Customer Reviews for

My Brother Sam Is Dead

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Spine Chilling Great Story

Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at ti...
Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at times with so much description that you have sympathy for the characters in the book. You feel as you are a witness in the time and you are beside the main character as his dreadful life moves on. I recommend this awesome story to anyone. This book is a great adventure as well as a historical reference of the Revolutionary War.

posted by cpjack23 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Juicy book stuffed with details!

My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary...
My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary War with action and history. The main characters are a family named the Meekers, (in order of age) Tim, Sam, Susannah (mother), and Eliphalet (father). This family is loyal to the British, but Sam, at 17 years, fights for the rebel army. Sam decides to enroll because he feels like he's a part of something important. This action makes Life very angry. I do not suggest children under 12 years of age reading this book because there are many, many curse words and some images may be disturbing. Even teenagers or adults may find this book gory and sad. On a scale of one to ten, I would give My Brother Sam is Dead a 6.5.

posted by 1167768 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT SO THRILLING BOOK. HORRIBLE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I did not like this book!! It was too bloody and gory. People's heads got chopped of they got blown in half, it was disgusting! Especially when Timmy puked on himself. I almost threw up myself. My least favorite part was when they got the news that father died on the slave ship from a disgusting sickness. The book didn't flow, and it just didn't work for me.Here are some books that I did like. Look over at the ones I recommend, and trust me, there's no puking.

    P.S
    Make sure you read all the other ones inthe series from down there, I cant find them. There is 10 in all

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Horrible

    I was required to read this book for my English class, and I was so positively bored with it that there were times when I would skip whole chapters just to get it over with. The author couldn't describe a scene or a person without boring me until I felt like burning the book. I didn't see the point of it, and Tim and Sam are simply stupid and irritating. Don't read it, for your sake.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Just no

    This book sucked. We had to read it in class and no one liked it at all. Find another book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    this book is boring and sucks,my whole class has to read this an

    this book is boring and sucks,my whole class has to read this and they hate it too. yes it is part of history but this book should NOT have been published or received an award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Boo

    Sams head gets chopped off dont read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2015

    HORRID

    Bad bad bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Why?

    The idea for this book isn't a bad one. Older brother defying father and younger brother is left trying to decide which side he should join. But after that the book is incredibly stupid and boring. The way Tim goes back in forth on deciding whether he wants to be a Tory or a Patriot is tedious and irritating. The fact that the authors are constantly throwing in graphic amounts of blood and gore-when more often than not it is unnessasary- is disgusting. The title gives away everything and you find yourself halfway through the book and praying that Sam will die already so that the book will end. And then finally he does.... on the very last page of the book. Some new words can get added to your vocabulary, but then hardly any of them are beneficial. Then there is the issue of how Sam gets put in prison. It's completely unbelievable. The authors could have thought of a better way to kill Sam then having him shot for "stealing" his own cattle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A

    This book is a totall waste of time the only thing i learned from it is how to swear like a sailor and how to properly execute someone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    To below

    How can you saay its amaxing? It was really anticlamactic and boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    My Brother Sam is dead

    this book was sad and hard to get into. i did not want to read but had to for school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    TERRIBLE

    I hate it what else is there to say, don't read it!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was forced to read this book for language arts. at first i thought, this sounds cool, but it isn't. it tends to go over the top on the unimportant parts, and yet the important parts. take sam's death for example. it's on the last page of the book, in the last sentence. all of the other200 some pages are filled with boring, useless information. and whats worse, i have to do a project on it, so if you are a teacher looking to read this book to youre class, DONT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Yuck !

    I Had To read This for School and It was Torture !It Was Boring and Depressing .THe Only Part That I was Interested In reading was When Tim Went to go save his brother and If Sam was going to get killed or not . Well I should have known Sam was getting killed from the title but I figured Dead might mean something else like tom comes back a different man after war was over and the 'old Sam' was dead . You know what I mean Anyway Do not read dis book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    i hate this book with a burning passsion

    ah yes...i remember reading this book in 4th grade for school. it is horribly boring and dumb and it will make you wanna slit your wrists....so er...stay away from this book. by the way, i would have given this book a rating less than poor, but they didnt have one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Bad book on Revolutionary War

    I did not like this book. I think that it presented a very biased view of the American Revolution that is not suitable for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    HORRIBLE

    This book is absolutely poposterous. It was boring, slow moving and depressing. What more is there to say? Dont read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Dumb Book

    This book was soo boring, we read it in school and my oh my, there was a little cursing which probaly was awakening for us in school. But it really shows that being free is something we take forgranted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    This Book Was Terrible!

    I had to read this book for class, and it was so bad! It's hard to follow (it switches time very quickly... one page it'll be talking about one year in very little detail, the next page, it'll be talking about the next year expecting you to remember what happened.), boring (there is very little action, and even where there is some, the main character makes a stupid decision and screws up the excitemet), and TRES predictable! I do not reccoment this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    ~*~ I Hated It!!! ~*~

    This book could have been a good historical fiction book. But then the auther added more than enough swearing, hate, disownment,gore, and death, not to mention a broken family, ripped apart at the seams. To result in a book imposible to enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2