Customer Reviews for

My Dark Places

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ellroy at the Deep End

For a first read of James Ellroy - this is diving in at the deep end. It is a haunting story told in four parts. Ellroy's stacato reportage in the third person in parts one and three - sets the author and reader in a surreal distance as observers to firstly the crime an...
For a first read of James Ellroy - this is diving in at the deep end. It is a haunting story told in four parts. Ellroy's stacato reportage in the third person in parts one and three - sets the author and reader in a surreal distance as observers to firstly the crime and, in latter years, the search for the facts. This style, however, does not prepare the reader for the impact of the second section of the book which hits you like a runaway bus - Elloy's drug and booze clouded years from the death of his mother to his meeting with Stoner, the detective on the edge of retirement who takes up his case. Part three 'The Kid in the Picture' is riveting as it is draining as Ellroy opens his phyche to the reader. The final part - again told in the first person - is Ellroy's reconcilliation with the ghost of his monther's memory and his guilt of denial. I was exhausted at the end of this book - but I wanted more.

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing......

I did get caught up with author's desire and chase for his own missing pieces, however too much of it was redundant. I found myself wanting to skip ahead to find new progress in the case.

It does provide some insights into the anguish that loved ones go thru when they...
I did get caught up with author's desire and chase for his own missing pieces, however too much of it was redundant. I found myself wanting to skip ahead to find new progress in the case.

It does provide some insights into the anguish that loved ones go thru when they lose a loved one and the scenerio of events does not match their experience with deceased.

Hopefully, this case will be solved someday. At that time, with new details added to story- it would not feel so incomplete.

posted by MicelleElyse56 on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Ellroy at the Deep End

    For a first read of James Ellroy - this is diving in at the deep end. It is a haunting story told in four parts. Ellroy's stacato reportage in the third person in parts one and three - sets the author and reader in a surreal distance as observers to firstly the crime and, in latter years, the search for the facts. This style, however, does not prepare the reader for the impact of the second section of the book which hits you like a runaway bus - Elloy's drug and booze clouded years from the death of his mother to his meeting with Stoner, the detective on the edge of retirement who takes up his case. Part three 'The Kid in the Picture' is riveting as it is draining as Ellroy opens his phyche to the reader. The final part - again told in the first person - is Ellroy's reconcilliation with the ghost of his monther's memory and his guilt of denial. I was exhausted at the end of this book - but I wanted more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Disappointing......

    I did get caught up with author's desire and chase for his own missing pieces, however too much of it was redundant. I found myself wanting to skip ahead to find new progress in the case.

    It does provide some insights into the anguish that loved ones go thru when they lose a loved one and the scenerio of events does not match their experience with deceased.

    Hopefully, this case will be solved someday. At that time, with new details added to story- it would not feel so incomplete.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    'My Dark Places' exists in a quantum state of being both "h

    'My Dark Places' exists in a quantum state of being both "high art" and a "good read". James Ellroy nabs the artistic holy grail of "transcendence" in the face of the literati by eschewing their accepted tropes for many of the common conventions of mass-market paperback "true crime" shock lit. There is nothing that can prepare you for what it is: not 'In Cold Blood', not some Eggers-penned/Oprah-sanctioned book-of-the-month, not however many Ann Rule page-turners. This is more than just a memoir. This is more than just a true crime account given in hard-boiled, post-Beat, staccato style. This is more than just the most compelling story you'll ever read. James Ellroy is the most brilliant writer of the latter 20th century. This is his magnum opus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Poignant and wonderful!

    I like this much better than Ellroy's fiction. It has the unmistakable note of truth and takes no prisoners. Yes, the style is intense, foul-mouthed and dares the reader to separate it from fiction, but in 'My Dark Places', Ellroy finds compassion for his lost mother in the rounds of attempting to solve her slaying. The internal psychodrama sucked me in and its truth creates a weird and wonderful dualism. A Greek tragedy in beat profanity, I could not put it down and it has haunted me for some time after reading. It's harsh and painful and completely mesmerising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Straightforward and beautifully written

    This is the first James Ellroy book I have read. It's a man looking to find his mother's killer, but finding the love for her instead. I could not put this book down. I am now in the middle of reading the LA Quartet . James Ellory's writing is addicting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Rivershaed

    Finally! Yay!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Bronzekit

    Sqeals

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1