Customer Reviews for

Must Love Dukes

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great New Regency Romance What a well written and fun romanc

A Great New Regency Romance

What a well written and fun romance. Lillian, the heroine, and the hero, Devon make a terrific couple even before they actually become a couple. Their story was a witty, passionate adventure filled journey in Regency Society as Devon and Li...
A Great New Regency Romance

What a well written and fun romance. Lillian, the heroine, and the hero, Devon make a terrific couple even before they actually become a couple. Their story was a witty, passionate adventure filled journey in Regency Society as Devon and Lily sparred with each other, connived together and were clearly meant for each other. The romance was heated and the clever dialogue and descriptions added an extra flavor to the mix. I am looking forward to reading more books in this series from the talented Elizabeth Michels.

I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. Myrt

posted by 4589983 on January 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not so much

Really a good start that turned into a major yawn: too bad the rest of the book did not keep up with chapter one. I will not be buying any more of this author's efforts. Could have been one of the better ones but lack of character development and lazy plotting cause...
Really a good start that turned into a major yawn: too bad the rest of the book did not keep up with chapter one. I will not be buying any more of this author's efforts. Could have been one of the better ones but lack of character development and lazy plotting caused failure on all levels!!! Danger, Will Robinson, save your money.

posted by 523599DS on February 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    A Great New Regency Romance What a well written and fun romanc

    A Great New Regency Romance

    What a well written and fun romance. Lillian, the heroine, and the hero, Devon make a terrific couple even before they actually become a couple. Their story was a witty, passionate adventure filled journey in Regency Society as Devon and Lily sparred with each other, connived together and were clearly meant for each other. The romance was heated and the clever dialogue and descriptions added an extra flavor to the mix. I am looking forward to reading more books in this series from the talented Elizabeth Michels.

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. Myrt

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    This is book 1 in the Tricks of the Ton series. Lillian Phillip

    This is book 1 in the Tricks of the Ton series.

    Lillian Phillips must travel to London to buy back the family heirlooms that were sold off to pay for her brother's gambling debts. Unfortunately, when she arrives she is told that her father's watch was just sold. Lillian decided to follow the man and try to get the watch back.

    Devon Grey, Duke of Thornwood, is on his way to having a nice leisurely drink at a local pub when he senses that someone is following him. He can't imagine why the young woman is following him. 

    When he arrives at the pub, Lillian makes herself known and they sit down for a drink. After several drinks and lots of talk, Devon invites Lillian back to his place to see all the artifacts he has collected on his many journeys. They have been fighting their mutual attraction all night and when they arrive at Devon's home one thing leads to another....

    Early the next morning, Lillian sneaks out of the house but not before finding that watch that started it all. Devon awakens to find Lillian and his watch missing. Since Lillian gave him a fake name, he is unable to find the thief.

    A year passes and Lillian's bother is determined that it is time for her to marry. She must pick a husband from a list he has put together. Of course, she runs into Devon at the first ball she attends and he is ready for revenge. In exchange for Lillian doing a few things for him, he will not tell everyone about their night a year ago. Lillian agrees and soon learns that Devon's plans have a positive effect for her. He is getting the men on her brother's list out of the picture.

    Can Lillian hold out on getting married until she reaches her majority or will spending all that time with Devon change her mind about marriage?

    This was an awesome debut novel by Elizabeth Michels. I love when the banter between the h/h has me laughing out loud and Michels achieved this over and over again. I love that Lillian stood up to her brother as much as she could and what Devon was willing to give up to marry her. Devon's mother was a secondary character that I fell in love with. She saw what her son was unwilling to admit and did what she could to manipulate the situation. 

    An interesting addition to the novel was Lillian's gay brother. It's been alluded to in other novels that I have read, but it's never been blatantly out there. I LOVE when authors throw an element into the story that makes it unique. Michels did a wonderful job of adding this to the storyline without it overpowering it.

    We met the h/h of the next novel, Sue and Holden (Desperately Seeking Suzanna), during this story. Having already seen the interaction between the two of them, I am on pins and needles waiting for it to come out! My fingers are crossed that we are able to see more of Lillian and Devon as their story unfolds.

    Thanks go out to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, sweet, and a lovely read, Must Love Dukes was a fantastic h

    Fun, sweet, and a lovely read, Must Love Dukes was a fantastic historical romance. I really enjoyed reading this book and I totally loved it!

    Lily was a good heroine. She was strong and determined to get what she wanted. But, I did have a couple of issues with her. For one, she was prone to being way over dramatic, which got to be frustrating. And, two, for such a strong willed character, she didn't give any fight when her brothers forced her into a betrothal. It just didn't make sense to the rest of her character. So, both of those took away from my enjoyment of the book, but I still really liked it and I still liked Lily. Overall, she was good.

    Devon, on the other hand, was so sweet! He was utterly adorable and charming and basically perfect. I thought he was a perfect hero and I adored him.

    The romance was sweet. Lily and Devon were lovely together. And, the sparks were flying between them from the moment they met, so there was a dash of spice in their relationship. I thought they were a wonderful couple.

    The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. There were thrills, secrets, and a few surprises that kept me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was super sweet.

    Must Love Dukes was a fantastic historical romance. I really loved this book. It was fun and sweet, had some thrills to keep things interesting. Romance lovers, this is a book you'll definitely want to read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! MUST READ! I've been reading Regency Romanc

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! MUST READ!
    I've been reading Regency Romance for years and this story is one of the best I've read.  This author's fresh take on a time period I've read so many times had me unable to put it down.  From the first page when Devon is being followed by Lily to the hilarious pranks he pulls, to the heart-clutching end, this story made me laugh out loud several times and cry.  The characters are so real I feel like I know them.  And Devon, the mad duke is hot, smart, funny and I want to marry him.  If you like light hearted yet steamy historicals, this one is for you!
    I highly recommend this book and can't wait for the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    This book has everything I look for in the perfect Regency romp.

    This book has everything I look for in the perfect Regency romp. Humor and fun, steamy love scenes, and some heart ache to make you feel and root for the characters. The banter between hero & heroine was a delight. I'm also a sucker for addictive secondary characters. Devon's mom definitely falls into that category. Loved her! I devoured this book in 2 days and can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    I won an advanced copy of this book as part of a giveaway.  I di

    I won an advanced copy of this book as part of a giveaway.  I didn't think much of it when it came in the mail.  I was in the middle of reading another romance and figured I would start it in a week or two.  That evening I opened the cover out of curiosity with the intention of reading the first page or two.  Well needless to say i finished it this morning.  I couldn't put it down!  I am now in that desperate place where I have to wait 4 more weeks for the next one to come out.  I must tell you I have not gotten sucked into a book like this in quite a while.  I don't do spoilers so I wont say any specific comments but I will say this was the best hero ever, I am in love.  Praise to your Ms. Michels, I look forward to getting my hands on your next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Very good story and some amusing parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    I absolutely loved the enthralling, humorous, captivating, well

    I absolutely loved the enthralling, humorous, captivating, well written, historical romance free goodreads highly recommended story Must Love Dukes by Elizabeth Michels.
    Lillian Phillips follows Devon Grey, the Mad Duke of Thornwood, to a tavern and ends up in bed with him. Devon awakes in the morning to find his watch and Lily gone. Devon and Lily meet again a year later at a society ball, sparks fly, and Devon seeks his revenge by blackmailing Lily.
    Read the excellent, loving, funny, emotional, romantic, engrossing, highly recommended well written story Must Love Dukes by Elizabeth Michels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Dice

    "Eat me, all you like."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Dice

    Post.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Michels debut novel, Must Love Dukes is the first book

    Elizabeth Michels debut novel, Must Love Dukes is the first book in her Tricks of the Ton, Regency romance series. Readers who are looking for a light, fun read will find this one right up their alley. Michels has created an interesting group of characters from a 'mad' duke to a very unconventional heroine. With everything from the evil machinations of siblings to blackmail, this story has a little bit of something for everyone. Michels writes with humor and grace and will likely be a strong voice in the historical romance genre. An author to watch!

    What I liked:

    Regency romances sometimes tend to run together. The same kinds of characters, the same situations, that kind of thing. When you come across a writer who adds some originality to her plots, it really stands out. Elizabeth Michels brings readers a story that is a bit uncommon for the Ton and that makes all the difference. Must Love Dukes has a remarkable set of characters that are both captivating and multi-faceted. Her plot lines were refreshing and somewhat unusual. Her sense of humor enlivened the pages and made the banter between the hero and the heroine irresistible. It's hard to believe this is a debut novel.

    Lillian isn't your typical Regency heroine for several reasons. As readers who frequent books of this period know, the roles are women are very rigid. A woman who is even thought to be alone with a man,will have her reputations ruined. Lily defies those ideas by not only chasing the Duke of Thornwood down a dark alley but returning to his suite with him. If anyone should find out, her prospects at marrying well would be at an end, yet she doesn't seem to care. Her attraction to Devon is all she seems to be thinking about, except for her father's watch. Michels writes Lily with a kind of recklessness that is both captivating and risky. She knows the consequences of her actions but lets one thing lead to another several times in this book. I thought she was simply wonderful. Refreshing and full of life. 

    Devon, the Duke of Thornwood is a gem of a hero. He has that aloof, bored attitude in some scenes while he is completely present and engaged in others. He is stubborn and he feels betrayed by Lily, when she steals the watch and slips away. When they meet again we see a side of Devon that cannot be characterized as anything but devilish. He decides the best way to get back at Lily is blackmail. He has her doing all kings of hilarious things and thwarting her brothers plans to marry her off to the highest bidder at every turn. Devon was fun and diabolical all at the same time. A great hero, who made the dialogue humorous and the book full of surprises.

    What I didn't like: 

    Lily was definitely unconventional for the Regency period and a little thoughtless about her reputation. I had a hard time rationalizing how she would take no care in thinking about the consequences of her actions. This was a time period where image was everything. It certainly wasn't a deal breaker, but perhaps a bit out of character for the times.

    Bottom Line:

    This is a very light and enjoyable historical romance that will make the reader smile. The humor that Michels uses throughout the book is ingenious. I loved the characters and Devon was a fantastic hero. This is a book that readers will enjoy from the first page to the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    This was a very enjoyable book, and at times very funny. Devon G

    This was a very enjoyable book, and at times very funny. Devon Grey, Duke of Thornwood, had a watch stolen from him which he can not forgive, or forget the beautiful young woman who took it, his ego is bruised. Lillian Phillips can not forget Devon and the passionate night they had. When they accidentally meet again Devon decides to black-mail Lillian. He plans tasks for her to do or he will ruin her reputation, he'd been looking for her and he want's revenge, and some of the out comes are hilarious. Once I started reading this story it was hard to put down, I just had to know what the next task would be. I highly recommend this book for a fast, fun, read. 
    This was Elizabeth Micheis debut novel, and I'm looking forward to the next book in the Tricks of the Ton series's

    I received a free copy of this title from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Fun read! Can't wait for her next one.

    Fun read! Can't wait for her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    I typically don't read a lot of historical romance, but thought

    I typically don't read a lot of historical romance, but thought I would give it a shot. It was a fun read that kept me captivated the whole way through! Definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1