Customer Reviews for

My Beloved World

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model fo...
My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!

posted by cp10 on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition Whenever

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with th...
My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with the Justice’s diagnosis of juvenile diabetes at age 7 - “not yet 8” - and how Sonia learns how to give her insulin shots to stop her parents from fighting about it. We see a little girl who lives in the the projects of the Bronx, raised by an alcoholic father - Juan Luis or Juli - and a nurse - Celina - who are constantly fighting. Her father dies soon after the beginning of the book, and we see Sonia raised in an extended family which includes her grandmother - abuelita Mercedes - and lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Sonia’s best friends are her immediate family and her comfort and support are drawn from it.

I found this part of the book to be quite endearing - a la Junot Díaz way - with multiple use of Spanish words and phrases to remind the reader of the Justice’s background and culture. However as we move past Cardinal Spellman High School and on to Princeton and Yale Law School, the book changes in tone. The Spanish words and phrases diminish in frequency, and the reader is presented with the more professional side of the Justice.

This second half of the book I found tedious and boring. It becomes more of a who’s who in the Justice personal life. The Justice apologizes in her introduction: “If particular friends or family members find themselves not mentioned...I hope they will understand that the needs of a clear and focused telling must outweigh even an abundance of feeling.” It almost felt that if you were famous and she knew you, she would drop his or her name to add flare to the narrative. i didn’t like it - I felt it drew flare away from her....

I also wondered why the Justice found herself defending her admissions to Princeton and Yale Law School. Her constant defense and justification of minority quotas and her insecurities as to why she was admitted to both schools are not necessary; after all, she’s a Justice of the Supreme Court - case closed!

Her work as assistant D. A. in New York, the cases she tried, and then her take at the Pavia and Hartcourt law firm, and finally her appointment to the District Court Judge for the South District of NY - where the book abruptly ends - are not as fun to read. And, yes, I was disappointed that the Justice did not include her story as to how she was appointed to the Supreme Court. As much as I admire and like the Judge, I think it would have made a much better read, given who she is, and why we’re reading her story.

The book is very well edited; the narrative is from the first person universal point if view; which is what I would expect in any a biography. After all, we’re seeing the world through Sonia Sotomayor’s point of view. The Glossary is a nice feature.

In all, I would recommend the book to anyone who. like me, admires the Judge.

posted by carlosmock on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    It's the story of a determined wise Latina woman who made it fro

    It's the story of a determined wise Latina woman who made it from the Bronx all the way to the bench of the SCOTUS.

    Well worth reading for the inspiration Justice Sotomayor provides.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Culture, personal challenges and steadfast integrity

    Well written book, provides an intimate view of family and personal challenges with earned perseverence.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Sonia Sotomayor had a difficult childhood, but has shown that pe

    Sonia Sotomayor had a difficult childhood, but has shown that persistance and perseverance will enable you to reach your goals. How did a child overcome the influences for a Bronx housing project, an alcoholic father, and juvenile diabetes rise to be a prestigious lawyer? In her new book, Justice Sotomayor lets her readers get a real look at what made her the person she is today.




    Sonia grew up in a home with a big extended family. Her father was an alcoholic who died before she was nine, and her mother was a nurse. Growing up was hard in the projects - good role models can be so very hard to find. But Sonia was determined, and with the love of her extended family, she made the most of the opportunities given her. In the end, she was able to fulfil her dream of becoming a lawyer and making a better life for herself and her family. While the book does not discuss her selection, or work, as a Suipreme Court Justice, it does give the reader insight into the strength of character and conviction that have made her what she is today.




    Whether you agree or disagree with Justice Sotomayor's political opinions, this book is a good read. It is inspiring to read about hard work and perseverance paying off. The book begins with a little girl (age seven) having to tell her parents to teach her how to take care of needles and give herself a shot, and ends with her law career. In between is a life with many problems and bumps along the way. This book is good for individual readers, as well as a good choice for book groups. The information at the back of the book helps the reader understand the Puerto Rican Spanish used through out the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Keeps us a arm's length

    This book was enjoyable as an insight into an amazing life and a leader that has done all of America proud. The book is DISsatisfying in that it definitely keeps the reader at arm's length. At times in her life when emotion had to be strong, she describes her feelings with detachment that diminishes the bond with the reader. Her reports are so cool and level-headed as to seem unreal. Early in the book, she states her determination not to compromise her objectivity and neutrality as a justice--both of which are laudable and appropriate; and her writing style was very "lawyerly". I enjoyed this book and getting to know her a little, but I missed the emotional resonance that her story surely could have had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    Always uplifting to read a success story, despite early difficul

    Always uplifting to read a success story, despite early difficulties of health, environment, and family issues.  But Sonia determined early on that her own self determination and self sufficiency within her family was her best approach.  Inspiring story of overcoming obstacles and reaching for success.  It should be required reading in schools.  Inspirational and delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    I really enjoyed reading her autobiography. One wonders how some

    I really enjoyed reading her autobiography. One wonders how some people under similar circumstances and personal characteristics rise above while others don't. Her intelligence, tenacity and family bonds may have been factors for her achievements. But they could also have been her downfall and yet weren't. Never underestimate the importance of education. I recommend this book and I feel many people will relate to her experiences of being an immigrant and trying to hang on to part of that culture that still defines you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very readable. It touched my heart. Many lessons about discrimination subtle & not so subtle. I admire Sonia for her tenacity & courage to follow her dream. RuthMH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An inspriring read.  A friend of mine said Sonia Sotomayor's str

    An inspriring read.  A friend of mine said Sonia Sotomayor's struggles mirrored those he grew up with, in a family of Puerto Ricans living in New York City.  I appreciated the reading about the good times and the bad because it made more human the life of this Supreme Court judge.  The impact of her family ties cannot be overlooked.  Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Interesting Reading

    This book is mostly interesting, but there were several chapters that she could have left out as I found them quite boring. That being said, I still recommend this autobiography as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Belovedly written

    A stunning recount of a life well lived!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This was a great read. She uses a lot of Spanish phrases in it that I didn't always understand but I really enjoyed reading of her road to the pinacles of the judicial system. It was well written and compelling. If you love bios like I do, you will enjoy this immensely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Enjoyed learning about her early years.

    Always interesting to find out the makeup of a person. A positive story of becoming a successful leader in the United States.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A New York City Powerhouse Story!!!

    I found so much to identify with here it surprised me. A female Puerto Rican form the South Bronx? I cried when her Papi passed. I smiled when she talked of her Abuelita. I laughed when she described her childhood antics. I cheered for her as she grew out of the Bronx into Princeton, Yale. Her amazing Mom. Her driving adventures. Her marriage. Her success as an assistant district attorney. Her first judge position. The Supreme Court. I totally LOVE this woman!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great opening chapters regarding her youthful struggles similar

    Great opening chapters regarding her youthful struggles similar to those in underdog book, BIPOLAR BUFFALO.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2