Customer Reviews for

My Blood Approves (My Blood Approves Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1903)

4 Star

(756)

3 Star

(357)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Talented Author

3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the ...
3.5

First, I'm just going to warn everyone that my thoughts are everywhere in this review. Like I've said before in my reviews: I'm an author, not a reviewer. Now . . . on to the review!

This book is about vampires. No, no. Not the sparkling kind. And no, not the vicious kind. It's yet another different, yet fascinating spin on them, though. This I can promise. The rest . . . I have so many feelings about this book. It's hard for me to put into words exactly how I feel, actually. I loved it. I was annoyed. I hated it. I loved it . . . You see what I mean? The thing is, I would hate to sit here and literally list all the things I didn't like about it and all the things I did. That isn't much of a review, so I'm going to try to get through this without.

Hocking is a very talented storyteller and had my attention the whole book. As a matter of fact, I didn't put it down once I had the chance to sit down and read it. And that, for how crazy my life is, equals a massive amount of talent (and possibly an award). There were definitely some huge grammatical (though mostly punctuation) errors, and a few missing words here or there, but that is something I see in any published novel, no matter the publisher. Regardless, it is actually the errors that made me rate this story a 3.5, though I put it as 4 stars on goodreads because I enjoyed the actual story so much and that counts for more than something as petty and silly as punctuation.

Alice (the main character) is one of those characters that loves passionately and fully. It's one thing she just doesn't half-ass; it's something that I admire in people in real life and in novels. And as do people in real life, she also annoyed me sometimes and became endearing other times. Jack, the other main character, was absolutely delightful. He's one of those people you just want to be around because they are happy all the time. Instead of people all "I'm so sorry you're in a bad mood" and then pats your head, he's the type of person who pulls you from your bad mood and brings a grin to your face. There isn't anything more lovable than that! All the other characters are also wonderful (except Peter and Jane, which I'll just not talk about so you can read it and find out yourself why).

I'm not one to talk much about the happenings in a book because I want readers to experience it themselves, I just like to talk about how fantastic (or not) said book is. The most unique thing about this story? The love triangle is played sooo differently--I absolutely loved how it was written. Downside? I hated where it ended. It was abrupt. Luckily, I've already purchased every single one of her novels from Amazon. I think supporting indie authors is important, so I didn't even wait to read the first one before I did it. :D Honestly, I'm glad I did because I know I'll be reading them all.

Now, the biggest question: would I recommend this book to my fantasy-loving friends? Absolutely. I think they'll all love it, as long as they bypass the punctuation. (Sorry Amanda . . .) :D Now go to Amazon right now and purchase her novels. They're cheap, so you won't be breaking your bank to do it.

Wow, was that long-winded or what? :D

posted by Lolafalana on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Terrible-- Dont waste your time.

For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twi...
For the price it's worth reading if you are 12 or have no sense of decent literature. I bought this book because I was curious about how successful it has been and I am astounded at how bad it is. There is absolutely no charater development at all and saying it is a Twilight knock off is a gross understatement. If this had been handed in to be marked in my english class it would fail due to plagiarism. There is nothing original in this book. I will not be wasting my time or money on the rest of this series. I know you are curious like I was, but seriously, not worth it.

posted by Avoca on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 357 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Ok.

    It was a really good plot and i admit i couldnt put the book down. But after reading the first one i dont know if i could put myself through reading terrible writing again. The grammer was awful. So many mispelled/missing words. Also all the mentions of band/brand names. It bothered me, almost like author was payed to advertise.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    A godbtwist A good twist on an old subject

    Vampires have been done so many times. But this is a good tale.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Some issues but easy to get into

    There are a couple things I should point out about this series.
    #1 the first book is mediocre but they get better from there. All of the other series by Amanda Hocking are wonderful.
    #2 There is a hell of a love triangle with one of the characters being not at all likable. Usually in love triangles I am not as perturbed at the ending because all of them have redeeming qualities. Not so much this one.
    #3 The writer for whatever reason is having difficulty writing the final book of this series. However, she has informed us that the ending of the love triangle will not change... the lack of hope makes me not really want to read it at all anyway but some of you may not like the idea of the open ending being indefinite.

    That said. Although the first book was hard to get into and this one character beyond irritating from day 1 (I wont give away who), I did really get into the series giving up sleep a few nights in the hope she would end up making the right decision. Which is probably why the ending and the author's statement bothers me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Best

    Read all five of the books and fell in love with everything about it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Decent read

    Editing was absolutely terrible, the worst i have ever seen in my life in a published book. But if you are able to read past the poor editing the story was rather enjoyable. Aside from better editing i only wish it had been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    I really liked the story... Yes, it did remind me of Twilight in the bigining but it turned out to be a great read. Got to say I'm a fan. I'm on the third book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I would like to give this one a 3.5 instead of a 3, but not quit

    I would like to give this one a 3.5 instead of a 3, but not quite a 4. I'm not typically into vampire books but My Blood Approves has my attention. I like all of the characters (even the somewhat annoying friend Jane). My favorite story line is the friendship/bond between Milo and Alice. I enjoy his admiration of her; however, I wish she was a little more in tune with his emotional needs. Spending every evening with the vampires is odd; she knows how much her brother depends on her. I realize it's partially the vampire draw that has her bewitched, but I wish she had been a little more conscientious of his emotional needs. I will absolutely be reading the next 2 books. I have to know what happens to Milo, Alice and Jack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Good read

    The beginning events seemed a little to much like Twighlight but the twist in the middle of it made it a lot more interesting, the editing and grammatical errors were really annoying but all in all its a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    It Was pretty good It was pretty good!

    It had some aspects that reminded me a bit of twilight, but all in all the whole series was really good! Admittedly there were small periods within the series that I was bored with and I did skip over some of the more unnecessary dialouge but in general it was a good read, and a good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Too Twilight

    Until this book I had loved Amanda Hocking's work. This book is just far far too much twilight. The story is more or less Twilight with details flipped upside down to make it "different." The writing is just fine but there is a huge lack of story. Nothing truly happens until the end of the book. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has read twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    REVIEW FROM ME

    So I didn't even buy the book, and I usually love boos about vampires. Preferably The Vampire Diaries. And The Vampire Diaries is what popped up in my mind when I read the description

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    It's Alright

    It does resemble certain aspects of Twilight minus the werewolves and glimmering skin. I find the story to be alright and I fell in love with Jack.

    However, I rated this 3 stars because I'm confused by the main character, Alice. She is completely annoying! I'm a Twilight fan and sometimes find it hard to even like Bella but Alice is worse! She obliviously isn't mature enough and often doesn't seem to think things through. I don't care for the way her character was developed in the story. Plus, regardless that she's drawn to one brother she already seems to be in love with the first one she met, Jack, and sometimes doesn't even seem to care what her being with the other brother makes Jack feel. Maybe I'm just hating on her but she's just frustrating. Especially towards the end. I want to slap her and say STOP WHINING!

    BUT....I will be buying the next book in this series because I want to see what happens. Guess the author did do something right then, huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Pretty good story but it begins to drag towards the end.

    Pretty good story but it begins to drag towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Pretty good series.

    Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Okay book

    This book reminded me a bit too much much of twilight for my liking but overall it was an okay read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    This really isn't like Twilight.

    I've seen where people have said this is like Twilight but it's not, actually. I think this series is more about the relationships with and lifestyle of these vampires the main character has fallen in with. As far as a love triangle, that's non-existant to me. It seems to me that "love" is secondary to the fact that these vamps are more drawn to the blood first and foremost if anything in teir relationships. There isn't any romance to speak of, really; just a few kisses here and there because of the desire for blood of the one they're interested in. However, the concept of these vamps and their lifestyle IS interesting. I just wish there was some actual love & romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Twighlight copycat?

    Just too reminiscent of Twighlight, with a few differences. I do like the author's other books, especially the 2 Hollowland books, & I'm not into zombie genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Not bad

    Not a bad attmept for a teen/young adult paranormal romance. Unfortunately I found myself often correcting grammar & picking out similarities to twilight & vampire diaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    So much like Twilight...

    This story is very similar to the Twilight series. There are similarities like the main caracter noticing the odd skin temperature other things like that. Even though this book came out before the twilight saga, it just seemed redundant after you've already read the series and are just now starting tjis series. Nevertheless this was a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Still reading it...its really good but...

    Ummm...iv read this before. Its called twilight. Try an ORIGINAL idea authors of the world...you just might get somewhere

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 357 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18