Customer Reviews for

My American Journey

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the last Buffalo Soldiers/Korea,1950/51

I found MY AMERICAN JOURNEY by Gen., Powell, to be one of the most outstanding memoir ever written, more so because I were one of those African American soldiers that went & served before him. One of those whom backs he walked. To my comrades that gave their v...
I found MY AMERICAN JOURNEY by Gen., Powell, to be one of the most outstanding memoir ever written, more so because I were one of those African American soldiers that went & served before him. One of those whom backs he walked. To my comrades that gave their very all; I can truly say, my brothers, All were not in vain. Psychologically we Black Americans are encouraged from childhood, not to speak or write of our black heroic deeds. (Slavery &, etc.) We are encouraged not to do so by our parents, relatives and well meaning friends. The reasons,, they're fearful it'll make (some) people uneasy. So when those amongst us do it, we're accused of boasting, praising the evils of wars, or being some kind of radical. Some go as far as to say that such stories put wrong ideas in the heads of our younger generation, when in reality it leaves them with a sense of pride, and knowledge of their history. On March 27, 1950, I turned seventeen years old, and immediately set to work persuading my mother to give the consent required for me to join the military. Ten days later--April 6--I enlisted in the United States Army. In August of that year I was sent to Fort Belvoir, Virginia, for engineering training. During that training, I learned of the so-called police action taking place in Korea, and like many other adventurous young soldiers, I volunteered for combat duty there. Our worst fear was that the police action would be over by the time we arrived in Korea, I even cut short an eight-day leave to be sure I wouldn't miss anything. Such was our minds conditioned. I was shipped to Korea as a rifleman to serve in the U.S. Army's Last All Negro Unit the 24th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Battalion, G-Company, 1st Platoon, 1st Squad. (formerly known as BUFFALO-SOLDIERS) where I was to serve from Dec. 4 1950 until Sept. 1st, 1951. Quite as its been kept, we were one of the first, and most outstanding combat units in the Korean War. In my book WHAT'S A COMMIE EVER DONE TO BLACK PEOPLE? I wrote of my experiences, detailing the psychological effect of the war, on a 17-year-old kid. It also tells the story of a black man's fight in a racist United States army. A war where we black soldiers soon realized the bitter irony of our situation--supposedly fighting to protect the rights and freedom of an ethnic people, many of us had never heard of before; even as that freedom was denied us in our own country. My experience was a rude awakening to the realities, not only of life and death, but of politics. Writing this book was one of the most difficult decision of my life. But perhaps it'll serve as an inspiration to other Black-veterans, to tell their stories, our history. Reflecting back now, at age 67, and realizing the advancements we Americans, of African decent have made, I feel very proud of my participation; and privilege to share them with you, the younger generation. Perhaps, if I had known then at the ages 17, what I know now, I too might've stayed home and remained in school. But I didn't. I chose the road of adventure, The Creator spared me, perhaps to add this chapter, to the history of African-Americans in the making of this our great country; to pass it on, so that all should know, that the freedom and privilege we now enjoy, many fought and died for it. Again I'll say, every American should make MY AMERICAN JOURNEY a must read.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding read - Learn how leadership is developed and used.

As a young soldier and old veteran I have often wondered how the Military officers were developed and what they knew that we did not know in the field. Colin Powell was there, done that, learned and used what he had
learned to lead men, politicians, and armies.

Grea...
As a young soldier and old veteran I have often wondered how the Military officers were developed and what they knew that we did not know in the field. Colin Powell was there, done that, learned and used what he had
learned to lead men, politicians, and armies.

Great read and learning experience about how true leadership is developed and rewarded in th Military.

posted by 11294892 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    One of the last Buffalo Soldiers/Korea,1950/51

    I found MY AMERICAN JOURNEY by Gen., Powell, to be one of the most outstanding memoir ever written, more so because I were one of those African American soldiers that went & served before him. One of those whom backs he walked. To my comrades that gave their very all; I can truly say, my brothers, All were not in vain. Psychologically we Black Americans are encouraged from childhood, not to speak or write of our black heroic deeds. (Slavery &, etc.) We are encouraged not to do so by our parents, relatives and well meaning friends. The reasons,, they're fearful it'll make (some) people uneasy. So when those amongst us do it, we're accused of boasting, praising the evils of wars, or being some kind of radical. Some go as far as to say that such stories put wrong ideas in the heads of our younger generation, when in reality it leaves them with a sense of pride, and knowledge of their history. On March 27, 1950, I turned seventeen years old, and immediately set to work persuading my mother to give the consent required for me to join the military. Ten days later--April 6--I enlisted in the United States Army. In August of that year I was sent to Fort Belvoir, Virginia, for engineering training. During that training, I learned of the so-called police action taking place in Korea, and like many other adventurous young soldiers, I volunteered for combat duty there. Our worst fear was that the police action would be over by the time we arrived in Korea, I even cut short an eight-day leave to be sure I wouldn't miss anything. Such was our minds conditioned. I was shipped to Korea as a rifleman to serve in the U.S. Army's Last All Negro Unit the 24th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Battalion, G-Company, 1st Platoon, 1st Squad. (formerly known as BUFFALO-SOLDIERS) where I was to serve from Dec. 4 1950 until Sept. 1st, 1951. Quite as its been kept, we were one of the first, and most outstanding combat units in the Korean War. In my book WHAT'S A COMMIE EVER DONE TO BLACK PEOPLE? I wrote of my experiences, detailing the psychological effect of the war, on a 17-year-old kid. It also tells the story of a black man's fight in a racist United States army. A war where we black soldiers soon realized the bitter irony of our situation--supposedly fighting to protect the rights and freedom of an ethnic people, many of us had never heard of before; even as that freedom was denied us in our own country. My experience was a rude awakening to the realities, not only of life and death, but of politics. Writing this book was one of the most difficult decision of my life. But perhaps it'll serve as an inspiration to other Black-veterans, to tell their stories, our history. Reflecting back now, at age 67, and realizing the advancements we Americans, of African decent have made, I feel very proud of my participation; and privilege to share them with you, the younger generation. Perhaps, if I had known then at the ages 17, what I know now, I too might've stayed home and remained in school. But I didn't. I chose the road of adventure, The Creator spared me, perhaps to add this chapter, to the history of African-Americans in the making of this our great country; to pass it on, so that all should know, that the freedom and privilege we now enjoy, many fought and died for it. Again I'll say, every American should make MY AMERICAN JOURNEY a must read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Sad to come to the end of this book.

    I read this book and it felt like taking a long walk with an acquaintance who, by the end of the walk down winding paths, up hills and past scenery, truly felt like a friend. This is a truly generous autobiography and I'm so glad General Colin Powell shared so much of himself in it. What an inspiring man!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    The story of a GREAT American--a must read

    This book is a must read for anyone that calls themselves an American. Colin Powell is one of the GREATEST Americans in this nations history. I am a Soldier and can say that I am overly proud to have served for this man when he was Chariman of the Joint Chiefs. The book shows how a young boy for a very humble family can achive the American Dream. Thank you General Powell.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    "My American Journey" by and about Colin Powell was on

    "My American Journey" by and about Colin Powell was one of the most compelling biographies/memoirs I have read. Learning about and actually taking the journey of this outstanding man- was powerful. Not only are readers taught what Colin Powell had to go through as a child to become the man he transformed into- they are guided through the journey with Colin. It is inspiring to hear about such a success story- especially an American success story from a boy who was born and raised in the Bronx. The story was so real- alot of young men and women are discouraged by school and sometimes the ROTC is the gate away from the normal routine for college students. Usually biographies and memoirs seem to be boring and are not as educated sounding as other novels. But- this biography was very well written and  compelling as a reader. I am researching the ROTC program for a project in my english class and this story has shown me how important the ROTC is to some people and how much it can change young peoples lives for the better. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    What a journey!

    A great story of a young man who graduated from a community college and in a ROTC program got his commision and did all his assignments very well and was able to rise to the top position in the Army. A must read to see how he did it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Outstanding read - Learn how leadership is developed and used.

    As a young soldier and old veteran I have often wondered how the Military officers were developed and what they knew that we did not know in the field. Colin Powell was there, done that, learned and used what he had
    learned to lead men, politicians, and armies.

    Great read and learning experience about how true leadership is developed and rewarded in th Military.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    great book

    great man, awesome story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    excellent military book.

    this book is kind of long reding but tottlally worth it. it show the american dream as its best as well how the military change from being a obligatory service to a all voluntere service. excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    COLIN POWELL

    Great, I am reading it now and don't want to put it down. What a President he would have made, but the system would destroy him and what he would want to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a Journey!

    General Powell is an inspiration to many americans and an outstanding leader. I am in the Army and found this book to be on point. I believe his leaderships transcends the military and could be used in any sector of society. Mr. Powell brings forth a story with lessons for both the young and old. Highly Recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book You Just Can't Put Down - Terrific!

    My family sent me a copy of General Powell's book when I was deployed to Kuwait between December 2004 and May 2005. From the first day, after getting off of my 12 hour shift from 8 pm-8 am I would read each page with great admiration and was very anxious to read what was next. There were many morning's after work knowing that I had another shift that same evening that found myself reading to 12 noon and had to make myself stop reading and to get some shut eye! Every free moment I had available I wanted to keep reading and wanted to finish reading. Before I knew it I had finished the book from cover to cover. I, too like General Powell retired from the service (Air Force). But I retired after 20 years of being an enlisted member. It would have been and maybe there still may be a chance for me to one day to meet and be in the presence of the great General Powell. It is with great honor and pride that I salute you, General Powell!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Awesome

    I found it very exciting. I'm glad I went to war while he was chief of staff. It proves you can live the American Dream!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    A New York hero

    General Powell's story is an amazing story of many fellow New Yorkers who went out in the world and made good of themselves. He is an amazing gentleman and it would be nice to see him run for president someday. He is highly capable at leadership and has already helped lead our country since Vietnam and the Nixon years. He is a great role model for young kids who want to make good and i admire his courage and forthrightness in saying what he believes. The general helped inspire me to complete graduate work at George Washington University. God Bless you Secretary Powell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    An Amazing Look into a Stoic Military Hero

    This books provides readers with historical information and a personal opinion. General Powell provides us with touching opinions on his life as military man and a family man. He gives us an incredible look behind the scenes of a system that 'civilians' are privy to. His book, although written a few years ago and based on his life for the past 50 or so years, provides us with chilling opinions that are so very applicable to our current military actions. I highly recommend this book to anyone curious about the military and/or Colin Powell. General Powell is not only one of the greatest military minds of our time, but his is an amazing human being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    HONARARY 5TH STAR FOR GENERAL/SECRETAR COLIN POWELL

    A kid from the Bronx. City College Graduate. A soldier in the United States Army. I truly enjoyed this book, I could barely stop reading it at times. Though I am in opposition of some of his positions on certain issues... he's a mans man, and a soldiers brother. I will be entering the Army in the Spring, and subsequently a career in politics after I am through helping to fight terror, my only regret is that the General is retired, so I won't get to serve under him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    cool book

    this book is full of good stories about the army and the life of one of the greatest generals in us army history.i have wanted to know why is he so famous,so i read the book and i read all his done for this country,serving in vietnam,and bieng a commanding officer in korea and making brigadier general at 42 at that time he was the youngest general in the army.even though i like the book.the chapters that involded the pentagon and all that where boring.overall the book is great for the exception of a couple of chapters.iam 14 so this book is good for any kid that wants to join the army.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Very good read.

    I like this book very much. It is illuminating to look back at some of the things that went on behind the scenes of the Reagan administration. Colin Powell is a very interesting man. Now I want to read about his life since the mid 90s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    AFTER THIS IS ALL PRIVATE BUNKS


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Great Read!

    Great book, great person and explains a lot of what is going on in the world today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Ok book pretty good

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3