Customer Reviews for

My December

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My December

    I just listened to My December, and cannot believe what a vocal range Kelly has. I am so dissapointed she canceled her tour. I wish she would come near Vermont.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album of the Year

    The album as a whole is a cohesive unit telling a very personal, yet relatable, story throughout. Mainly, Clarkson comments that life is full of a lot of downers, but there are nonetheless better times when one can really prove one’s perseverance. That said, Clarkson incorporates several tones in reliving tales of betrayal, anger, loneliness, human faults, and times of “picking” the “weeds.” Clarkson and her team masterfully intertwine these traits and others into each song on the album. Yet, the genius behind Clarkson’s lyrics plays a role as well: Clarkson never narrows her songs’ topics, but rather constructs her songs with simpler, easily relatable phrasing. Listeners are not thwarted away from actually conceiving that they know and understand what Clarkson feels and sings. “Never Again”—Clarkson masterfully demonstrates angst with fervor. Her references of sorts to Christian practices (“repent yourself away” and “give me that Sunday school answer”) all the more prove what an ingenious lyricist Clarkson can be after all, the male subject being scorned is now a member of a contemporary Christian band. While these lyrics narrow the song a bit, the remainder of the lyrics remain general, allowing any listener who has been cheated on to easily identify with Clarkson. While the chorus may seem to lack a catchy melody, Clarkson does seem to chant the chorus rather convincingly. “One Minute”—The music and lyrics of this song focus entirely on juxtaposition and high contrast. While the song may seem dark lyrically, Clarkson is actually quite easily discussing the ups and downs of life accordingly, the music itself is rather sing-songy. The music parallels the idea behind the lyrics. While the hook is bare, Clarkson easily covers for that shortcoming through the tremendously addicting chorus. The song remains in listeners’ ears far after the song’s conclusion. “Hole”—The chorus is simple: “There’s a hole/ inside of me/ it’s so [damn] cold/ slowing killing me.” It’s succinct, simple, and easy to remember. What’s more, Clarkson has actually placed “holes” in between each line of the chorus. There are short breaks after each line. The lyrics remain simple, yet detailed enough to sense Clarkson’s sense of emptiness and desire for a new beginning. The rockier edge of the song brings life to the album, even if the subject matter is darker. It’s hard to not bobble your head around while enjoying the music. “Sober”—This song creates a new mood for the album. Clarkson manages to softly, yet powerfully, display one essence of human life: one must drag out the garbage and put in a new, clean bag. The music is captivating, while the lyrics remain inspiring. The entire thesis of the song, and perhaps the album, (I picked all my weeds/ but kept the flowers), breathes new life into listeners, providing hope through the idea that one truly can “wake up” and ditch the negativity in life. Clarkson’s explosive, emotional ending to the song emotes a genuine sense of cleansing that convinces even the most drunk of alcoholics that a better day is to come. “Don’t Waste Your Time”—This is one of Clarkson’s poppy contributions to the album. The song delves into quite general subject matter: bad friends. We’ve all had them, easily making the song relatable for even the must dreary of listeners. While the song doesn’t get as explosive at the chorus as perhaps I would have preferred, Clarkson’s captivating voice is able to dig the song out of that ditch the ending of the song is the most convincing part of the song. Wh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her turning point

    I've always enjoyed Kelly Clarkson. She had a cute personality, great voice, and some really wonderful pop songs [Miss Independent, Since U Been Gone, and Behind These Hazel Eyes to name a few]... however, I always felt she could do better. Her albums still had filler around the great singles. My December has changed all of that. Every single track on this album is good. There's seriously no filler at all. It's really annoying to read criticisms of the album being too depressing and angry. Yes, many of the songs deal with relationships gone wrong, but it's pretty light compared to some other stuff out there. I think the album is very balanced in its rock/pop sound. It's harder but not overly so - and it's still very catchy in my opinion. You start singing along to the songs almost immediately. Plus, there's a variety of uptempo songs and ballads, which makes it a very enjoyable listen. My faves are One Minute, Hole, Irvine, and the incredible ballad Sober - also check out the amazing hidden track Chivas. Don't listen to the media and bitter public trying to bring Clarkson down. This is the breakthrough album that will mark her transition into a true artist who has many years ahead of her in the business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I am a huge kelly clarkson fan and I didn't really care for it when i, for the first time, listened to it on the leak. The more i listened to it though, the more i liked it!! It is actually a really excellent album if you give it a chance! You won't be disappointed.. i definetly recommend that you all get it! It is one of those albums that you can't stop listening to!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Still' Got It

    Kelly Clarkson is truly a singer that people of our time can be proud of. She's got a set of pipes that send a majority of the pop princesses packing, she's got confidence and smart writing capability, and best of all, she's got nerve. Not eager to ride the wave of "Since U Been Gone" forever, she put caution to the wind and took time to craft a raw and remarkable new set of tracks. Why in God's name was her label worried, I have to ask. * "Never Again" is in-your-face and maybe too angry for a summertime anthem, but it's still a great piece of pop/rock, what Kelly does best. Among the hard-rockers of this album are the greasy but infectious "Hole," the creepy Evanescence-esque "Haunted," and the arena romp "Yeah." These are where Clarkson finds her most comfortable fit, cool and superbly delivering each line. * Taking an earthy route on some of the other tracks, giving the rightly put "but not by any means poor" "coffeehouse" sound, Clarkson is vulnerable and intense, honing her vocals with acoustic guitar. Another highlight, "Sober," "the second single" is heart-wrenching and beautiful, with "Maybe" and the hypnotic "Be Still" in tow. * This album is a must for fans of Clarkson and non-fans alike, because it is a dynamic tranformation from the sometimes too poppy Breakaway, her breakthrough. Kelly is indeed a woman to watch, and a staple of our culture, and I feel she deserves commendation for what she has brought to the table. "A" * DOWNLOAD THIS: Hole, Sober, Haunted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She really is...all that!

    Kelly never ceases to impress me. This album is fantastic. I was already hooked on Never Again and Sober. Now I'm lovin' Hole and Judas...and Irvine is so beautiful. The other songs are great, too. These are just my current favorites. There are ton's of radio friendly tracks on here. I think I will wear this CD out just like I wore out my Breakaway out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Okay. I know alot of people think that Kelly Clarkson can't rock. Well, she can and this album proves it even more so than the glossy arena-rock of "Breakaway". The album is nothing but pure emotion whether she's bashing an ex on the lead single "Never Again", acknowledging how far she has come in a difficult situation in "Sober", pleading for the presence of a friend who committed suicide in "Haunted", or asking God to stay with her in "Irvine". This has many kinds of songs on it. Some are heavy rock ""Hole", "Haunted"" and some are very soft ""Irvine"" and some are kinda in between ""Chivas" "the hidden song on track 13", "How I Feel", "Maybe"" and there's even some R&B flavor on the soft "Be Still" and the funk-fused "Yeah". This is an awesome album that everyone should give a chance because of how diverse the music is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    With a hint of Alanis in a few tracks and a Jewel-feeling in two others tracks, Kelly gives a different feeling in this new album of hers. When "Haunted" starts up, I swear I thought that it was a song by Evanessesce, but as soon as she starts singing, it doesn't sound like a song Amy Lee would sing. The album is nothing like what I tought it would be. I thought that it would have a lot of Rock/Pop songs, like "Never Again" but I was very much mistaken. It sounds nothing like "Thankful" or "Break Away". "One Minute", "Judas", and "How I Feel" start off with a very trance feeling that make you wanna get up and dance. "Hole" and "Haunted" are very rocky hits. "Sober", "Be Still", and "Maybe", you see the true beauty in her voice. "Yeah" has a very country rock style to the music and her voice. "Chivas" has a little of country in her voice as well. And "Irvine" is just real emotional. Don't know how to categorize this song. It's very nice and contains such depth. Overall, I LOVED this CD. There's maybe 3 songs I'm not really crazy about, but it's really good. I love that Kelly doesn't do the same thing over and over again. I hear that she's planning on making her next album country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I agree her other cd's were awsome. But some title tracks sound weird. I heard all this and that about the cd I'm not sure. I love her don't get me wrong but first I can go on itunes and listen to a clip and see if I want the cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Raising the bar again - this time on her own and did an amazing job.

    No this is not what helped Kelly win AI - it's a million times better. It's got raw emotion, it's real and authentic, not too common in the music biz or even the world. People who are looking for commercial songs or a copy of Breakaway, look elsewhere. Real songs are not for you. For the editor of the popular magazine, I bet you are not an editor of music because you obviously can not appreciate real music. You could work for Clive Davis. Kelly does seem to have some similarities to Amy Lee but maybe it's just the fact that they can make you feel like they're in the room singing to only you - an indication of a spectacular artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She Rocks!

    Kelly has finally gotten the chance to break out and do what she wants with her music.She is not an Amy Lee copy cat,she wrote a more edgy cd because that's where she was in her life at that point! leave the poor girl alone, because she ROCKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is for anyone who has ever loved someone and lost somebody, and all the feelings that have to do with a breakup. Wow, I keep listening to it over and over. I realize that it is opening up feelings from way back with feelings I never dealt with, and I find this is healing feelings I forgot I had from way back that were never dealt with. Kelly, Thanks so much for the songs. This is your best yet, and I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My December

    I am a huge AI fan, and have followed Kelly since the first season. This album shows Yet another side of Kelly's singing...My favorite song is "Sober", and she sounds a lot like Norah Jones, the song is incredible!! I am a grandmother, and the rest of the songs haunt me. I listen to it over and over, and am getting hooked on it while I am stuck in traffic in my car. This CD is good for reflecting on hurtful breakups from the past, the hope of love now and the future, and will haunt you so much you will want to play it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kelly Clarkson - My December

    This album is amazing! It's definately not the same as Breakaway (it has more of a rock feel) but it really is good. Just because it's not as "poppy" doesn't mean its not as good. Check it out, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FIRE!!!

    What I love about kelly is that one every album she does is so different from the other.I love that these songs are all written by her.I hear this album is like a diary of events she was going through at a place in her life.it's very autobigraphical".SOBER is amazing.I went on aolmusic and heard it and I loved it.She has a beautiful voice and this album will be a masterpiece.BUY IT JUNE 26th!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    From what I've heard of this album, so many of these songs are just down right amazing. Maybe, Judas, Sober, Haunted, and so many more. There's more rock and more acoustic than her past album, but this album has not disappointed me at all. As to the orignality of Kelly's album--none of these songs are copies of anything people are accusing her of copying. Just because some title of a song is the name of another group's song or because the cover of an album looks somewhat similar to something else does nto mean anything. The songs are about completely different things and no one has been copying from anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way to Go, Kelly!

    I think that Kelly is one of the bravest, and best, female recording stars of today. The record label did not want her to record these songs, but she did anyway. Did you know she wrote or co-wrote every song on this CD? I'm very proud of Kelly, and wish her the best of luck. I know a lot of people are saying that this CD is just some CD that will just be a bunch of screaming, but from what I've heard, It should be beautiful! Once again, way to go Kelly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This CD rocks!!!

    I love this Cd. All of these critics were writing how bad it was but professional critics are usually wrong. These songs are original and just fabulous. My favorite would have to be Sober and Hole. Never Again, One MInute, and Can I Have A Kiss were good to. Kelly Clarkson shows how much she evolved from a Pop-Bubblegum singer to a Rocker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Kelly has done so good so far with her other two albums that this one is sure to be a hit even with all the weird publicity! I love the song Never Again! I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WAY TO GO KELLY!!

    this is the best album yet. I just love that song 'sober' and Never Again.. "Three months and i'm still sober" i just love. I think this album is going to be a huge sucess!! WAY TO GO KELLY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3