Customer Reviews for

My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me: And Other Stories I Shouldn't Share with Acquaintances, Coworkers, Taxi drivers, Assistants, Job Interviewers, Bikini Waxers, and Ex/Current/Future Boyfriends but Have

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Funny

The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give y...
The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give you as wide a berth as possible given the confines of a packed bus. But I couldn't help myself. When she wrote about the Texas Titty Twister, I laughed. When she wrote about staying in to apply Pro-Activ to her cat's chin acne, I laughed. And when she asked a guy if he liked her "boobies," I laughed so hard I snorted. Oh, and if anyone is curious about the book her boyfriend wrote about her, it's Chad Kultgen's Average American Male.

posted by BekahSC on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Depressing and self indulgent

An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to igno...
An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to ignore it rather than learn something about herself. If your looking for a fun read, look for something else.

posted by PiMCTaylor on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just fine

    This book should have a too much info warning in its beginning. Winston did not spare blushes in this candidly written book about her boyfriends. If I were any of her boyfriends, I would be squirming in my seat.

    Winston pokes fun at all the heartbreaking and hilarious relationships she has been in. She describes her ex-boyfriends in telling details. More often than not, they are placed in a negative light and it seemed as if she thought that there could be no perfection in her any of her exes. It was a relief to read her self-examination at the end of her book. She keeps herself grounded by admitting that she has character weaknesses too.

    The more pages I turned in the book, the more I wondered if Winston had used hyperbole. Characters in the book frequently had dramatic reactions to incidents. Either they were very colorful people or their reactions were exaggerated.

    This book is a collection of very personal of stories. Right from page 1, Winston practiced the no holds barred attitude. I was amazed at the way she doesn't shy from being brutally honest when narrating her stories. It takes plenty of guts to publish such an intimate, telling book.

    The ending of the book leaves something to be desired. Winston still hasn't fully gotten over her relationship with Kyle. Perhaps, there is a sequel in works? If there is a sequel, I will definitely want to read it. The thing I enjoyed most is Winston's writing style. She writes in a casual and humorous style. She is frank and expresses her emotions well in the book.

    My Boyfriend Wrote A Book About Me was a hilarious collection of stories about the ups and downs of Winston's relationship life. Its openness left me a little uncomfortable sometimes, but hey, this book is about real incidents in a real person's life.

    As for who "Kyle" is, read this book and then do a spot of Googling!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Sad

    Sure, I laughed sometimes, but mostly, I just felt sorry for Hilary Winston - sorry that her self-esteem is so low, she looks for validation from men who don't deserve a second glance (heck, a first glance) from anyone. And the sections about her mom's cancer and her cat's diabetes literally made me cry. This book was definitely not as hilarious - to me, anyway - as other reviewers have said it is.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I expected this book to be funny .. to have a feel good ending a

    I expected this book to be funny .. to have a feel good ending at the very least and was extremely disappointing to find it was more depressing that it should've been.. instead of feeling good I feel terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Meh, this book contains a few laughs and is worth the five bucks

    Meh, this book contains a few laughs and is worth the five bucks, but it falls miles short of great humor writing. Rather than relating to the author's struggles I often found myself just feeling bad for her. Once she describes how her apartment is soaked in cat urine you realize exactly why she has dating issues...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Not that funny!

    This was not as funny as was described! It felt like a desperate attempt to get back at the ex, I stopped reading it because it didn't interest me! I got about half way! To each their own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Not funny

    This book is terrible and depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    This is a comedy?

    Really not that funny -- more of a dramedy than anything. The author comes across as unsympathetic and whiny. If you're looking for a witty book written by a female comedian, try Tina Fey's "Bossypants" or Mindy Kaling's book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    eh

    I guess i expected it to be more of funny anecdites but i was left more sad that the author doesnt sem to like who she is and that humor isnt a way she is dealing with it. Also thought the ending didnt quite mesh with the tone of thevrest of the book as i felt like here is the big moral of a book of decisions that are not yet fuly processed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Not even remotely amusing

    What it is, is very sad and pathetic. I feel sorry for Winston, that she seems so intent on another 15 minutes that she doesn't see how unfunny this mess is. And boy, is it a mess. There's a thank you to some of her friends in the back for helping to make the book funnier, and that just makes me shudder. Seriously. If you're into self-loathing and bad sex schadenfreude, this book's for you. If you're looking for funny, this is not the book you are looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Boring

    I wanted to like this book, but it was ultimately a snooze-fest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    depressing

    i love some self deprecating humor but this book left me feeling really depressed. The author sounds like she is making it big (or bigger than her ex) but you could never tell it by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Just didn't get there

    I really wanted to like this book. Loved her interview on NBC. But in the end it left me with a frustrated sad feeling and not the laugh I expected. I wish this author had more love for herself and more hope. I'm embarrassed for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1