Customer Reviews for

My Brother Sam Is Dead

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Spine Chilling Great Story

Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at ti...
Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at times with so much description that you have sympathy for the characters in the book. You feel as you are a witness in the time and you are beside the main character as his dreadful life moves on. I recommend this awesome story to anyone. This book is a great adventure as well as a historical reference of the Revolutionary War.

posted by cpjack23 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Juicy book stuffed with details!

My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary...
My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary War with action and history. The main characters are a family named the Meekers, (in order of age) Tim, Sam, Susannah (mother), and Eliphalet (father). This family is loyal to the British, but Sam, at 17 years, fights for the rebel army. Sam decides to enroll because he feels like he's a part of something important. This action makes Life very angry. I do not suggest children under 12 years of age reading this book because there are many, many curse words and some images may be disturbing. Even teenagers or adults may find this book gory and sad. On a scale of one to ten, I would give My Brother Sam is Dead a 6.5.

posted by 1167768 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Juicy book stuffed with details!

    My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary War with action and history. The main characters are a family named the Meekers, (in order of age) Tim, Sam, Susannah (mother), and Eliphalet (father). This family is loyal to the British, but Sam, at 17 years, fights for the rebel army. Sam decides to enroll because he feels like he's a part of something important. This action makes Life very angry. I do not suggest children under 12 years of age reading this book because there are many, many curse words and some images may be disturbing. Even teenagers or adults may find this book gory and sad. On a scale of one to ten, I would give My Brother Sam is Dead a 6.5.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally gritty; parental guidance might help

    My Brother Sam is Dead is a heart-breaking story of how politics and war can destroy a family. Tim and Sam are from a New England town which strongly supports the British government during the Revolutionary war. When the older boy, Sam, runs away and joins the revolutionaries, the impressionable Tim is left behind to help his parents eke out a living in the war-starved economy. Tim doesn't understand what all the fighting is about, and why his father is so angry at Sam. Tim questions his own loyalties and finally learns what real responsibility is. This book is aimed at 8-12 year old boys. The adventure is exciting enough that kids will enjoy the book on their own (if they like historical adventure). However, the book would be more educational with adult guidance (many kids might not know enough about the revolutionary war to understand the emotional tension of the plot). A warning though: the language is a bit strong for the target audience.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Summer Required School Reading

    I purchased this book for one of my daughter's as it is required for her school summer reading list. She enjoyed the book and I am happy that wheneer my girls or I need books, they are easy to order through Barnes & Noble online and the books arrive in a few days.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Ok

    I did not enjoy this book that much. It could be because I read it with the class but I was not impressed. It's writing was great and so was the story. It was also realistic and tim did give you a good perspective of how life back then was. The book wasn't very nail biting though. It had a very good controversy that most books don't talk about though, which was how many americans were divided between liberty or english rules. This book is more suitable for a classroom studying the revolution than for fun. If you want a book that is really good and similair you'll enjoy Fighting ground by Avi. A great suspenseful book and very well written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    .

    My teacher assigned us this book to read. So far I am on chapter 5. It is perfect because we are learing about the Revolutionary War. I can't wait to read more! Although i don't like the cuss words put in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I remember reading this in school when I was in 5th grade. I did

    I remember reading this in school when I was in 5th grade. I didn't like it then because we had to read it and it wasn't something that interested me. In my junior or senior year in high school I was glad that I had read it. Many questions on different tests asked about what war life can be like. This book came to mind and I remembered how Tim felt being in the middle. Families today in america feel the same way. Though we dont see the blood and guts of our loved ones being killed today like they did back then. We still feel pain when our loved ones dont come back. We still get mad at the other side for what they did to us. Even though this happened a long time ago war is war and history repeats itself. So for those that dont like the blood and guts like me, read it anyway for you will be surprised at how simular are feelings of wars are today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Predictable

    So the book that wasn't bad, and it wasn't that good. We had to read it for school and all of my friends said they loved it, but I didn't. Some of the parts were very predictable. The way they named the book was original, but gave too much away. Overall, the book was okay, but not something I would have read on my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    all but the ending

    this book was excellent...until you reached the last twenty pages or so. the ending was quite a let-down, and did not support all the drama and suspense of the rest of the book. however, the rest of the book was honest and well-written. it is definetly a good book if you want to learn about the loyalists in the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    I Liked It

    it was okay but not great i liked it at the end more than the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    its a great book

    first i though it would be the worst book ever but it turned out to be one of my favorite book so i really want you people to read it and i had to read it for school too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Creatively Annoying...

    A good book¿ Accurate and detailed well, but, historical fiction, not the best genre to warm your heart, especially in this book. Two very gruesome killing scenes detailed very well, so, not for the faint hearted. The book leaves you with a sense of discouragement and disbelief of what went on during the Revolutionary war. But, if that¿s what you¿re looking for, a book that gives a well written book that tells the truth about the Revolutionary war, then otherwise, it¿s a good choice. It tells of how a young boy, Tim Meeker, as well as his town, Redding Connecticut, is torn apart by the war and the conflicts it causes. Tim¿s brother, Sam Meeker, ran away from home to join the Patriots in aid of fighting the British, but Tim¿s father is a strong supporter of the British King and doesn¿t take his son¿s decision well. Tim is caught between these issues and is confused about the war and doesn¿t know which side to choose, his brother, who he¿s looked up to all his life, or his father, who¿s worked hard to support his family. The ending will leave you speechless and wondering what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Not too shabby

    I did enjoy the historical aspect of this book. It is good for young adult readers who still have an ideal view of the American Revolution and war in general. This story also focuses on a young boy coming of age and having to become the man of the house at an early age. There are not too many happy points in this story, but if there were a lot of happy parts, it wouldn't hold true to either of its main ideas; not too many times is war or coming of age a happy experience. This would be an interesting book to use in a grade 6 through 9 English classroom when the history classes are studying the American Revolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    My Review Rocks!

    This book was great when it comes to learning about families and their life during the revolutionary war. The book was a bit gory at some parts but overall the book itself was quite interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Its an okay book but its on my Final

    very slow i thought, but it is worth reading (especialy if its on your final)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    MEH

    This book was OK. The ending was sad, though. DO NOT READ THE ENDING FIRST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    Marissa

    My brother Sam is dead was an okay book. It was sort of boring at the beginning but it got a lot better towards the end. I didn't like the part were Sam and his dad got in a fight although I kind of liked the part were the guys head fell off. That was sort of sick. I think that you should read this book because it talks about the hardships of the Revolutionary War.It was agood book but it had some bloody, gory scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    3 stars is pretty good for a guy who doesn't like to read

    This book was okay, but very sad, especially how Life, his dad died, and also how sam died. If I was time I would go hang myself or something, but at least he got his mother.His life turned bad when the revolutionary war started and his brother Sam and his father were on different sides, how can Tim choose over his Father and his Brother. At the end if I was Tim I would hate the rebels and hate the Torys both, because of their stupied arguing, they have managed to kill two people he loved dearly. My moral for this story is: Many consiquences you will have, when fighting for what you believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    7th grade who takes Futility of War seriously

    This book isn't the best book ever but it explains about the futility of war and what it can do to a family. I enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    this book is o.k.

    this book is good if you like sad books and war

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    jeff's review

    it is a really good book for someone who likes historical fiction. If you have a brother you probably will also like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2