Customer Reviews for

My Cowboy Valentine: Be Mine, Cowboy\Hill Country Cupid (Harlequin American Romance Series #1438)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Sweet, satisfying stories perfect for Valentine's Day! I enjoye

    Sweet, satisfying stories perfect for Valentine's Day! I enjoyed both novellas in this book very much. Jane Porter's Be Mine, Cowboy is a wonderful story of redemption and forgiveness. I loved her flawed but earnest hero and the independent heroine that he loved. Their story was satisfying and enjoyable without being too sweet to take. Jane has a masterful way of developing her characters in such a way that even in a novella format, you know them and root for them right away...then you miss them when the story ends. Well done.

    Tanya Michaels's Hill Country Cupid is one of the sweetest stories of unexpected romance I've read in a while. I loved the handsome hero who still feels like the awkward teen he once was and the heroine who doesn't see her own appeal until it's through the eyes of another.

    All in all, I'd recommend this duet of novellas for anyone looking for a sweet American Romance for Valentine's Day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A honest and heartwarming story. My Cowboy Valentine by Jane Por

    A honest and heartwarming story.
    My Cowboy Valentine by Jane Porter and Tanya Michaels is a book with two great stories in it.
    Jane Porters story Be Mine, Cowboy is a honest and heartwarming story dealing with hard everyday problems but it's a Harlequin so you are guaranteed a happy ending.
    It's the first Harlequin American Romance story I have read by Jane Porter but I can honestly say that I loved the story. It made my cry and laugh and had two great characters in it. The heroine, Rachel and the hero, Cade.
    I love reading Jane Porters Harlequin Presents and I truly love them, but I read the Harlequin Presents when I need a big romantic story.
    This is different, more honest to real story that you easily can relate to. It deals with everyday problems and I like that. I can highly recommend this story for Valentines Day.
    Tanya Michaels story Hill Country Cupid is also a great heartwarming story. It's the first story by Tanya Michaels that I have read but surely not my last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Both Jane Porter and Tanya Michaels deliver sweet and enticing


    Both Jane Porter and Tanya Michaels deliver sweet and enticing in a small book. Both stories are so good. They really know how to grab your attention right away. I was sucked in from the beginning and couldn't put this book down until I finished. I have been a fan of Jane's for years and she never disappoints!! I recommend any and all books she writes. Tanya has gotten herself another fan with me too!! So, grab a hot cup of tea, or hot chocolate, and cuddle up and enjoy :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I enjoyed both stories in this book very much. They were fun to

    I enjoyed both stories in this book very much. They were fun to read.
    Be Mine, Cowboy by Jane Porter: Cade is a rodeo star with a past Rachel would rather forget. They were lovers once, but his love for other things tore them apart. Which is where Rachel would like to keep things. Now, he is back in town and Rachel has been raising her son on her own and doesn't want anything to do with Cade. But, he does everything he can to win both their hearts.
    Hill Country Cupid by Tanya Michaels: Tess, the owner of a dance studio tries to set up a couple of her students' single parents. She teaches Nick all about how to romance a woman, from what to say, how to act, and how to dress. In the end, there is only one woman he wants and will settle for nothing to get her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Cowboy Valentine by Jane Porter and Tanya Michaels Be Mine Co

    My Cowboy Valentine by Jane Porter and Tanya Michaels
    Be Mine Cowboy by Jane Porter
    Cade is back in town after riding rodeo and he brings flowers to Rachel's grandmother only to learn she died years ago.
    Rachel is there and has just finished decorating Mia's wedding cake but he thinks it's her wedding cake for her wedding the next day. He had his chance once. Larry at the diner sets him straight and he goes to visit with Rachel
    to find she has a disabled child and she's lost her grandmother's house. Next day she can't deliver the cake her car dies. He rescues her and they go to pick up Tommy her son and he gets to learn more about her life now.
    Love the time they spend together where he gets to learn about Tommy and how he can help him because of the research he's done and
    Rachel gets to find out about him since they broke up many years ago.
    To me the best part was learning about the disability and how to handle it with loving people around...
    .
    Hill Country Cupid by Tayna Michaels
    Tess Fitzpatrick ran the dance studio. She's going to help Nick Callhoun get a woman. His other brothers on the family ranch haven't done much better.
    In return he can teach her about how to ride a horse and not be so afraid. They get to spend a lot of time together, usually in the company of his daughter, Bailey.
    Because of that others think THEY are a couple, instead of Tess helping him get a higher level woman.
    First they get his hair cut, then she pushes him into a clothing store where he is to ask the advice of the sales clerk. She goes off with Bailey for girl time. She teaches him everything to do on a date and it is backfiring...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    My Cowboy Valentine was such a treat with two great novellas in

    My Cowboy Valentine was such a treat with two great novellas in one package. I always know that with Jane Porter it will be a great read, and I was pleasantly surprised to love Tanya Michaels' novella as well. Porter's Cowboy Be Mine, not only taught me something about autism, I thought she handled the topic beautifully and realistically. Porter never ceases to amaze me on how she can pack so much into each story and character. Michaels' novella had a great sense of humour and the characters were very likeable and I will defintely read more of her stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    My Cowboy Valentine  My Cowboy Valentine is a two book treat fo

    My Cowboy Valentine 

    My Cowboy Valentine is a two book treat for lovers of country romances. Full reviews available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    good quick read

    A COUPLE OF SWEET STORIES THAT ARE QUICK ENJOYABLE READS. THE CHARACTERS ARE BELIEVABLE - A FEEL GOOD BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    My Cowboy Valentine was a good read. The characters where well

    My Cowboy Valentine was a good read. The characters where well developed and the details made this one of my favorite novellas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I haven't read this style book in many years and wasn't too sure

    I haven't read this style book in many years and wasn't too sure about reading it. Just a few pages in, I thought, "No worries, this is pure Jane Porter!" I'd have love to see this story in a longer, women's fiction novel. My heart was won when I read this line: "Absolutely perfect and just the way God intended him to be." Like Rachel's son, my son is profoundly handicapped. I have said this exact thing numerous times.

    Jane doesn't shy away from any topic and handles them all with finesse and grace. She makes me want to meet her characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Cowboy Valentine ¿ Jane Porter & Tanya Michaels Be Mine,

    My Cowboy Valentine – Jane Porter & Tanya Michaels

    Be Mine, Cowboy by Jane Porter
    Cade is a recovering alcoholic who is back in Rachel’s life after walking out on her five years ago when she attempted to help him with his problems. In the five years since her heart was broken, Rachel has been struggling to raise her autistic son, doing everything she can to protect him from people who don’t understand him. Now that Cade is back she is struggling with feelings that never went away and has to decide whether or not she can trust him not only with her but also with her son.

    Be Mine, Cowboy is a sweet, emotional read. Rachel’s love for her son is evident in everything she does and you really feel for her and the issues that can come with raising a special needs child. Cade knows that he hurt Rachel when he left and is doing what he can to make amends and win Rachel back. I really enjoyed their story and Jane did a great job. My only wish is that it was a longer story.

    Hill Country Cupid by Tanya Michaels
    Tess is known for doing what she can in helping out her friends in giving them a push towards something that they want. She’s known Nick for several years and decides that he needs help in courting the woman he’s lusted after since high school. While helping Nick become more comfortable in flirting with the opposite sex, Tess realizes that she has feelings for Nick but doesn’t want to be anyone’s second best.

    Hill Country Cupid is a nice, fun Valentine’s read. I loved Nick and Tess together and seeing them overcome the obstacles keeping them apart. I really enjoyed Nick’s determination to show Tess that she is his first choice above anyone else and that they belonged together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    'My Cowboy Valentine' has two very enjoyable romances. One stor


    'My Cowboy Valentine' has two very enjoyable romances. One story will make you cry and the other will make you laugh. 'Be Mine Cowboy' by Jane Porter tells the bittersweet romance of Rachel James and Cade King. When Cade walked out on Rachel, he broke her heart. Now he's back, but Rachel is a single mother with a special needs child. The author deals with real issues while giving the reader a memorable romance. Tanya Michaels in 'Hill Country Cupid' shows how a born meddler, Tess Fitzpatrick, plays a matchmaker for Nick Calhoun and finds that she wants to be his love and a mother to his daughter, Bailey. The chemistry between these two will make you heart beat faster. This book is perfect for Valentine's Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Perfect Valentine read. Two stories of cowboys and the women who

    Perfect Valentine read. Two stories of cowboys and the women who hold their hearts. The chemistry of the characters draw you in and you cannot put the book down. As every page turns, you are held captive, and watching their story unfold. I really recommend this book for Valentine's Day or for anytime you would want to read a sweet, enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    It has probably been about a DECADE since I¿ve read a traditiona

    It has probably been about a DECADE since I’ve read a traditional romance. A friend of mine knows that I love everything that Jane Porter writes…so when she saw her Harlequin American Romance novella, My Cowboy Valentine at the store, she bought it for me. It’s a sweet and easy read. I finished it in one setting. There are two stories, Be Mine, Cowboy by Porter and Hill Country Cupid by Tanya Michaels. Both are great. The Porter story really hit home as the heroine, Rachel James, has a son with autism, as I do. Porter really nailed the struggles and heartbreaks involved in parenting a child with special needs. I’m very lucky, because I have a wonderful husband who is a fantastic dad. But I do have friends who are single moms in a similar situation and dating gets very, very complicated. Loved that Rachel found her cowboy! Sweet & romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    If you want to see the soft side of cowboys, My Cowboy Valentine

    If you want to see the soft side of cowboys, My Cowboy Valentine is the way to go. Both stories, Be Mine, Cowboy & Hill Country Cupid feature cowboys just made for falling in love with. Jane Porter does a great job at giving the reader the satisfaction of a reunion story with a happy ending. Tanya Michaels shows us that good things can happen when you spend a little time stepping outside your normal routine. Both stories are funny & heartwarming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Rachel James is a single mom of an autistic son.  She recently l

    Rachel James is a single mom of an autistic son.  She recently lost her grandmother and is in the process of moving out of the home that not only she grew up in, but the only home that her young son has ever known.  Unexpectedly, Cade King, comes knocking at Rachel's door.  Cade was Rachel's first and only real love.  Several years prior, Rachel told Cade that he had to stop his drunken ways or he could no longer be a part of her life.  Surprisingly, he got up and walked out of her life.  She was shocked that he could just leave and forget all that they had and shared.  When he showed up at her door she was full of emotion.  She still had strong feelings for Cade, but she couldn't allow him into her life knowing how much his drinking affected her.  She also wouldn't allow that around her son.  




    Rachel was having a streak of bad luck.  First she loses her grandmother.  Then she has to deal with losing the house that she grew up in and then her car not only breaks down, but is going to cost her more money than she can afford.  Thankfully Cade is there to help drive her around.  Rachel learns that Cade has battled his drunken demons and has been sober for a while.  Will Rachel allow Cade back in her life?  How will Rachel's autistic son feel around Cade?  




    I really enjoyed this book.  It was very well written and drew me in right away.  I liked the characters a lot and found myself rooting for Rachel.  Once again, Jane Porter has produced a very well written book that draws you in right from the beginning.  I would recommend this book to anyone wanting a great read with a romantic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    My Cowboy Valentine is an excellent February book to read. It i

    My Cowboy Valentine is an excellent February book to read. It is a quick, satisfying read. Cowboys and romance make a great combination. Jane Porter delivers another great story. This is my first story to read by Michaels, but thoroughly enjoyed. This story will pull on your heartstrings. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1