Customer Reviews for

My Beef with Meat: The Healthiest Argument for Eating a Plant-Strong Diet--Plus 140 New Engine 2 Recipes

Average Rating 5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I just got this book yesterday and read through most of it last

I just got this book yesterday and read through most of it last night! The other reviewer clearly has not read the book! It is packed with great information about eating vegan or plant-strong as Rip calls it. I love the shorter chapters, gets to the point!!! Also the re...
I just got this book yesterday and read through most of it last night! The other reviewer clearly has not read the book! It is packed with great information about eating vegan or plant-strong as Rip calls it. I love the shorter chapters, gets to the point!!! Also the recipes! They all look divine, and the pictures are a nice addition. I highly recommend people read the book and ignore the beef lovers! - Shelly T.  

posted by ShellyinNY on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

The idea of eating only plant based foods is flawed. The only w

The idea of eating only plant based foods is flawed. The only way to get real high quality protein is from animal products. The health problems associated with eating meat occur only when we eat TOO MUCH meat. But eating small servings of lean meat about 4 or 5 times...
The idea of eating only plant based foods is flawed. The only way to get real high quality protein is from animal products. The health problems associated with eating meat occur only when we eat TOO MUCH meat. But eating small servings of lean meat about 4 or 5 times a week is beneficial. Moreover, human teeth are shown to be the teeth of omnivores. Also, our closest relatives, the chimpanzee, eats meat, though in small quantities.
The problem with the typical American diet is that meat is shown as the centerpiece of each meal, when it should actually fill only a small portion of your plate. But cutting meat out altogether is a mistake. It is very difficult to get a full day's nutrition just from plant based food.

posted by arcdude on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I just got this book yesterday and read through most of it last

    I just got this book yesterday and read through most of it last night! The other reviewer clearly has not read the book! It is packed with great information about eating vegan or plant-strong as Rip calls it. I love the shorter chapters, gets to the point!!! Also the recipes! They all look divine, and the pictures are a nice addition. I highly recommend people read the book and ignore the beef lovers! - Shelly T.  

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I've been on paleo for 1 year, I lost weight, but my cholesterol

    I've been on paleo for 1 year, I lost weight, but my cholesterol is now sky high, and my blood pressure. My Dr. told me that paleo was dangerous and I should look at going on a plant-based diet, and that was closer to what my ancestors ate anyway. I listened to Rip's interview and he was asked about Paleo, he said it was a great first step, but if you want to go a step further, to go plant-based. So that is what I'm doing! I am on chapter 7 and I'm already convinced. I've also made 3 recipes so far: waffles (this morning) and then a chili and I have cookies cooling as a write this. The recipes look good, easy and very yum! 
    I will update my review when I'm done reading the book! Mike 

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Rip has written a very informative, well researched book. The m

    Rip has written a very informative, well researched book. The main difference that I saw in this book, when comparing to other health books, is that Rip incorporates comedy into the writing. This keeps you reading, holds your attention, and brings you back to the book. It is one of the few health books that I have read in a couple days. Not only did I learn a tremendous amount of information, but I had a blast learning!

    A note regarding his dietary suggestions... I started this plan three weeks ago and will NEVER go back to the way I ate before. Previously, I ate a rather sensible diet (or so I thought). I never ate fast food (I just didn't like it), I ate very little meat, mostly poultry and lean beef, and did not drink sodas or eat junk food snacks. I decided to try his plan because I have undiagnosed problems that have been going on for nearly 14 years as well as high blood pressure that started when I was 20. Since starting this diet, my blood pressure has come down to normal ranges and it has only been 3 weeks! I was told I would never get off of medication... yet here I am! I feel better than I have in ages and can't wait to see how I feel in another month.

    Thank you, Rip, for sharing your knowledge with us and to your Dad for being the amazing doctor he is that went a natural route! You both have changed my life.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Let's face it, no one ever likes to be told that what they are d

    Let's face it, no one ever likes to be told that what they are doing isn't good for them. Ever tell a smoker they should quit? If so, I am sure you got the evil eye.

    I can see where if you never considered going plant based that upon your first reading you may be a skeptic. BUT... I will tell you, have an open mind! I have been plant based for 2 years and my cholesterol dropped over 50 points! It's been a year since I was tested and I bet it is even lower now.

    Anyway, here is what I like about Rip's book (and no, I don't know the guy but he writes in a manner where you feel like he is one of your buddies:)

    - He gives you LOTS of information with just enough facts not to overwhelm you.
    - He provides examples of real life people
    - He provides recipes that taste great, mirroring dishes in the American menu without using processed junk and they taste great!
    - The recipes are easy to follow and don't require any crazy exotic ingredients
    - He let his wife write a chapter about women's health! Love that... and yes, since going all plants, not only is my libido higher but my enjoyment is much more intense! Whoo hoo!!!
    - He brushes briefly upon some other side effects of going plant strong- helping the environment and feeling a strong connection with nature (which in my opinion, gives you a much stronger connection spiritually!)

    This is a great book for the beginner or for anyone who already has given up animal products.

    Oh, by the way, to the naysayers... I recommend reading The China Study to see how our bodies actually synthesize plant protein which will make complete sense on why spinach is higher in protein than beef or any other animal product.

    Keep up the great work Rip! Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart! :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I have been Plant Strong for one year thanks to Rip.... I have l

    I have been Plant Strong for one year thanks to Rip.... I have lost 50+ pounds and am now at my exact Ideal Weight. I am off all medications including ones for cholesterol and high blood pressure. Rip dispels all myths people have about eating a Whole Food Plant Based diet. Everyone I know who has adopted this healthy lifestyle is so happy about finding out about WFPB eating.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I read the book in ONE night. I've been following this guy on fa

    I read the book in ONE night. I've been following this guy on facebook for about a year, and totally did a 180 on my diet, just from the facebook posts and resources on Engine 2. When I heard about the new book, I decided to wait for it rather than get the first book. This answers every question anyone might ever have about plant-based eating from why to how! It was an easy read, but very informative and easier to read than some other things I've seen. So far I've made 4 recipes, LOL Oat Loaf, Cashew cream, Split-Pea Burgers and banana oatmeal peanutbutter cookies. All have been a hit so far in my house, even my picky 3 year old loved all of them so far, and he won't touch vegetables. I'm very thankful to Rip and what he is doing!  Mary from St.Petersburg, FL 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Rip's newest book is excellent. I've been plant based for over t

    Rip's newest book is excellent. I've been plant based for over three years and know first hand the
    health benefits of not eating meat, dairy and eggs.

    His latest book gives great information whether you are already eating this way, just starting out on
    this journey or thinking about going plant based. Rip puts it in simple terms and provides the proof
    and information to back up the claims that a whole foods plant based diet can improve your health
    and help reverse and prevent many diseases.

    In addition...the recipes are amazing and delicious.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    I've been doing this for over a year...and I have NEVER been hea

    I've been doing this for over a year...and I have NEVER been healthier. I cut out all meat, dairy and other sources of animal proteins and it has made a world of difference. No more diabetic issues, weight loss has steadily occured AND my skin, hair and muscles are all thanking me a thousand times over for this. Oh, and arcdude: You have ZERO clue what you are talking about. My doctor is also a vegan triathlete and has been for years. He is ridiculously healthy and he turned me towards this program and Barnard's Program for Reversing Diabetes - both of which follow exactly this path and both of which saved my life. Get a clue, arcdude. Wash your brain out of all the "good protein=meat" propaganda.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    The idea of eating only plant based foods is flawed. The only w

    The idea of eating only plant based foods is flawed. The only way to get real high quality protein is from animal products. The health problems associated with eating meat occur only when we eat TOO MUCH meat. But eating small servings of lean meat about 4 or 5 times a week is beneficial. Moreover, human teeth are shown to be the teeth of omnivores. Also, our closest relatives, the chimpanzee, eats meat, though in small quantities.
    The problem with the typical American diet is that meat is shown as the centerpiece of each meal, when it should actually fill only a small portion of your plate. But cutting meat out altogether is a mistake. It is very difficult to get a full day's nutrition just from plant based food.

    4 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Great book. I wish that this had been in the first book, Engine

    Great book. I wish that this had been in the first book, Engine 2 Diet. It answers and helps crush myths about eating Plant Strong. With Rip's help, I've been able to lower my cholesterol medication and then go completely off of it. Eating Plant Strong works. I'm lean, healthier than ever, and can run marathons and recover quickly. Engine 2 made a huge difference in my health life and this one is making a huge difference in how I'm able to talk about it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    In 2009 my doctor advised me to follow a plant strong regime. I

    In 2009 my doctor advised me to follow a plant strong regime. I thought I was destined to a life of nasty tasting veggie burgers and white pasta. Buying Engine 2 Diet changed my life and introduced me to a whole world of responsible plant strong doctors and a very active community. This book is a logical follow-on and perfect at this time, to provide great information and another great group of recipes. It's good for my health (off blood pressure meds for 4 years), great for my weight (no more dieting!), and tastes wonderful. The fact that it's good for the environment and cheap is good too. Thanks for another great book, Rip!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Agree with previous reviewer about the grass fed beef! I hate th

    Agree with previous reviewer about the grass fed beef! I hate that myth and I'm glad Mr. Esselstyn addresses it. I am almost done with the book, yesterday I took my nook to the grocery store and loaded up on groceries, I made the Adonis Chocolate cake (DELICIOUS!) I also made Bad to the Bone chili in the crock and it is the best chili I've ever tasted! This weekend I plan to make a lot more. Thankful to Mr. Esselstyn and his family as well as the great recipes he put in the book. I highly recommend the book. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    ^ false. Just do a little research, ONE google search and you wi

    ^ false. Just do a little research, ONE google search and you will find out Americans actually get an exess of protein every day. Which is hazardous to your health. 
    Plant based diets provide plenty of the daily needed protein. You can keep living 
    In denial but the facts are out there , I've been hearing the same (your) argument for so long now and it's just pure ignorance. 
    I doubt arcdude will ever go to a plant based diet , but don't go spreading rumors, saying things as if you know they are facts , are you a doctor ? (Ask me that 
    Question ) have you ever tried both diets , one meat , one without meat ? (Ask me the same question) after 10 years which one has been healthiest ? (Ask me the same Question) It's fine if you don't want to stop eating at tgi Fridays Every weekend , but don't make others suffer. 

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book.  My whole family and I are going PLANT STRONG

    I LOVED this book.  My whole family and I are going PLANT STRONG!  If you have a chance you should watch the DVD's for both Engine 2 and Forks over Knives.  Both excellent documentaries with unbelievable
    evidence and it is scary what is being hidden from the general public.  My husband has always been a meat and potatoes type of guy, but after reading the books and seeing the documentaries, we have totally changed our 
    way of eating.  We cleaned out everything in our home that was unhealthy and went right into eating a whole food plant based diet.  Recipes are really good, we made the Mushroom stroganoff last night and it was AMAZING!  Thanks to Rip and all the great information he provided, it has changed our lives and we will never look back.  Definitely BUY this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great book

    I went plant strong 6 months ago with the help of engine 2 and forks over knives. I love this new book! It helps me explain my position to meat eaters I encounter. Thank you for another great reason to be plant strong!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Finally a book that cuts through the confusion of WHAT SHOULD I

    Finally a book that cuts through the confusion of WHAT SHOULD I EAT with actual scientific evidence! The recipes are amazing too! Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    New to this Plant Strong Lifestyle, but after husband had a hear

    New to this Plant Strong Lifestyle, but after husband had a heart attach - we need to change our diet. The book was an easy read, with lots of recommendations for further reading and pointing toward the many scientific studies to back up the information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    People can get as much protein from plants as large, plant eatin

    People can get as much protein from plants as large, plant eating animals do. Eating animals needlessly strips them of dignity. Many people would stop eating meat if they had to kill it themselves. Thank you for your books, they help me stick to my plant strong resolutions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This book is great!! I highly recommend it. If I can change th

    This book is great!! I highly recommend it. If I can change the way I have been eating at the age of 55 anyone can!!! I've been plant strong for 4 months and have never felt better. The recipes are great, I made the sweet potato lasagna as one of the dishes at Easter and everyone loved it. I loved the first book and so happy the second one is finally out. The book is easy to read, right to the point. I wish everyone would read it. I'm an RN and I see first hand everyday what the effects of our diet does to people and wish I could give this book to all the patients. Seems so simple, changing the way we eat is not so hard when you look at the options. Thanks for this book!!! Love it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This is a fantastic book!!! it's full of easy to understand info

    This is a fantastic book!!! it's full of easy to understand information about eating a plant-based diet. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to be healthy and cut your risk of cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and stroke.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2