Customer Reviews for

Mutiny on the Bounty

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    THE BEST TALE OF SEA VOYAGE!

    I started this book, got about 100 pages into it, then stopped. I don't remember why. I'm glad I picked it up again. The ways Norman and Hall described everything was great. The floggings, the ships, Tahiti, the Mutiny and trials. I don't know if you'd consider this as an historical fiction, but I thought it was. Captain William Bligh's tyrannical ruling over the Bounty was depicted most vivdly. This is for any one who likes a good sea advenure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Excellent!

    One of the few books I read as a teen, and continue to enjoy as an adult. I did a Book Report on this book in junior high.
    Beautifully written and captivating. A much welcomed addition to my Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    If you love well-researched, well-written historic novels (based

    If you love well-researched, well-written historic novels (based on true facts no less), do not go past this book. It's brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    ?yibmgjbmvm ti

    Gjbmbjbfgjvm .gjtigjgj .tiyivmvn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A Most Read

    I've read it four times over the years and still enjoy I immensly, I had it sent to my son, who is incarcerated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A splendid masterpiece of men who went to sea

    MUTINY ON THE BOUNTY is one of the greatest novels of the sea, of the 18th century sailing ships and the men who sailed them. But it is far more than a sea story or an adventure story. It is a splendid examination of the abuse of power and of the necessity for society to maintain support for authority, no matter how greatly that authority may at times by misused.

    Different people tend to view the novel from faulty subjective viewpoints. Some see Capt. Bligh as a gross tyrant who got exactly what he deserved. But at no time does the narrator of the story attempt to justify the mutiny. Others see Fletcher Christian as a romantic hero, but the narrator makes it abundantly clear that his actions in seizing the ship and endangering the entire crew were misguided, to say the least. Always there is a sound balance and a mature evaluation of the actions of all characters, including the officers of the naval court who try those accused of the mutiny.

    The novel also presents a beautiful balance of scenes, from the harsh punishments on board the Bounty to the idyllic interlude of life in Tahiti to the appalling existence of prisoners chained hand and foot for months at a time, and from the depths of despair at a sentence of death by hanging to the dazzling strangeness of sudden freedom. Whether it is description of scene or action or feeling, the authors capture the essence of every element of the story with perfect clarity and depth. In short, this is an exceedingly well plotted and well written work of literature, which can be enjoyed by a wide range of readers, not just those who love adventure yarns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Mutiny on the Bounty

    From Charles Nordhoff and James Norman Hall comes a timeless saga of the men who served aboard the H.M.S. Bounty. Fated to never return to England again, the Bounty would be set adrift in the stormy seas crewed by mutineers and her men across the globe with some reaching tragic fates. Mutiny on the Bounty, the first of the Bounty trilogy follows a young midshipman by the name of Roger Byam. During his voyage, many events happen that cause Byam to question his view on honor, courage, and loyalty. Even as events happen around him, Byam finds a deeper meaning to each of those traits. He realizes that honor, courage, and loyalty are the greatest traits that any sailor could possess, but that it is the man he is loyal to that really determines his nature. This amazing sea adventure will appeal to those who love ocean adventures because this novel will bring the reader to the depths and back. From mutiny to sinking ships and castaways, this is an adventure that sea lovers cannot miss. So join Byam and get ready to set sail on Her Majesty¿s Ship Bounty and experience the adventures that await the British sailor aboard one of Her warships. Read the book and lash yourself tight to the riggings as you ride the high seas. This book is surely to wash you away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1