Customer Reviews for

My Beloved World

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a

My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model fo...
My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!

posted by cp10 on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition Whenever

My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with th...
My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition

Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person.

The book opens with the Justice’s diagnosis of juvenile diabetes at age 7 - “not yet 8” - and how Sonia learns how to give her insulin shots to stop her parents from fighting about it. We see a little girl who lives in the the projects of the Bronx, raised by an alcoholic father - Juan Luis or Juli - and a nurse - Celina - who are constantly fighting. Her father dies soon after the beginning of the book, and we see Sonia raised in an extended family which includes her grandmother - abuelita Mercedes - and lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Sonia’s best friends are her immediate family and her comfort and support are drawn from it.

I found this part of the book to be quite endearing - a la Junot Díaz way - with multiple use of Spanish words and phrases to remind the reader of the Justice’s background and culture. However as we move past Cardinal Spellman High School and on to Princeton and Yale Law School, the book changes in tone. The Spanish words and phrases diminish in frequency, and the reader is presented with the more professional side of the Justice.

This second half of the book I found tedious and boring. It becomes more of a who’s who in the Justice personal life. The Justice apologizes in her introduction: “If particular friends or family members find themselves not mentioned...I hope they will understand that the needs of a clear and focused telling must outweigh even an abundance of feeling.” It almost felt that if you were famous and she knew you, she would drop his or her name to add flare to the narrative. i didn’t like it - I felt it drew flare away from her....

I also wondered why the Justice found herself defending her admissions to Princeton and Yale Law School. Her constant defense and justification of minority quotas and her insecurities as to why she was admitted to both schools are not necessary; after all, she’s a Justice of the Supreme Court - case closed!

Her work as assistant D. A. in New York, the cases she tried, and then her take at the Pavia and Hartcourt law firm, and finally her appointment to the District Court Judge for the South District of NY - where the book abruptly ends - are not as fun to read. And, yes, I was disappointed that the Justice did not include her story as to how she was appointed to the Supreme Court. As much as I admire and like the Judge, I think it would have made a much better read, given who she is, and why we’re reading her story.

The book is very well edited; the narrative is from the first person universal point if view; which is what I would expect in any a biography. After all, we’re seeing the world through Sonia Sotomayor’s point of view. The Glossary is a nice feature.

In all, I would recommend the book to anyone who. like me, admires the Judge.

posted by carlosmock on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a

    My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Sonia Sotomayor has guts to tell her story. Her parents had diff

    Sonia Sotomayor has guts to tell her story. Her parents had difficulties that affected her. I thought, how did Sonia make it with an alcoholic dad and a depressed mom? I realized her grandma and extended family gave her enough love to make Sonia not question her own worth as a human being. So if you take away only one thing, please let it be that we should always be a source of inspiration for kids who may not have it easy. You just don't know where kindness toward a child can lead! What a beautiful story Sonia has given us.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is turly inspirational, and in so many ways I can relate. I give her props.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great Book. I can say enough good things about this lady. Storie

    Great Book. I can say enough good things about this lady. Stories like hers are truly inspirational. Is very sad that a couple of reviews are not about the book and focus only in their personal politic preferences.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amazing, interesting, and extremely inspirational!

    Amazing, interesting, and extremely inspirational!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I  adore you mrs. Sotomayor.May God bless you in your new task.

    I  adore you mrs. Sotomayor.May God bless you in your new task.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I am the first reveiw

    This book was on the news

    4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I wished several times while reading this book I could relay my

    I wished several times while reading this book I could relay my gratitude to Justice Sonia Sotomayor for 
    this moving, beautifully written memoir.  I felt I was walking that mile in her shoes in her ever-mindful 
    journey.  She talks about her life with astonishing candor.  Filled with pearls of wisdom, this book 
    captivated me from beginning to end.  It's a real treasure.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Must read true story of perseverance, dedication and strength!

    Sonia Sotomayor's story is an uplifting study in perseverance and strength. Losing herv father at a young age she raised herself literally by her bootstraps from a life of poverty and disadvantages in a crime-ridden neighborhood of New York to become a Justice on the Supreme Court of the United States. How does a poor girl with marginal English perfect her skills in a public high school to get a full ride scholarship to Princeton and then Yale? A brilliant, powerfully intelligent and a supportive family alone made it possible. Sonia is one person I'd most like my children to meet. Once you read her book you'll understand why.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I cannot say enough about this book and was able to relate, as i

    I cannot say enough about this book and was able to relate, as i beleive so many can. I had the privilege of meeting Judge Sotomayor at her booksigning at B&N. She is the real thing and thanked people for waiting almost 4 hours to see her. Vaya con Dios, Judge Sotomayor.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Inpiring for all young people to read!

    What a wonderful sharing of struggles and making it to the top. I loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I bought this book to read it! Not to Judge Miss.Sonia Sotomayo

    I bought this book to read it! Not to Judge Miss.Sonia Sotomayor,I saw it on Oprah's must read's,I just love her story and The music her family would sing i shared the name with my 88year old mom and she just went on and on about that song i even remember it as a child,I am born and raised in Dallas,Texas,Proud to have the Bush Library here,I am an advid reader and i love all book's,I am proud to read about a woman period making it as far as she has!And she would be the first to say it wasn't look's,Although i beg to differ because her picture's she share's she was/is attractive young lady. More power to her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    A must read for every woman! We can be whatever we want!

    Nice to know that you can do what ever your heart desires if you really want it. Her puerto rican pride comes through in every page, and she doesn't hide her struggles to the top. Makes me wish i should of done more in my life. And even with her success she is still Sonia!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Even a Supreme Court justice has a personal life and Sotomayor's

    Even a Supreme Court justice has a personal life and Sotomayor's is richer than most. Her father was a talented man but became alcoholic and died when she was nine. Her mother struggled to become a practical nurse before Sonia was born, handicapped in school by her Puerto Rican Spanish language. They lived in subsidized housing in a high crime area of the Bronx. Little Sonia strove to make up for her quarrelling parents' deficiencies and apparently became very socially observant and compassionate. She learned to live with people's limitations and make the best of them.
    Sonia's mother encouraged her to do well in school, herself going through torment to complete her registered nursing degree. Sonia attended Catholic schools and did well indeed. She was daunted by the unexpected prospect of entering nearby Princeton University as part of an early wave of affirmative action. When her mother heard what a prestigious school it was, she wasn't even sure young Sonia should try.
    Sotomayor had juvenile diabetes. Before her father died his hands shook so much he was unable to give her insulin injections, so all her life she injected herself. She coped with that, she coped with occasional low blood sugar, she coped so well that she graduated Summa cum Laude, won the Byrne Award at Princeton and entered Yale Law School. Every new school, even high school, had its challenges for someone of Puerto Rican nationality but Sotomayor coped. She made a record for herself in varied legal practices until she was appointed to the Federal bench and the rest is history.
    This memoir is distinguished by Sotomayor's compassion and her understanding of people around her who let her down in various ways. She saw the good in people even as an assistant district attorney, striving for fairness even while accomplishing an enviable conviction rate. The book shows how a minority group background, even a second language, can be as much of an advantage as a handicap in pursuing social justice. I recommend this book for all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Wa realy a good book

    I relived my journey and felt the joy of every success that she achieved as if were mine. Anyone who was born outside of the main culture and worked hard just to fit in will understand her debt to family, her love of education and her fear of each success. She made it to the top for all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Outstanding!

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about this book! A wonderfully written account of someone who found their way to fulfill their dreams the hard way yet remains humble in all their success. She is a true American hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From stories of her humble childhood growing up in Puerto Rico,

    From stories of her humble childhood growing up in Puerto Rico, through her acceptance at Princeton and Yale Law School, and into her years of public service as a New York District Attorney and private practice in Manhattan, US Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor shares her insights and reflections with an unassuming grace and sense of purpose. Her journey is one of determination, tenacity, and perseverance. Avoiding all soapboxes and political agenda, Justice Sotomayor tells a truth known to many minorities but often unrecognized by those who have risen to such lofty positions in our justice system. Her experience with diabetes, loved ones dealing with alcoholism and addiction, education, and affirmative action are all enlightening and inspiring. I especially enjoyed the audiobook read by Rita Moreno, which included a Foreword and Prologue read by Justice Sotomayor. Hers is a story worth telling, and she tells it very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I had the honor of meeting Justice Sotomayor in 2009. She is j

    I had the honor of meeting Justice Sotomayor in 2009. She is just as humble and down to earth as she comes across in her book. A woman that loves her family deeply, respects the judicial system and treasures and values life. Oh ya, and is smart as hell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I highly recommend My Beloved World by Associate Justice of the

    I highly recommend My Beloved World by Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court Sonia Sotomayor. Her autobiography is warm, deeply personal and an excellent read. 

    Sotomayor felt called to be a judge at a young age. She had a family and community of beloved friends and mentors to support her throughout her journey to the highest court in the land. This book celebrates those ties.
    If Sotomayor had not chosen the law she would have been a great teacher. She finds the important lessons in life, and passes along wise truths. Her readers can cull many from the book. Among them are:

    The power of education: Sotomayor learned from her mother the power of education. The devoted nuns at her school drilled the essentials into their charges, and Sotomayor says her Catholic education lifted her above her friends in the low income housing. Building on her excellent education and determined scholarship, she was granted admission to Princeton and then on to Yale law school.

    The power of work: She seemed to have worked non stop from an early age. She worked at the hospital where her mother was employed. She worked on her studies far beyond her peers and taught herself proper English writing and grammar while a college student. As I read her story I was astounded by her determination--determination that spilled over into drivenness. 

    The power of people working together:  While a college student, Sotomayor joined a group of fellow students in the “Third World” club. Together they upheld one another at an elite, exclusive, and discriminatory institution and reached out to the disenfranchised patients at a local health care facility. Later in her career she served on boards and committees of organizations devoted to Puerto Rican and minority issues. In so doing she broadened her own world, helped others and met more fantastic mentors. 

    The power of mentors: Sotomayor sought out mentors throughout her entire life. Beginning with a smarter classmate in grade school, she was unafraid to admit her lack and ask others to teach her how to navigate new situations. Those mentors encouraged her all the way to the Supreme Court.

    The power of believing in your self: She chose to attend college at Princeton, rather than a local college. And as they say, the rest is history. Then she chose a career path following law school that other Yale grads would eschew. After a successful career as an assistant district attorney, she turned down a promotion and switched to a small private firm. Making her own choices allowed her to fast-track to the judgeship she wanted.

    The power of a vocation: Sotomayor feels that her position is a vocation, not a career. Since a small child she has felt called to help society at large. She derives great mental and emotional satisfaction in seeing the law used to help solve societal issues.

    The power of family: Sotomayor’s extended family is portrayed in all facets. She morns the loss of her cousin to drugs. She rejoices in her grandmother’s love and care that follows her even after her grandmother’s death. She is a proud sister of her physician brother. And she’s determined to be the “fun aunt” to her nieces and nephews. The love of--and for--her family surrounds her like a comforting quilt.

    It is a real privilege to read this book. Rarely does a person get to meet and talk with a great woman and see into a great mind. Sonia Sotomayor makes the visit with her a warm, interesting and rewarding time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Lovelovelove

    What a role model.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4