Customer Reviews for

Mutation

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Awesome!

    I am just a kid and I still love the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    A must read thriller!!!

    Mutation by Robin Cook is a fictional story about a Scientist father who genetically alters his wife's embryos in order to make his son basically a genius. This book shows if he was successful in his experiment or not. All these events are shown through their son's personality and actions. This medical novel is exciting, lip biting, and keeps you interested every 337 pages, regardless if you like science or not. This thrilling book of an experiment gone wrong, acceptable for men and women, will have you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more. This is an amusing book that you won't regret reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    Twisted...But really good!

    'He sought to create the son of his dreams--and invented a nightmare.' This book was intresting even from before the prologue, it made you wonder what was in store. Truthfully, it was a really twisted story, but those are the kind that sell. I loved this book. I'd recomend it to anyone. It'll make you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    XD001

    Howled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Dr. Steuben

    "Hmm....."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Subject 00001

    Her eyes opened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Outstanding Robin Cook Book

    Mutation was outstanding, as are all of Dr. Cook's older books. However, his last 3 or so seem to have a political theme (Seizure comes to mind) and are making me lose interest in his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    SENSATIONAL

    This thriling novel keeps you on the edge of your chair for every 337 pages. The thrill doesn't stop until the last page of the epilouge. I don't like science, I do think it's interesting, but no matter what you like and don't, this is an amusing novel that you wont regret reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Twisted Thriller!

    The first novel I've read from Dr. Cook, and when I finished it, I knew it wouldn't be my last! Disturbing, twisted, scary, are only a few words to describe the imaganitive creepy thriller with and ending that will blow you away! With suspense the will force you turn the page, keep you up past midnight and traveling deeply into the characters thoughts can only be written by master: Dr. Robin Cook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Great!

    This was an exclellent book, one of my favorites from Robin Cook. The suspense kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put the book down. Cook eerily reminds us of the consequences of mixing science and ambition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    How High School Sees Robin Cook

    As a 17 year-old high school Jr. I really enjoy reading Robin Cook books. I just finshed reading 'Mutation' and thought that it was very well thought out and kept me turning the pages long after I should have been sleeping. It only took me 3 days to read this book. I found it hard to put it down. Robin Cook is an excellent writer and I find his books exciting and challenging to try to guess the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    Page turning!

    This book is a great medical thriller. Once you start, you can't seem to stop. It took me only three days to read. It makes you stop and think about what's going to happen to modern genetics in our future. The way things are going now days, I wouldn't be surprised if the story in this book is actually happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Okay Book, but Cook's done better

    This Book made me a fan of Robin Cook although I think his later books were quite a bit better. The book starts off great but then loses a lot of momentum while your waiting for the end. Pros- intrusting from start, wonderfully presented, you learn about medical science in a fun intrusting manner (typical of Cook¿s Books). Cons- Predictable if you¿ve read other trillers, you feel like yell at the characters and tell them how stupid they are, Ending is as bad as those boring last resort ¿He woke up and it was all a dream¿ endings. The epilogue is OK and redeems some points lost by the ending. It¿s a fairly good book, but instead why don¿t you read his later book Chromosome 6, which is less predictable and just so much better as a whole. Synopsis: This book is about a Scientist who engineered his son to be a genius, and succeeded in making one with who lacks a conscience... But has resources.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    I know what a good book is....and this wasn't it!

    Cook totally disappointed me. I'm not stupid, I know what a good book is. but by the time the first hundred pages had gone by I already knew what was going to happen!! It was so obvious. And some parts at least needed a good explaination. For instance how in the world could a very 'special' 3 year old and a retarded man get a bunch of South American drug lords under their control, even with the use of cocain?? DOUBTFUL!! However I can say that that Cook DID leave me thinking about genetic engineering and what it could do to the human race...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2