BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Beloved World

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model fo...
My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!

posted by cp10 on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition Whenever

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with th...
My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with the Justice’s diagnosis of juvenile diabetes at age 7 - “not yet 8” - and how Sonia learns how to give her insulin shots to stop her parents from fighting about it. We see a little girl who lives in the the projects of the Bronx, raised by an alcoholic father - Juan Luis or Juli - and a nurse - Celina - who are constantly fighting. Her father dies soon after the beginning of the book, and we see Sonia raised in an extended family which includes her grandmother - abuelita Mercedes - and lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Sonia’s best friends are her immediate family and her comfort and support are drawn from it.

I found this part of the book to be quite endearing - a la Junot Díaz way - with multiple use of Spanish words and phrases to remind the reader of the Justice’s background and culture. However as we move past Cardinal Spellman High School and on to Princeton and Yale Law School, the book changes in tone. The Spanish words and phrases diminish in frequency, and the reader is presented with the more professional side of the Justice.

This second half of the book I found tedious and boring. It becomes more of a who’s who in the Justice personal life. The Justice apologizes in her introduction: “If particular friends or family members find themselves not mentioned...I hope they will understand that the needs of a clear and focused telling must outweigh even an abundance of feeling.” It almost felt that if you were famous and she knew you, she would drop his or her name to add flare to the narrative. i didn’t like it - I felt it drew flare away from her....

I also wondered why the Justice found herself defending her admissions to Princeton and Yale Law School. Her constant defense and justification of minority quotas and her insecurities as to why she was admitted to both schools are not necessary; after all, she’s a Justice of the Supreme Court - case closed!

Her work as assistant D. A. in New York, the cases she tried, and then her take at the Pavia and Hartcourt law firm, and finally her appointment to the District Court Judge for the South District of NY - where the book abruptly ends - are not as fun to read. And, yes, I was disappointed that the Justice did not include her story as to how she was appointed to the Supreme Court. As much as I admire and like the Judge, I think it would have made a much better read, given who she is, and why we’re reading her story.

The book is very well edited; the narrative is from the first person universal point if view; which is what I would expect in any a biography. After all, we’re seeing the world through Sonia Sotomayor’s point of view. The Glossary is a nice feature.

In all, I would recommend the book to anyone who. like me, admires the Judge.

posted by carlosmock on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a

    My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition Whenever

    My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

    Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

    The book opens with the Justice’s diagnosis of juvenile diabetes at age 7 - “not yet 8” - and how Sonia learns how to give her insulin shots to stop her parents from fighting about it. We see a little girl who lives in the the projects of the Bronx, raised by an alcoholic father - Juan Luis or Juli - and a nurse - Celina - who are constantly fighting. Her father dies soon after the beginning of the book, and we see Sonia raised in an extended family which includes her grandmother - abuelita Mercedes - and lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Sonia’s best friends are her immediate family and her comfort and support are drawn from it.

    I found this part of the book to be quite endearing - a la Junot Díaz way - with multiple use of Spanish words and phrases to remind the reader of the Justice’s background and culture. However as we move past Cardinal Spellman High School and on to Princeton and Yale Law School, the book changes in tone. The Spanish words and phrases diminish in frequency, and the reader is presented with the more professional side of the Justice.

    This second half of the book I found tedious and boring. It becomes more of a who’s who in the Justice personal life. The Justice apologizes in her introduction: “If particular friends or family members find themselves not mentioned...I hope they will understand that the needs of a clear and focused telling must outweigh even an abundance of feeling.” It almost felt that if you were famous and she knew you, she would drop his or her name to add flare to the narrative. i didn’t like it - I felt it drew flare away from her....

    I also wondered why the Justice found herself defending her admissions to Princeton and Yale Law School. Her constant defense and justification of minority quotas and her insecurities as to why she was admitted to both schools are not necessary; after all, she’s a Justice of the Supreme Court - case closed!

    Her work as assistant D. A. in New York, the cases she tried, and then her take at the Pavia and Hartcourt law firm, and finally her appointment to the District Court Judge for the South District of NY - where the book abruptly ends - are not as fun to read. And, yes, I was disappointed that the Justice did not include her story as to how she was appointed to the Supreme Court. As much as I admire and like the Judge, I think it would have made a much better read, given who she is, and why we’re reading her story.

    The book is very well edited; the narrative is from the first person universal point if view; which is what I would expect in any a biography. After all, we’re seeing the world through Sonia Sotomayor’s point of view. The Glossary is a nice feature.

    In all, I would recommend the book to anyone who. like me, admires the Judge.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Dry and predictable ......

    Dry and predictable ......

    10 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Sorry I wasted my money. I knew Sonia Sotomayor as a teenager at

    Sorry I wasted my money. I knew Sonia Sotomayor as a teenager at Cardinal Spellman High. I resent the innuendo of racism. She neglects to mention that she was a scholarship student.


    9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Sonia Sotomayor has guts to tell her story. Her parents had diff

    Sonia Sotomayor has guts to tell her story. Her parents had difficulties that affected her. I thought, how did Sonia make it with an alcoholic dad and a depressed mom? I realized her grandma and extended family gave her enough love to make Sonia not question her own worth as a human being. So if you take away only one thing, please let it be that we should always be a source of inspiration for kids who may not have it easy. You just don't know where kindness toward a child can lead! What a beautiful story Sonia has given us.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Don't waste your time on reading this bore.

    Don't waste your time on reading this bore.

    9 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is turly inspirational, and in so many ways I can relate. I give her props.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great Book. I can say enough good things about this lady. Storie

    Great Book. I can say enough good things about this lady. Stories like hers are truly inspirational. Is very sad that a couple of reviews are not about the book and focus only in their personal politic preferences.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Never would I buy this. She was never qualified.

    Never would I buy this. She was never qualified.

    6 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amazing, interesting, and extremely inspirational!

    Amazing, interesting, and extremely inspirational!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I  adore you mrs. Sotomayor.May God bless you in your new task.

    I  adore you mrs. Sotomayor.May God bless you in your new task.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I am the first reveiw

    This book was on the news

    4 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I wished several times while reading this book I could relay my

    I wished several times while reading this book I could relay my gratitude to Justice Sonia Sotomayor for 
    this moving, beautifully written memoir.  I felt I was walking that mile in her shoes in her ever-mindful 
    journey.  She talks about her life with astonishing candor.  Filled with pearls of wisdom, this book 
    captivated me from beginning to end.  It's a real treasure.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Must read true story of perseverance, dedication and strength!

    Sonia Sotomayor's story is an uplifting study in perseverance and strength. Losing herv father at a young age she raised herself literally by her bootstraps from a life of poverty and disadvantages in a crime-ridden neighborhood of New York to become a Justice on the Supreme Court of the United States. How does a poor girl with marginal English perfect her skills in a public high school to get a full ride scholarship to Princeton and then Yale? A brilliant, powerfully intelligent and a supportive family alone made it possible. Sonia is one person I'd most like my children to meet. Once you read her book you'll understand why.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Normally, ghosted political bios are, at best, partisan pieces o

    Normally, ghosted political bios are, at best, partisan pieces of propaganda. In this instance however hagiography is far the most appropriate term. This dogmatic panegyric of an avowed racist and secessionist hearkens to the "glorious peoples' histories" in Soviet primary schools with every predictable, hackneyed plot point and resolution far more than to any honest, revealing portrait of the Patron Saint of the Entitlement Double Standard.
    In the end, the very presence of this dreck says volumes about the pervasiveness of "progressive social engineering" and its stalinzation of fact and history through manipulation of language and perception. If this IS read, it is a wise idea to follow it with Orwell's "Politics and the English Language," a good palate cleanser to wash away the cloying contrivance and mendacity with which this tome fairly reeks.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Another LIBERAL on the Supreme Court. Goodbye Constitution, good

    Another LIBERAL on the Supreme Court. Goodbye Constitution, goodbye US of A. Boring book.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    It's the story of a determined wise Latina woman who made it fro

    It's the story of a determined wise Latina woman who made it from the Bronx all the way to the bench of the SCOTUS.

    Well worth reading for the inspiration Justice Sotomayor provides.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Culture, personal challenges and steadfast integrity

    Well written book, provides an intimate view of family and personal challenges with earned perseverence.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Interesting

    It's quick read with numerous personal anecdotes that Her Honor has added. Understandably, she has conquered many demons, health related and otherwise. In today's world it is hard enough to find one's own way and she has accomplished a great deal. I would have liked a bit more warmth and more anecdotes, and I would love to know more about her mentors, too. All in all, a quick read and informative, I'd say.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Sonia Sotomayor's book captured me from the first page. I was in

    Sonia Sotomayor's book captured me from the first page. I was inspired by this woman the challenges she faced in her life. Best of all, I was inspired by her knowledge that she had to take PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY for her life, her choices and the paths she would pursue in life. She surely faced many events in her upbringing that could have been used as excuses; however, she did not of that and forged on. I admit the first half of the book, which focused on her young life and early times at college kept my interest; however, I started to fade as she delved into her career as an attorney and judge. This is still a very inspiring book and I was proud to be able have a glimpse into this woman's life. I am always up for reading about inspirational women!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6