BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Bridges of Hope: Searching for Life and Love after Auschwitz

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    "My Bridges of Hope"  is a captivating story on how a

    "My Bridges of Hope"  is a captivating story on how a young girl had learned to endure on her own the tragedies life has to offer. Every page has a different account on everything she had to gain on her own by balancing both her studies and her difficult decision to leave her homeland. She goes in to a good amount of detail explaining her experiences having being liberated from the German camps.It’s definitely a great book to read because Jackson adds a little of her own language into her autobiography giving it a better sense of imagery and intensity. Overall it’s an excellent book for both young and older readers and I’m sure many would learn to enjoy it’s realistic feature to it.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    How is the sample

    Can someone tell me how the sample is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Was a book of hope and tragedies

    The Bridges of Hope by Livia Bitton-Jackson was a novel of tragedies and hope. The book was about a teenage girl named Elli, her brother Bubi, and their mother. They were a small family that lived in what they called a 'tatterstall'. This was a communal home of the survival Jews. There were only a few survivors (thirty-six out of five hundred) in their town that came back to live. This family lived in Czechoslovakia. They returned there to live after the war with Hitler. The family had been in a concentration camp for the Jews. They were actually in the worst concentration camp known during this time, Auschwitz. Throughout the story Elli reminisces on her times at Auschwitz and shows the horror she and her family had to endure to survive the war. When the end of the war finally came and they were liberated they thought they could start over in their town of survivors who shared their experiences and within the family of the 'tatterstall'. That was not the case for this family, they soon saw that anti-Semitism was no where near over. Elli was still discriminated everywhere she went. In school, she faced many challenges trying to escape the fate of the German children. The family just wanted a life of peace and happiness. All the Jews wanted a place they could go and not be hated. So, like many of the survivors the family went to America. The only problem was the family faced many challenges on the way there. If Elli hadn't have had such a strong will and desire I don't think the family would have made it past the Iron Curtain to keep the Jews in. The family had to always be on guard and there were no rest times. They were always being chased or threatened by capture. For this family there was never a time to stop. Elli tells about the hardships they faced throughout the war and their journey to America through this novel. The book was fantastic and helps people know what these people did go through in the time of Hitler. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    A Gripping Tale of Hope and Determination

    'My Bridges of Hope,' by Livia Britton-Jackson, is an amazing account of a young girl named Ellie Friedmann who survived the concentration camp, Auschwitz, and tried to resume a ¿normal¿ life. Ellie¿s story began just after the U.S. Liberated Auschwitz when she returned to her homeland, Czechoslovakia. Ellie¿s mother and brother both accompanied her on the journey however, Ellie¿s father did not survive. Once back home the harsh Russian control and anti-Semitism persuaded them to head for America in search of freedom, love, and a new life. Along the way the family overcame many struggles including financial hardships, danger, personal loss, and dealing with their past. There were many prevalent messages within the pages of this tale such as love, dealing with loss, and persevering through tough times. Although Ellie grew up during a harsh time she experienced an abundance of love from newly found friendships and her family. Some of the friendships turned into romance, but each relationship ended abruptly when someone left in search of someplace better. While these two themes were important the biggest was never giving up even in exacting times. Ellie never abandoned her hopes or dreams when moments seemed unbearable or arduous. She always pressed on trying to overcome the hardships that she faced teaching that no obstacle is too severe to conquer. Overall I absolutely loved this book. It was nerve-racking, moving, and inspiring. The story line was not the typical depressing holocaust story. It showed triumph and a will to rise above all daunting challenges that Ellie faced. I also enjoyed it because there was never a dull picture that needed an imagination¿s improvement. Vivid imagery was painted onto each and every page. The story was very intriguing since it contained love, action and drama. Each time Ellie found a potential love it drew me in even closer because I wanted to find out if she would ever find true lasting love. This book was one in which you could not put down because the anticipation would eat at you until you started to read again. I only had a few dislikes, but the biggest was that when a new chapter began, sometimes there was not a smooth transition from the previous chapter. Since some new chapters skipped lengths of time after the preceding chapter this got a little confusing, but it was very minor since after a few paragraphs you were back on track. I believe that everyone should read this book at least once in his or her lifetime. I was a little pessimistic when I began reading since sometimes non-fiction is mind numbing, but this book defies all stereo types. It is so inspirational because any obstacle that I face or have faced cannot be compared to what Ellie underwent and it gives me no excuse to give up. It also gives a person a new perspective and more insight into how lucky they truly are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    The best book

    this book is an emotional book, it tells you about life after the holocaust, which is very unique it makes this book stand out. EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Widley Good

    I saw this book cover and thought it looked good so I read the back and that sounded good so I bought the book and I'm glad I did its like the best book ever. It takes place after WW2 and Elli,her mother,and her brother are reunited. They decide to never be seperated again but they do but I won't tell you if its good or bad and what happens. You deffenitly shoud read this book! I haven't read the first book I have Lived A thousand Years but I intend to. Anyways I deffinitly think you should read this book. I'm sure this book is just as good as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1