Customer Reviews for

My Blood Approves (My Blood Approves Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1906)

4 Star

(760)

3 Star

(357)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(139)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Talented Author

3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the ...
3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the vicious kind. It's yet another different, yet fascinating spin on them, though. This I can promise. The rest . . . I have so many feelings about this book. It's hard for me to put into words exactly how I feel, actually. I loved it. I was annoyed. I hated it. I loved it . . . You see what I mean? The thing is, I would hate to sit here and literally list all the things I didn't like about it and all the things I did. That isn't much of a review, so I'm going to try to get through this without.

Hocking is a very talented storyteller and had my attention the whole book. As a matter of fact, I didn't put it down once I had the chance to sit down and read it. And that, for how crazy my life is, equals a massive amount of talent (and possibly an award). There were definitely some huge grammatical (though mostly punctuation) errors, and a few missing words here or there, but that is something I see in any published novel, no matter the publisher. Regardless, it is actually the errors that made me rate this story a 3.5, though I put it as 4 stars on goodreads because I enjoyed the actual story so much and that counts for more than something as petty and silly as punctuation.

Alice (the main character) is one of those characters that loves passionately and fully. It's one thing she just doesn't half-ass; it's something that I admire in people in real life and in novels. And as do people in real life, she also annoyed me sometimes and became endearing other times. Jack, the other main character, was absolutely delightful. He's one of those people you just want to be around because they are happy all the time. Instead of people all "I'm so sorry you're in a bad mood" and then pats your head, he's the type of person who pulls you from your bad mood and brings a grin to your face. There isn't anything more lovable than that! All the other characters are also wonderful (except Peter and Jane, which I'll just not talk about so you can read it and find out yourself why).

I'm not one to talk much about the happenings in a book because I want readers to experience it themselves, I just like to talk about how fantastic (or not) said book is. The most unique thing about this story? The love triangle is played sooo differently--I absolutely loved how it was written. Downside? I hated where it ended. It was abrupt. Luckily, I've already purchased every single one of her novels from Amazon. I think supporting indie authors is important, so I didn't even wait to read the first one before I did it. :D Honestly, I'm glad I did because I know I'll be reading them all.

Now, the biggest question: would I recommend this book to my fantasy-loving friends? Absolutely. I think they'll all love it, as long as they bypass the punctuation. (Sorry Amanda . . .) :D Now go to Amazon right now and purchase her novels. They're cheap, so you won't be breaking your bank to do it.

Wow, was that long-winded or what? :D

posted by Lolafalana on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Terrible-- Dont waste your time.

For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twi...
For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twilight knock off is a gross understatement. If this had been handed in to be marked in my english class it would fail due to plagiarism. There is nothing original in this book. I will not be wasting my time or money on the rest of this series. I know you are curious like I was, but seriously, not worth it.

posted by Avoca on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Terrible-- Dont waste your time.

    For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twilight knock off is a gross understatement. If this had been handed in to be marked in my english class it would fail due to plagiarism. There is nothing original in this book. I will not be wasting my time or money on the rest of this series. I know you are curious like I was, but seriously, not worth it.

    13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    This was a horrible book

    You should read: switched, torn, and ascend!!!! Thrre the best. Trylle

    11 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    did people actually read or were they paid?

    looks like hocking friends are writing these reviews since this series is really just a knockoff of 'drag u through the mud' nonsense. this series was not for me i only bought them due to the reviews and was quickly disappointed. people should not let their children or friends write such amazing reviews when the books do not deserve more than a 'thanks for the journey' rather than the glorified words this series ranked. i wish hocking the best and hope that her works improve with experience but am upset with the lack of true reviews.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    in my opinion - waste of time!

    From the beginning this book was difficult to read. Maybe it's because I'm a mid-twenty-something, and this book was clearly written for younger readers, however, it just didn't appeal to me. The characters were poorly developed and not believable, in my opinion. The dialogue seemed kind of forced and it was difficult to understand what the main character, Alice, was feeling. All in all, I'm glad I only wasted 99 cents on it!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    90 pages in and I gave up

    I like vampire tween/teen/adult books but this was so slow. It was disappointing as it came highly recommended.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    WAY too much like Twilight, only not nearly as well written.

    Reading this book felt a lot like reading a middle schooler's diary....only with poorer grammar.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    well

    i heard this was a ripoff of twilight so i did read it. it was.......... o.k.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Ridiculous!

    This story seems like an overly dramatic, poorly-written knock off of Twilight! A total waste of your time! DON'T BUY IT!!! In more than a few spots, the main character's thoughts become confusing and random... Almost as if she'd reached her conlusion with absolutely no forethought at all. And her reactions are unreal, quite frankly. Take it from me, forget you ever saw this book's name and find something GOOD to read! (Sorry if I seem a little upset; I was expecting a lot more than what I got out of that book.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    yawwwwn

    This book seemed really immature and was wayyy to close to twilight. Dont even bither with it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best...

    While this book was pretty well written it just felt rushed... but then Amanda drags on for FIVE MORE BOOKS and you feel like you never really get anywhere. Compared to other books Amanda has written (like Switched) this series sucked. It is by far not her best work.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    This series really is terrible, from the characters, to the paci

    This series really is terrible, from the characters, to the pacing and the plot this is a boring and thoughtless series of books that I'm irritated about wasting time reading.  I read all the books, waiting for something to happen, but there really wasn't any substance in the entire series.  The books just ambled on without any real point, it was just a bunch of vampires sitting around the house watching movies, going to clubs, driving fancy cars and buying stuff.  Occasionally there's some action, but there's no build up to it and its over really quickly without much consequence to the overall story.  I have no idea how anybody could give this series 5 stars, there's no real story and no chemistry between any of the characters.  The dialogue never feels natural, its always forced and awkward sounding.  Even the editing in the eBook is appalling, there are so many grammatical and formatting errors that it was completely distracting, I can't count the number of times there were glaringly simple errors repeated throughout the series (you're used when it should have been your).  Don't waste your time on this series!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Read them all but really didnt care for the series

    Ugh where to begin? This is a blatant rip off of Twilight only more sex and course language. I didnt like hardly any of the main characters and was confused by the whole love triangle..in which the character hates her but they cant keep their hands off each other. I liked the"Carliisle and Esme" characters but everyone else is annoying. Hate that they throw in not only a gay younger brother character just to be PC but he 's hsving sex at 15!!!!!!!!! And his sisrer is jealous because her brother gets to have sex before her!!! And shes 17.......i much preferred Stephanie myers idea of wanting to have sex but WAITING. In this book anthing goes with anyone. The story is barely ok... i only read them all to see if i would end up liking any of the characters better and see how it ended. I definately would NOT suggest thid for anyone younger than 18.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    This book is poorly written and boring. For a much more exciting

    This book is poorly written and boring. For a much more exciting read I recommend Flesh-Eating Zombies from Hell. You won't be able to put it down! Very well written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Should have read the reviews

    It was only .99, however I could only read the first 20 pages. It was a direct ripoff of Twilight. Dude, I liked Twilight, but if I wanted to read it again, I would have. I want my dollar back.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Ick!

    ok i know this is a young readers book and i've tried to see this book that way but wow! this was a horrible book. A little more discription please! the characters are so borring i could barly make it threw the first few pages before abandoning the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Total clone of Twilight.

    Total clone of Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    i'm sorry but i absolutely hated this book.  There were many, ma

    i'm sorry but i absolutely hated this book.  There were many, many grammatical errors in the book and the main character is unlikable.  Uh, I really disliked that girl.  Anyway, I regret very much now immediately buying all four books in the series.  I know, i should blame myself, everyone said it was like Twilight by Stephanie Meyer but it turned out make me feel morbid and lacking and made me want to search for life after I read the book.  I'm happy some other people liked this book but I would never recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Disappointed.

    Having read the Trylle series and Hollowland, I had great expectations from this author. With that being said, I was sorely disappointed with these "blood approve" books. The characters are mediocre. Never developed. I felt all of them are hormone crazed teenagers with only sex and letting their high strung emotions rule them. There is no plot in the story. It feels like the author wrote this series without thought and in haste. If you are a wide reader like me, do not waste your time and money. I am one of those people that has to finish something that I started and that's the only reason why I finished the 3 books. Thank God I didn't buy the 4th. It was agony having to read through these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Just Don't

    Seriously, just walk away. Don't even- I can't-leave. GET OUT WHILE YOU STILL CAN. Do NOT waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    JUST LIKE TWILIGHT.

    The book was JUST like Twilight. Dont read. Sry...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7