BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me: And Other Stories I Shouldn't Share with Acquaintances, Coworkers, Taxi drivers, Assistants, Job Interviewers, Bikini Waxers, and Ex/Current/Future Boyfriends but Have

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Funny

The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give y...
The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give you as wide a berth as possible given the confines of a packed bus. But I couldn't help myself. When she wrote about the Texas Titty Twister, I laughed. When she wrote about staying in to apply Pro-Activ to her cat's chin acne, I laughed. And when she asked a guy if he liked her "boobies," I laughed so hard I snorted. Oh, and if anyone is curious about the book her boyfriend wrote about her, it's Chad Kultgen's Average American Male.

posted by BekahSC on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Depressing and self indulgent

An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to igno...
An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to ignore it rather than learn something about herself. If your looking for a fun read, look for something else.

posted by PiMCTaylor on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Very funny - highly recommended for your next break-up

    The book starts with Hilary Winston standing in a Barnes & Noble in a panic, flipping through the book her ex-boyfriend has written about her. His book is a non-fiction book that he is trying to pass off as fiction, but it's all too real to Hilary. She wonders where she went wrong in her dating life to put her here and takes us on a trip down her memory lane. She recounts for us all her past relationships and what went wrong with them. Along the way we also learn about her disappointed family, her broken vagina, and her cats. The stories are all of the kind that you just can't make up, the kind your girlfriends make you tell over and over, but aren't 100% sure they believe. They are full of those little tiny details that are so funny that they make you laugh about an otherwise bad situation. Because these stories are true, she often leaves out names. I find myself wanting to know who is the movie star she saw naked, who she was working for when she was being sexually harrassed, and what is the name of the book written by her ex? In short, I want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Summer reads

    Great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highlyy Highly suggest

    Love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I loved her sense of humor, and I did laugh aloud while reading

    I loved her sense of humor, and I did laugh aloud while reading it. If you are looking for a book that is a light funny read, this book is for you. Was a great break from my studies, and made me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Ehhhh?

    Its very sexual but its ok i guess

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Good read

    A nice, cute book filled with some great stories. Now I want to read her ex-boyfriend's book to see his side of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Chelsea-ish

    This was cute, but after 25% of the way through (65 pgs), I found I hadn't laughed out loud once like previous reviewers. I thought this was very reminiscent of Chelsea Handler's storytelling style, but I just wanted/expected something a little more for my time. Glad I got to borrow as a "LendMe" and didnt have to pay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    So Funny! Loved it!!

    The title is what caught my attention first, if the title is funny the book probably will be too. It was a super quick read, I finished it while on a plane ride. It made me laugh out loud during multiple parts. Whereas other parts made me pause and have a bit of self reflection. She hits on so many truths that some of us ladies are ashamed to admit out loud. I loved every second of this book and would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    A little ridiculous but hilarious if you accept that going in

    I hope when you started this book you weren't looking for literary brilliance or the next awkward "everything turns out okay in the end" story. Hilary had the balls to tell the stories that happen to real people and I loved this book for that. I lol-ed multiple times and even got attached to Em and Lolly (the cats). I really liked her honesty. GO HILARY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Pretty funny

    I enjoyed this book. Kept me entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    I laughed out loud

    I got many laughs from this book despite not being able to relate to the author on all levels (i hate cats). It was a light funny page turner but not for prudes. I whole-heartedly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    lov Laugh out loud

    Super funny fast easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3