched during Mussolini's day. On another subject, the book showed me a major disadvantage of the ebook readers, i.e. that you can't skim. Instead you have to plow through many dreary pages to see if there is some history in there somewhere.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    cool

    y

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is a book based on detailed research. Well done, and detailed. It is not for the casual reader - but - for one who is interested in the history of Roman during Mussolini's years in power, and some insight as to why he sided with Hitler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Recommended, if you are specialist

    I though this would be a lighter reading, but becomes a technical book that may be useful if, you are in Rome or you know Rome well (and of course, you must interested in architecture!). Haven't finished, I will keep it for (and if) I visit Rome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great!!

    I love history Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    not recommended.

    It would be nice to have some "before" and "after" pictures. An OK read but not great.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good read about Mussolinis it Good Read about Mussolini ant Italy.

    If you want to know what happen during Mussolinis reign in Italy read this book. Very informative and vey well researched.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Educational

    If you are an architect/city designer, this is a very educational book. It's too dry & date conscious for comfortable reading. A student of history would also enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Interesting read

    While I did not read the entire book, I did read sections that pertained to some of the issues that my students were studying. I found it to be an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Not a good fit for an ereader

    Informative, but the pictures don't display well in an ereader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    amazing

    imformative very good

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    very slow read

    The history is good but the book is boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9