Customer Reviews for

My Cross to Bear (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend.

Highs, lows and in-betweens...the dude lets it rip! Great sense of humor, too! He doesn't expect nor does he ask for anything. I admire that about him.

I know many have judged this man over the years, but I refuse to and never would. I think that I understand hi...
Highs, lows and in-betweens...the dude lets it rip! Great sense of humor, too! He doesn't expect nor does he ask for anything. I admire that about him.

I know many have judged this man over the years, but I refuse to and never would. I think that I understand him. You can hear the pain and sorrow in much of his music, and there don't appear to be as many highs as there are lows in his life (and I mean that figuratively, not literally). Maybe those are to come!

I can’t remember not loving this man, his music, Brother Duane, the ABB, and everything else as they were a huge part of my life (along with my three Brothers) while growing up in Georgia in the 60’s & 70’s.

posted by GaPeachBC on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's hard to rate this book objectively. If you are an Allman Br

It's hard to rate this book objectively. If you are an Allman Brothers fan there is loads of interfering material in the book especially around there early years (which is over half the book)

That being said, if you are not a fan, i think it's a tedious read. It's wri...
It's hard to rate this book objectively. If you are an Allman Brothers fan there is loads of interfering material in the book especially around there early years (which is over half the book)

That being said, if you are not a fan, i think it's a tedious read. It's written like I imagine he talks and the subject are all over the place and the stories are often superfluous around most getting some

posted by 2985057 on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    Highs, lows and in-betweens...the dude lets it rip! Great sense of humor, too! He doesn't expect nor does he ask for anything. I admire that about him.

    I know many have judged this man over the years, but I refuse to and never would. I think that I understand him. You can hear the pain and sorrow in much of his music, and there don't appear to be as many highs as there are lows in his life (and I mean that figuratively, not literally). Maybe those are to come!

    I can’t remember not loving this man, his music, Brother Duane, the ABB, and everything else as they were a huge part of my life (along with my three Brothers) while growing up in Georgia in the 60’s & 70’s.

    35 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Loved it. It's like sitting on the porch with a bottle of cheap

    Loved it. It's like sitting on the porch with a bottle of cheap wine and a pack of cigaretttes with the whole night to listen to a good ole boy reminisce.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended if you grew up in the late 60's early 70's

    First of all, the enhanced edition is excellent. Secondly, Gregg Allman did a book signing at Barnes & Noble's Union Square location on May 23, 2012, and was humble, warm, friendly and outgoing. A true southern gentleman.

    I've been an Allman Brothers fan from the first time I heard their debut album played on WNEW-FM in NY on Scott Muni's show. Gregg's book takes you through his incredible journey.

    Again, highly recommended.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Brings you back

    Nice way to look at a legandary group perhaps a bit hard on richard but greg is one great blues master

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    highly recommended

    a great read could not put the book down! he speaks from the heart just as his music always does. ABB is the best American rock band ever period.... get the book!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    I just finished this book and it upsets me because the stories were fantastic and told honestly. I really get a sense that Mr. Allman is just as fantastic at writing books as he is at writing, composing, and playing music. I really enjoyed the rawness of his story. I feel like I was allowed to read his private journals because the story divulged so much information and never did he try to downplay his role in wrongdoing. I feel more connected by having read it and I always appreciate anything that makes me feel like i have learned lessons vicariously through the author. I sure hope one day that I can call him Gregory and congratulate him on this fantastic piece!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    NO WONDER HE CAN SING THE BLUES.

    Yikes! Wasted days and wasted nights. The liver transplant and the repentant heart make this an easy, worthwhile read.
    For those of us who are not fan's of Cher, kudos here, as she does not suffer fools gladly. Unless of course it's Hollywood Liberal politics. There are numerous accounts of people dying after their first hit of cocaine or heroin, this very talented man lived decades though what most addicts do not. Best song...2009 slow version of "Whipping Post."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Enc
    Enhanced version offers wonderful interview clips & a song, which is great. Gregg tells his story honestly & engagingly. Any fan would love this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    It's hard to rate this book objectively. If you are an Allman Br

    It's hard to rate this book objectively. If you are an Allman Brothers fan there is loads of interfering material in the book especially around there early years (which is over half the book)

    That being said, if you are not a fan, i think it's a tedious read. It's written like I imagine he talks and the subject are all over the place and the stories are often superfluous around most getting some

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    At first - seemed to be a real page turner. Then, slowly, I be


    At first - seemed to be a real page turner. Then, slowly, I began to realize...this is a piece of self serving BS. I don't think he can even remember that much of what happened during those days. I feel sorry for everyone who ever befriended this narcissistic jerk.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    For a ABB GA fan its a must read.

    Not really insightful but if you are a big fan, you pretty much have to read it. There are no surprises or anything profound. Just a dude that partied hard, drank hard and drugged hard while being involved in and responsivble for some great music. This is the first enhanced ebook ive bought. The enhanced features (video and audio) are quite nice. I will now always spring for an enhanced edition when available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    My Cross to Bear GREAT READING


    Couldn't put it down


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Very genuine and well-written

    This is autobiography is very well-written and genuine. The writing style was easy to follow and the content was so good, you couldn't wait to turn the page. If you're a fan of the Allman Brothers, or from Macon, GA, I highly recommend this book. It's time well-spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great Book

    Just goes to show you what God and the power of the Holy Spirit can do in our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    No Keith Richards

    I got 3 or 4 chapters into this and wasn't impressed. I don't know whether it was the way he was telling his story or the story itself. I love Gregg Allman's music and respect his legacy, but didn't get much out of his story. I'll have to go back to it at some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Enjoyable if a little disturbing

    Gregg makes himself out to be quite the anti-hero. I enjoyed the history and background of the ABB that he provided, but at the same time, the blase attitude about his drug habits was a bit disturbing. One minor issue: he claims that Eric Clapton didn't play slide until meeting Duane Allman. However, the timeframe provided for that meeting was after the Beatles' White Album on which EC played slide. Overall, though, good read. I had just recently started digging into the ABB catalog, so this book was a good companion to that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    never again

    I will never attend another Allmans BB concert after reading this. Not the drugs, not the drinking and not the womanizing. Self inflicted gunshot wound to avoid military service!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Recommended for anybody of the late baby boomer generation

    The book is very entertaining. I grew up in the error of the Allman Brothers bank and their musical influence. It was I time that I easily identify with and enjoyed. I would recommend it to anybody in my generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Started reading this book 2 days ago past the half mark he tells

    Started reading this book 2 days ago past the half mark he tells it like it is man even some sorty`s about the warehouse in new orleans was lucky to meet greggory years ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended for any music lover

    Excellent book, Greg Allman talks about good times and bad times. Anyone who loves music, is struggling with sobriety needs to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3