Customer Reviews for

My Blood Approves (My Blood Approves Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1903)

4 Star

(756)

3 Star

(357)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Talented Author

3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the ...
3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the vicious kind. It's yet another different, yet fascinating spin on them, though. This I can promise. The rest . . . I have so many feelings about this book. It's hard for me to put into words exactly how I feel, actually. I loved it. I was annoyed. I hated it. I loved it . . . You see what I mean? The thing is, I would hate to sit here and literally list all the things I didn't like about it and all the things I did. That isn't much of a review, so I'm going to try to get through this without.

Hocking is a very talented storyteller and had my attention the whole book. As a matter of fact, I didn't put it down once I had the chance to sit down and read it. And that, for how crazy my life is, equals a massive amount of talent (and possibly an award). There were definitely some huge grammatical (though mostly punctuation) errors, and a few missing words here or there, but that is something I see in any published novel, no matter the publisher. Regardless, it is actually the errors that made me rate this story a 3.5, though I put it as 4 stars on goodreads because I enjoyed the actual story so much and that counts for more than something as petty and silly as punctuation.

Alice (the main character) is one of those characters that loves passionately and fully. It's one thing she just doesn't half-ass; it's something that I admire in people in real life and in novels. And as do people in real life, she also annoyed me sometimes and became endearing other times. Jack, the other main character, was absolutely delightful. He's one of those people you just want to be around because they are happy all the time. Instead of people all "I'm so sorry you're in a bad mood" and then pats your head, he's the type of person who pulls you from your bad mood and brings a grin to your face. There isn't anything more lovable than that! All the other characters are also wonderful (except Peter and Jane, which I'll just not talk about so you can read it and find out yourself why).

I'm not one to talk much about the happenings in a book because I want readers to experience it themselves, I just like to talk about how fantastic (or not) said book is. The most unique thing about this story? The love triangle is played sooo differently--I absolutely loved how it was written. Downside? I hated where it ended. It was abrupt. Luckily, I've already purchased every single one of her novels from Amazon. I think supporting indie authors is important, so I didn't even wait to read the first one before I did it. :D Honestly, I'm glad I did because I know I'll be reading them all.

Now, the biggest question: would I recommend this book to my fantasy-loving friends? Absolutely. I think they'll all love it, as long as they bypass the punctuation. (Sorry Amanda . . .) :D Now go to Amazon right now and purchase her novels. They're cheap, so you won't be breaking your bank to do it.

Wow, was that long-winded or what? :D

posted by Lolafalana on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Terrible-- Dont waste your time.

For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twi...
For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twilight knock off is a gross understatement. If this had been handed in to be marked in my english class it would fail due to plagiarism. There is nothing original in this book. I will not be wasting my time or money on the rest of this series. I know you are curious like I was, but seriously, not worth it.

posted by Avoca on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    no action, very dull

    if you want to read about vampires paying bills and buying electronics then this book is for you. If you want suspense, romance, and action then save your money. I'll give you just a couple examples (no spoilers), in the second book there are three pages that just talk about Ezra, Peter, and Milo installing a new flat screen t.v. and how good the picture is. In the fourth book there are six pages of Ezra looking for title documents to cars so he can transfer them into Alice and Milo's names, and no, it is not leading up to anything, it is literally just that. There in only ONE action scene which is in the third book and it's only about ten pages long, the rest is so dull. In the first book you don't even find out they are vampires until after page 100, the whole book is just Alice and Jack going for walks and to concerts. These books are painfully boring and you stick with them waiting for some big hot love scene or cool action but there is NONE!! my advice is to stick with Twilight. I will say however that Amanda Hocking's Trylle series is fantastic and it is also a "supernatural romance" series.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    I have read Hocking's Trylle series and I loved it so I thought

    I have read Hocking's Trylle series and I loved it so I thought I would try another of her series. When I saw this I had to roll my eyes and think "great, another vampire series" but I did not immediately shut it down. I read so,e reviews that said this was different. Sucking it up, I bought the series.... And it's awful. I did not get attached to any character, the story is lack luster, and I was bored. I forces myself to read the entire thing, in part because I paid for it and in part because I wanted to give her a fair shot, but this was just bad. I really really do not recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    It needs more depth

    It needs more depth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    It's okay at best... Definitely not for me. But sadly, I've read worse.

    I guess I'm just too old for young adult books (im only 23). I hated the pop culture references, how superficial things like having the same taste in music/movies overshadowed the fact that everything else about him annoyed her and how all the time they spend stressing about the problem, nothing actually gets figured out. No matter how much they talk, the conversations just end with them procrastinating. I can't stand it. I can't stand how dumb the main character acts either. I read the first book all the way through because I bought it, but I will not even read the sample of the next book, its not worth it. Although, I've read worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Ehhhhhhh

    I mean i read like half and for me it was just so-so.I just guess it wasn't the type of book i was expeccting. Read if you like , but for me it was half baked... I'll try to read it again later but for now it is still so-so for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Ok story, but did she have and editor?

    The story line in this book was ok. Pretty similar to Twilight but different enough to keep your interest. Unfortunately, Hocking makes grammatical mistakes that drive me nuts throughout the book. Please, learn the difference between "then" and "than" or get an editor that knows it. Apart from that, there isn't really a character in the book that the reader can identify with or even like. They just aren't developed enough for that. All in all, the book passes the time and is worth $.99, but I wouldn't pay much more "then" that...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Nothing I'd ever read again

    I bought the first two of the series by recommendation of a friend. I think it was one of the worst recommendations I have EVER received. This story is nothing close to original. I felt like I was reading Twilight and Vampire Diaries mix. The main character, Alice is completely horrid. She was completely annoying with her complaining and constant "my life sucks" attitude. The entire story was rushed, one problem was fixed within a page of it starting and then another would start. I would never recommend this to anyone. The only reason I read it all the way through was because I paid for them but they were deleted right after. Perfect teeny-bop book but not if your looking for a real story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    A Disappointment.

    I very much liked the Trylle Trilogy so I decided to start with this series also by Amanda Hocking. It was Twilight knockoff-o-rama but instead of Emo kids it's with Douche-bags. I read it through, hoping it would improve, but with no avail. I actually couldn't stand it and deleted it completely from my Nook Library. It made me so sad, because I think she is a talented writer, but I couldn't stand the characters except for Erza, the oldest of the three vampire "brothers" and the main character's little brother, Milo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Waste of time

    Boring and dull. Terrible romance. No connection ugh just a waste of time. It ciuld have been so good! Dumb Nerd vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ummmm...

    Is this a twilight fanfiction without a beta?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    this is a start but silly not worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Cliche...

    The book's setting may have been well thought out but, the plot was cliche. It was like reading twilight all over again.. maybe for 99 cents i would get it but once again it was cliche and had me losing interest..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Somewhat entertaining, but very annoying!

    Ok, so I just finished reading the first three books of this series, and I am somewhat disappointed. I have read the Trylle series and I enjoyed them very much. I was happy with the characters and the story, so I decided to read this series. As soon as I started reading, I pretty much knew I hated Alice (the main character). To me, she is very childish, even if she is a teenager, and irrational. I liked her brother, Milo, throughout the series though. Now, going to the vampire characters, I must say that I don't like Jack either. He is so silly, childish and doesn't seem to think before acting. Ezra, Mae and Peter (specially Peter), I liked a lot. I was disappointed with how the relationship between some characters goes. A lot of what happens was just foolishness and actions before actually thinking it through. I kept reading thinking that at some point the story would completely turn like the author wrote her other series, but it just kept getting messy and more childish. I understand that this is a teenager series, but Wow! this just went way too childish for my taste. I can see how some people would compare this series, specially the first book, to the Twilight series, which I have read also, but seriously, they are different in their own way, and I honestly can tolerate Twilight way much more then this series (and that is something, considering how much I hated Bella and sparkling vampires). I must say that I still like Amanda Hockings writing and I will look forward to other of her books, but I will probably not finish this series, unless I read some spoilers that the story dramatically changes, but I honestly doubt it. I will recommend to read her Trylle series, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    ehh. idk

    i didnt enjoy this book tht much cause i dont like how ive heard the story line. it seems to fmiliar and i know wats gonna happen next constanly. OH!!!! i kmow wher ibe heard this story line, the vampire book tht made everyone lust for the strange bloodsucking beings and this twilight wannabe iz just not workin for me =( sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    It's ok

    I really tried to give this series a try even with the Twilight similarities. However, after making it through book 3 I just couldn't bring myself to read book 4. It is a very easy read and a little entrtaining. If you are looking for something to pass the time and keep it light then this series is for you. Otherwise take a pass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Tries to be too much like Twilight

    i am a huge fan of the Twilight Series and this book seems to take too many ideas straight from Stephanie Meyers. it was disappointing and unoriginal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Twilight wannabe

    The publisher sucks, and there were frequant mistakes as to situations in the books that seem to be forgotten and half-assed. Also, the book is clearly modeled after twilight. If I were u id just skip it and read from the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    twilight impostor

    The story was entertaining enough to keep reading, it reminded me of the twilight story with scenes of HBO's Trueblood. Terrible spelling, missing words and screwed up sentences. Entertaining enough if you can look past the frequent spelling mistakes. ds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Blah

    I knew this wasn't going to be an epic book, however I did expect to be able to read it without finding misspellings and typos- I found 2 before I was 1/4 of the way through the book! :(

    Beyond the poor editing, the story is okay. I feel like the writer is either really young, or over 40. If you just go with the story, it's entertaining. But there are a lot of holes. I'm not sure that I'll read the rest in this series, but this book was only $0.99 (thank goodness).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    um

    this was almost like twilight saga well mostly the beging car part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7