Customer Reviews for

Must Love Dogs

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Love Dogs By Claire Cook Divorced forty year old Sarah Hur

    Must Love Dogs By Claire Cook Divorced forty year old Sarah Hurlihy is
    finally ready to start dating again, after much urging from her rather
    large and obnoxious family. Her sister decides she needs to place a
    personal add in the local paper and then after much nagging she
    concedes, from here thing get a lot more interesting in Sarah’s life and
    she soon has more male attention than she knows what to do with. I fell
    in love with the Movie Must Love Dogs when it came out and I had, had no
    idea that it was based on a book when I found this out I of course had
    to read it. Unfortunately the book fell flat compared to the movie, the
    romance between John and Sarah was not very believable it just seemed
    she had decided after she exhausted her other two options to go with
    him. I had hoped for more details but we actually get less in the book
    than we do with the movie. I hate it when Hollywood out does a book but
    this is one of those rare instances.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    amazing!!!!!

    I love this book more than anything I have ever read! I started reading this in my Geometry class and I couldn't put it down! It was so funny and hilarious! I love how the character of Sarah is so real life and down to Earth and so many females can relate to her situation wheater the be divorced or just got dumped by a guy! And she can relate so well to that fact that it stinks with the search of finding that perfect guy to replace the one that you/or let you go! IT is a wonderful book that I will recomend to ANYONE of all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Typical and cheesy

    The best part was when Sarah was talking to Mrs. Wallace, that was hilarious! I was disappointed by the ending. It was rather cheesy, I knew it would be I just wanted to read it to say I've read it. I think it was slightly better than the movie though. But I would suggest reading the book first because the movie is very different than the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Fast and Fun read!

    I read this book in a day at work. It is very cute, charming and one that is a great page turner. The Hurlihy family reminds me a lot of my family, but in a more odd way. And watching Sarah get back into the dating scene made me laugh more than a few times. I can't wait to see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    I thought it was great!

    I saw the movie over the summer and loved it, and finally got around to reading the book, just finished it. i could relate to the character's worrying and thinking too much needing to realize my worth. In the past, I have dated guys that were too immature or selifish, the worst was learning the hard way after two years of friendship and having a relationship the only reason he stuck around was because he only wanted sex he wanted to lose his virginity, I was naive and didn't understand. Now as a wiser 26 year old, I have been in a happy committed relationship with someone for almost three years and we having been living together for more than a year and are getting married in about a year. The best advice in the book is not to settle for just anyone, it's not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Great Read!

    'Must Love Dogs' was a fantastic book. The plot line was interesting and the characters came out strong and real. I could actually relate to what happened. Her description of the scenes provided an excellent platform for us to be transfered into her story. Excellent work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Good book.

    I thought that this was a very good book. I was so happy to see that one of the characters had the same name as me- Siobhan. (For anyone wondering it is pronounced as if it was spelt Shivawn) The book did drag on a little bit, but overall I thought it was enjoyable. I would suggest this book to anyone looking for a quick read. Not great for someone who looks for a lot of depth in what they read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    A Journey of Love

    This book is very good. I think it has a great plot line and there are many parts I can relate to in the book, which intrigued my interest in the story. It is unpredictable up to the end, and it really held my attention.I am a person who only reads for enjoyment, and I don't like to have to think real hard in a book,so this book suited me well. However, if you want in-depth thinking in a book, this one would not be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Good, but not great

    I recommend this book to anyone with patience and tolerance for human folly. A friend who recommended the book to me commented, 'Sometimes you just want to smack Sarah.' However, I believe that Sarah responds to her life events as a woman of her age and position would (over 40, husband had an affair and left her, she kept the house). If you tend to get annoyed with people who seem drenched in self-pity, however, stay away from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    slow read

    Not much depth. I read it because I live in the next town over from the author. NOT a page turner...I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Campy

    I thought the 'Irish' thing was a little overdone and frankly, down right corny. The book had no depth and the characters only went so far. Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Or just love a good book

    I loved this book. I picked it up I must confess because of the movie and the fact that I like both Diane Lane and Jon Cusack. I was pleasantly surprised to find the book so GOOD that I couldn't put it down. I only hope that the movie can do the book justice - which isn't always the case. LOVE IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Boring, Boring, Boring

    This book was a HUGE disappointment. It was extremely slow and lacked any real depth. The writing style of the author seemed odd - an attempt to be funny, but you just end up thinking the characters are annoying. It was all I could do just to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    love this book!!

    i loved this book i love how they describe every little thing made me feel like i was part of the family in the book! it was so good! best book ! i am happy they are making a movie from this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Oustanding! a must read

    This book was really good I could not put it down. It was fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    I absolutely adored this book!

    Just...wow. I'm a thirteen year old girl who has found herself adoring adult books that she should not even understand, and I found myself relating with Sarah. I picked up the book because I thought it was focused on dogs (leave me alone. I'm an animal lover), read the back and automatically bought it before I went back to browsing. I couldn't put it down and the only time I did was when my mother forced me to go to sleep! If you like humor, romance, and a touch of St. Bernard slobber, this is definately something to read. Five stars! (paws? Ehe)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    An 'A' Ok Book

    Must Love Dogs was'nt a book I would reccomand for people who like exciting books. Most of everything that happend was a repaeat of the main characters dating life. The book was about a lady in her mid 40s who had been divorcved. Sarah Hurlihy wanted to just settle down before she started to date again. But that plan didnt work only because of Sarah's annoyingly perfect sister. Her sister was married with children and had a St.Bernard puppy. Her marriage seemed to be just perfect. So perfect that she could just go on to her sloppy sisters life to make it perfect too. Sarah's sister decided to write an add in the personals, 'Women Seeking Man,' except Sarah didnt know. She found out when a man wrote her a letter telling her all about him. When they set up a date,they decided to meet at the coffee shop. It ended up to be her dad being her date. A few months later she tried again and met up with a rude but charming man. She liked him because he was just like her. they dated for awhile but then there relationship went down the drain like the rest of her reationships do. These sre just a few of the parts in the book that get boring once they repeat themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Okay

    This book was alright, but a little predictable. Needed more Pizazz, and a sprinkle of sexy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Delightfully Refreshing!

    I was captivated by the story from the first page and never felt let-down through the entire book. You cannot be quiet when you read it because you will be snorting out loud with laughter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Buy The Book!!!

    While I read, 'Must Love Dogs,' I took a journey through main character Sarah Hurlihy's up and down love life, from her divorce to ex-husband, Kevin, to her many dating experiences. Author Claire Cook, made Sarah seem like a real human being every woman could relate to. This book would make a good bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2