Customer Reviews for

My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me: And Other Stories I Shouldn't Share with Acquaintances, Coworkers, Taxi drivers, Assistants, Job Interviewers, Bikini Waxers, and Ex/Current/Future Boyfriends but Have

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Funny

The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give y...
The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give you as wide a berth as possible given the confines of a packed bus. But I couldn't help myself. When she wrote about the Texas Titty Twister, I laughed. When she wrote about staying in to apply Pro-Activ to her cat's chin acne, I laughed. And when she asked a guy if he liked her "boobies," I laughed so hard I snorted. Oh, and if anyone is curious about the book her boyfriend wrote about her, it's Chad Kultgen's Average American Male.

posted by BekahSC on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Depressing and self indulgent

An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to igno...
An attempt at telling "quirky embarrassing" stories about her life just feels like she's trying to justify being a miserable human being. She seems to revel in negativity. Even at one point where it looks like she's getting to the root of her issues, she chooses to ignore it rather than learn something about herself. If your looking for a fun read, look for something else.

posted by PiMCTaylor on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    The ultimate test of whether a book is truly funny is whether it will make me unexpectedly burst out laughing while riding public transportation. Any sudden outburst of uncontrollable laughter is automatically classified as "crazy," and other riders will start to give you as wide a berth as possible given the confines of a packed bus. But I couldn't help myself. When she wrote about the Texas Titty Twister, I laughed. When she wrote about staying in to apply Pro-Activ to her cat's chin acne, I laughed. And when she asked a guy if he liked her "boobies," I laughed so hard I snorted. Oh, and if anyone is curious about the book her boyfriend wrote about her, it's Chad Kultgen's Average American Male.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Very fun

    Loved this book. It is different and absolutley hysterical. Winston is witty, clever and cute. Hope she writes more!!! Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend if you are looking for fun read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional book- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Enjoy a bath

    Break ups are hard and can be painful. Not only by feeling rejected but by replaying all the scenarios as to what cause the break up, especially if you were dumped.
    What can be worse than a break up, but reading about it at your local Barnes and Nobles. That is exactly that happen to Hilary Winston. In her cute and funny book My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me: and Other Stories I Shouldn't Share with Acquaintances, Coworkers, Taxi Drivers, Assistants, Job Interviewers, Bikini Waxers, and Ex/Current/ Future Boyfriends But Have she chronicles her life post break up.
    Her love, Kyle was the perfect match, they enjoyed witty humor, the Olive Garden, and baths. In solidarity I read most of this book in a bath.
    So she picked up this novel by Kyle and began to read about their life together that was thinly veiled in fiction. Winston reaches back to her coming of age and learning about sex. Here few sexual escapes and how she finally settled into what she thought was her life love. Unfortunately he did not see it that way.
    All the while she tended to her cats, endless baths, and her enjoyment of naps. She is a writer in Los Angeles and hopefully her hilarious dialogue in the book makes it to the shows she is working on.
    In the end, you feel for Hilary and are appreciative of her for sharing an open vulnerable dialogue of the complexity of single life.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST read for the Girls! Hilarious!

    I haven't laughed so much in a long time. I LOVED this book. A little crass at times (just a forewarning) but I think most any girl, single or married can relate to some of Hilary's stories. We've all thought, 'This kind of thing only happens to me'. Well Hilary proves with her candid humor that it just isn't so. Despite the ex's betrayal in the form of so-called fiction, she tells all without coming across as bitter. I read this in one day because it kept me laughing! I've already bought another copy to share with my girlfriends.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Made me laugh out loud

    I am only half way through the book but so far it is hilarious. I like her honesty, intelligence and the fact that she is mildly inappropriate. I hope to never have that many gay ex-boyfriends. Great read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    HILARIOUS- COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

    This is such a funny book. The stories are real and raw and often hysterically mortifying. We've all been there. I started skimming it and then could not put it down. I can't remember the last time I laughed out loud so much while reading.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Fantastic

    This book was constantly entertaining. A must read for anyone, especially those fluent in sarcasm!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    I received this book as part of a goody bag from an event I attended. I thought "a free book, whatever." I decided one night as it sat on my nightstand, to start looking at it. I went right to the middle (this is not a chapter book that you must read in order) and laughed out loud. I wanted to save this book for vacation but from that point on could not put it down. Hilary Winston is an every girl's girl. She gets us because she is us. Her heartbreak and the awkwardness of coming-of-age are simply hilarious. We are not alone! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Amazing

    A must read!!! It made me laugh and also realize that I don't NEED any man. I've been in a relationship for 5 years now (also with a kyle) and even though I love him, if that ever fades or we fall out of love I'll survive! The ending totally made me cry!! Its a great comedy book and she is easy to relate to!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A MUST READ

    One of the funniest books ive ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    pee in your pants funny

    I finished this book in a few hours. Easy, quick, light, funny book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Tarah

    *kisses my sleeping beauty*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Tarah

    Im really sorry john that i told you that you didnt care.. of coursse you care. Whose ALWAYS here for me? You. Who cares about me? You. Who believes in me? You. So yeah you do care. Your my bestest friend ever and i love you for that *smiles*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Looking for another book by Hilary

    Very funny book but I cried when she wrote about her cat. She knows how how to write humor and sadness. I think she loved her cat more thathan the men in her life. Don't we all love our pets??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great read

    Wonderful humourous look at dating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Funny

    Another funny collection of essays from a quirky single lady. For fans of Mindy Kaling, Lena Dunham, Chelsea Handler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Must read for women

    Related to her and her relationships. Had several very funny parts. Recommend to any single woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Sooooo funny!

    There were many times that I literaly laughed out loud. My husband kept looking at me funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4