Customer Reviews for

My Brother Sam Is Dead

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Spine Chilling Great Story

Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at ti...
Action, adventure, war and cruel punishment the book my Brother Sam Is Dead has it all . This book made my mouth water and pant for more of this spine chilling adventure. There is romance between many characters as well as war between colonies and cruel punishment at times with so much description that you have sympathy for the characters in the book. You feel as you are a witness in the time and you are beside the main character as his dreadful life moves on. I recommend this awesome story to anyone. This book is a great adventure as well as a historical reference of the Revolutionary War.

posted by cpjack23 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Juicy book stuffed with details!

My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary...
My Brother Sam is Dead.as its title suggests, is respectively violent with little happiness and cheer. You will most likely think because of these aspects, this book is terrible, but that isn't so. My Brother Sam is Dead is a book that takes place in the Revolutionary War with action and history. The main characters are a family named the Meekers, (in order of age) Tim, Sam, Susannah (mother), and Eliphalet (father). This family is loyal to the British, but Sam, at 17 years, fights for the rebel army. Sam decides to enroll because he feels like he's a part of something important. This action makes Life very angry. I do not suggest children under 12 years of age reading this book because there are many, many curse words and some images may be disturbing. Even teenagers or adults may find this book gory and sad. On a scale of one to ten, I would give My Brother Sam is Dead a 6.5.

posted by 1167768 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    A interesting book!

    This book was good because it relates so good to The American Revolution and lets you know what went on during that time. I also enjoyed it because It keeps you on the edge the whole time. That is my opinion on this book. Go to your local libaray and check it out NOW!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Just no

    This book sucked. We had to read it in class and no one liked it at all. Find another book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    I would rate my Brother Sam is dead a four out of five stars, I

    I would rate my Brother Sam is dead a four out of five stars, I thought that the book was a great historical fiction because it talked about the “lobster backs” which are the British and the Rebels. I liked how the narrator of the story was the younger brother because seeing from a different point of view makes you feel like your living in the household. I enjoy how the narrator explains his thought to his brother because he thought that his brother was a good role model. The author had a brilliant idea of having the father supporting the British and the older son supporting the Rebels, and the interesting thing was that they both new that each others were different supporters, but my favorite part was that the younger boy “Tim” was a supporter of both, meaning he was friends with some of the British and the Rebels. A big thing that happened in the story was that the boy helped his older brother steal some thing important from his dad, even though he didn’t want to, but his brother was his role model so he did as he asked. Since the older brother Sam was always gone because he joined the Rebels he didn’t really want to stay in a area full of British because he would feel as if they wouldn’t like him and possibly kill him. The book was very suspenseful, you never knew what was going to happen to Sam because he was gone for a while in the book then put back in, but that’s what I liked because it made me want to keep on reading, at the point of a big event the boy Tim would slowly lose respect to his older brother but near the end of the story, all respect goes to his brother Sam. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    this book is boring and sucks,my whole class has to read this an

    this book is boring and sucks,my whole class has to read this and they hate it too. yes it is part of history but this book should NOT have been published or received an award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    MUST READ

    I read this book in fifth grade. It does have a few bad words in it, but its still a great book for young adults, like me. Please read. I recommend it to any young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Boo

    Sams head gets chopped off dont read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good

    My class is reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Is it wierd

    Is it wierd that my name is tim and my brother sam really did die in a war

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    .

    My teacher assigned us this book to read. So far I am on chapter 5. It is perfect because we are learing about the Revolutionary War. I can't wait to read more! Although i don't like the cuss words put in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    This book farted again!!!

    Throw yourself out a window insead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Best book

    I would recommend this book for any age group

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Why?

    The idea for this book isn't a bad one. Older brother defying father and younger brother is left trying to decide which side he should join. But after that the book is incredibly stupid and boring. The way Tim goes back in forth on deciding whether he wants to be a Tory or a Patriot is tedious and irritating. The fact that the authors are constantly throwing in graphic amounts of blood and gore-when more often than not it is unnessasary- is disgusting. The title gives away everything and you find yourself halfway through the book and praying that Sam will die already so that the book will end. And then finally he does.... on the very last page of the book. Some new words can get added to your vocabulary, but then hardly any of them are beneficial. Then there is the issue of how Sam gets put in prison. It's completely unbelievable. The authors could have thought of a better way to kill Sam then having him shot for "stealing" his own cattle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Loved this book

    First book i ever really enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Loved this book as a teen

    Loved this book as a teen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great book

    The book my bdrother sam is dead has plot twists trought the story. A great book for action and adevture along with hisrorical fiction. Highly recomended to everone. You wont be able to stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I love this book!

    Ima name my son Eliphalet...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Hrhbft

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great

    Great book. I thought that it was going to be boring because it was on my summer reading list, but it was very interesting and it was filled with information from from the Revolutionary War. The only thing is that it is a little gory, but aside from that it is a fanstastic book and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good

    This book is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13