Customer Reviews for

My Beloved

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Good

    The story was really good and both hero and heroine amazing. The story however felt slow moving at the first of the book. Unlike some books that are full of action from the first page to the last, this story builds up on the love and romance and even action. You read how two people fall in love and how they cherish and try to protect it. It was a good read. I wish she would have wrote a book about Jerard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Touching

    This is the first story of hers I have read, and it did suprise me at how touching it was. I wanted to cry during parts of the book. Will be buying more of hers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is undoubtedly one of the best romance novels I've ever read. Talk about a book with heart. I sat with TEARS in my eyes through many parts. The words and descriptions came through the chambers of the author's heart. Powerful, powerful, powerful. I had cold chills. Do not miss this read. ...my first Karen Ranney but not my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    A really beautiful and historical love story...

    This is the 2nd novel by Karen Ranney that I¿ve read this past year. I read ¿Till Next We Meet¿ (very good) and now ¿My Beloved¿. She is a new author for me and so far, a pleasure to have found! I liked how we met Sebastian in the prison and then his life after as a dark, brooding and secretive monk back at his flourishing castle, estate and city holdings. He seemed dark, mysterious and fascinating. I liked how we met Juliana at the convent with the religious sisters and her life as a child bride never claimed by her groom. Sebastian finally claimed his wife by sending for her and making a pact with her after he left the holy wars and prison. I enjoyed and was drawn in by all the secrets that Sebastian withheld ¿ the mystery of who and what he was all about was genuinely interesting. Especially since you found out later in the book that he was a complete man but, his situation made him view the world from afar for their sake more than his. I was moved by his genuine emotion, tenderness, contained passion and intense sadness. He was a great warrior at one time - now ¿ a man in hiding. He was a beautiful hero ¿ not in just face, eyes and forms but, in his heart and soul. I liked how Juliana developed from a spirited child, then to a reserved religious woman and then back again to a woman who fought for those she loved. She learned to take chances that few of us would do but, she did it because loved demanded she ask and receive more. Her dedication to reading, writing and copying scripts was a great development for this character. She was vibrant and giving and warm ¿ especially as she came to understand herself and life at a greater level. My favorite parts of the book were the secret fascinations each held for the other ¿ Sebastian for Juliana and Juliana for Sebastian. Could any two people as close as tied in matrimony be any further apart than these too? . Their longing was tangible, their desires tormenting, their need for the other apparent yet¿the distance remained due to Sebastian¿s commands that they do. Was he a monk? Was he a holy celibate and sworn to the God and not the pleasures of the flesh? Why was he in denial? The bathing scene was perfect ¿ desires raging out of control but, nothing can be done with them! They could not be together physically. But¿they could be together mentally and Juliana made sure they did that through conversations, disclosures of life events and daily and nightly contact. Language became their bridge ¿ their connection to the other. They then felt emotional for the other, then physical at the end of the book when they could and then¿ah the ultimate, connected by the spirit. The full circle of love. The secondary story line of the Templars and the crusades, the missing treasure of Cathar and Sebastian¿s hidden secret, the miracle at the end are all critical elements to this story. This author is really gifted when it comes to writing emotions you¿ll be drawn in and not want to leave Langlinais Castle in England and leave behind Sebastian, Juliana, Jared and everyone else. This is a winner, guaranteed. You will add this to your ¿best of the best¿ list. Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Boring

    I didn't finish and I don't know if I will be able to finish, because I already red 92 pages and nothing happens different, it is the same thing in the beginning until now, it is boring. It is still boring, I am in the pg 177 now and having difficult to finnish this one, I am considering to put it down, I can not understand the others reviewers opinion.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Spiritual Love Story

    This is a book that touches your heart, not your loins! There is truly beauty in the way Sebastian watches her and falls in love. This story is what love is about. First loving who the person is, and worrying about all that other stuff later. Read this if you want to read about love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    An extraordinary achievement

    Ranney's masterpiece transports the reader back to the thirteenth century with electrifiying ease. The gripping, forbidden love scenes, between Sebastian and Julianna, will hold the reader spellbound with a heavy heart. Caution, set aside your time, for once you begin your journey, you will not put down this mesmerizing book. A must for your "desert island" keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1