Customer Reviews for

My Antonia

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good history read

Enjoyed this book as reading history of long ago reveals how life changes but really don't every hundred years. Love the people in this story.

posted by 10829884 on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great novel, even better as a 99-cent Nook book

You can read lots of reviews of this book. It is a beautiful novel about American life on the prairie in the late 1800's. The main characters are an American orphan boy living with his grandparents and am immigrant girl. The story follows them from aged 10 or so thru...
You can read lots of reviews of this book. It is a beautiful novel about American life on the prairie in the late 1800's. The main characters are an American orphan boy living with his grandparents and am immigrant girl. The story follows them from aged 10 or so thru middle age.

I'll make 1 comment about the 99-cent Nook book. It isn't indexed like a regular nook book, no hot-linked table-of-contents/chapters. No integrated dictionary. I didn't know that when I bought it. I would have bought it anyway. Barnes and Noble, keep the 99-cent books coming!

posted by 18248068 on January 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Great novel, even better as a 99-cent Nook book

    You can read lots of reviews of this book. It is a beautiful novel about American life on the prairie in the late 1800's. The main characters are an American orphan boy living with his grandparents and am immigrant girl. The story follows them from aged 10 or so thru middle age.

    I'll make 1 comment about the 99-cent Nook book. It isn't indexed like a regular nook book, no hot-linked table-of-contents/chapters. No integrated dictionary. I didn't know that when I bought it. I would have bought it anyway. Barnes and Noble, keep the 99-cent books coming!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good history read

    Enjoyed this book as reading history of long ago reveals how life changes but really don't every hundred years. Love the people in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Adventurous, exciting, & compelling!!!!!!

    My Antonia is very exquisite for those who enjoy history, adventures, and suspense. For young aged kids for example middle schoolers through high school is recommended. You won't be disappointed in the piece of literature! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Bleh

    I am 11 and have a reading level of a softmore in college. This book put me right to sleep. Unless you are looking for a bedtime story for a fussy toddler, stop here!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    My antonia

    When i was given this assignment for school, i was somwhat apprehensive because their is a beige blob on the cove, and dont get me wrong, i love beige, i just dont like reading about beige for 300 pages. But i figured, these people are professional educators, they must know what they are doing. About 20 pages into this book, i realized: no they are not professional educators, they are inflictory of child mental torture. This book has no story line, and the whole book is about( as probibly ptesumed by the cover) a girl named antonia. In a corn field. In Nabraska. Sounds interesting riight. I am literally warning you for your life.... DO NOT READ THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU ARE IN PRISON AND HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO DO OR KNOW FOR SURE THAT YOU ARE ABOUT TO DIE. Literally by the time i finished this book, blood was pooring out of my eyes. Remenber this, you have been warned. And if your teacher ever mentiong that you might read this book, run out of the classroom dcreaming before it is too late!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Beautiful characters, relationship, and history

    I vowed to read a few classics, and My Antonia crossed my path first. This book captures life for immigrant families on the prairies. The author excels in providing descriptive detail of the stunning scenery and complex true characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    A friend gave me this book and I read it. I thanked my friend m

    A friend gave me this book and I read it. I thanked my friend many times for gifting me with such a GREAT book, and Cather's other books are just as good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Wondeful story

    Good read ... in it's simplicty it tells a great story of growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    An American classic by a marvelous writer!

    When Willa Cather writes about the immigrants who came to America and settled on the plains of Nebraska, the reader gains an understanding of the history, the hardships and the endurance of these courageous men and women. My Antonia is a classic that endures because of its characters, the excellent writing, and the lessons we can learn of the history of this great country. I waited decades before I picked up this book and I am sorry I waited so long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a pleasant read

    This was a pleasant read, nice to put yourselves in the farm life of the past in the midwest. Didn't love it, but for the price, it was worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    City Gurl Loves This Country Love Story

    I live in NYC and realting my personal experineces to this book was hard. But the one thing that I felt and that the rest of the world can feel is the beauty of the love story. Even though I have never been out side of NYC this book takes my mind body and soul far west. A book you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    A splendid novel

    One summer, one of summer reading books was My Antonia. I waited until the last minute to do it. I had to order it on cassette in order to finish it. I got it and finished it in about a week. It helped me finish it a lot faster, although I didn't like the way I couldn't play it on my normal cassette player. I had to go out and buy a cassette player with ''balance control.'' I also didn't like the way it had a ''B'' side and I got lost several times and it took me a while to find my place. In the end, I was glad I bought it, enjoyed the book, and it helped me immensely. And one more thing. Why do books on cassette cost so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    A Simple Story

    This book was a very quick and easy read but it was enjoyable. It doesn't have a lot of action but it eloquently depicts the way life and love really are. The ending surprised me but I think I liked the book all the more for it. This is a very simple story without a lot of fireworks but it will make you think about all of the truths captured in the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    My Antonia as a Classroom Reading

    For a class of high school juniors this book was not rated with an outstanding recomendation. The teens had a hard time keeping interest and reading on was more of a 'required assignment' then a 'I can't wait to see what happens next'. The teens that read this book in my class enjoyed the story line but had a hard time reading because there was nothing that they could relate to. This book would be excilent for adults who can appreciate the work that Willa Cather has done. I have heard nothing but good remarks from the adult world. However I would advise teachers to pick something that would be of more interest to high school aged people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    uhhhh

    I found the entire story droll and uninteresting. It never was able to capture my interest. I storngly recommend people to stay away from this book at all cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    A Strikingly Simple Story

    I loved this book. It wasn't a formulated, by the rules type of romance. It was just beautiful. If you're the type of person who likes lots of adventure and torid romance, it's not for you. However, you enjoy reading about true love and spirit, it's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    Classic Frontier Story

    The characters in the novel are described in great detail; their personalities were fashioned such a way that the reader receives a true sense of each character. The book was published at a time when women characters were expected to find happiness only in love or marriage. 'My Antonia' gives us a forceful heroine who is independent and strong of mind and body. The use of plot, characters, setting, and perspective open readers eyes to a period in time that most people today can¿t imagine. The novel invites readers to feel the pain, hardships, joy, and satisfaction of the frontier characters. In 'My Antonia,' Cather successfully develops believable characters and an intriguing story of prairie life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2