Customer Reviews for

My Fair Godmother

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A great twist on a familiar fairy tale

Not all fairy godmothers are the answer to your problems apparently, at least, not fairy godmothers whose powers are only fair, instead of competent. Troubled teen, Tansy, gets caught on the wrong side of the law when her loser boyfriend sets her up and then bails out o...
Not all fairy godmothers are the answer to your problems apparently, at least, not fairy godmothers whose powers are only fair, instead of competent. Troubled teen, Tansy, gets caught on the wrong side of the law when her loser boyfriend sets her up and then bails out on her. But meeting the gorgeous police chief's son doesn't seem a bad trade-off. Every time Tansy's godmother tries to help, things get worst. Between a Robin hood who isn't so dreamy, and then a trip back in time to an evil king, a dangerous imp, deadly games, and a threat to the life of her future child, Tansy has had her fill of magic. It will take the love of her family and her own courage to get them all back home alive.

Filled with action, adventure, emotion and a little magic gone awry, My Fair Godmother is a must-read.

posted by snarkyharpy on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Twelve

Is this good for a twelve year old Sara

posted by 7306232 on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More than a "fair" book

    Savannah really can't believe her luck. Her gorgeous boyfriend just left her for her studious older sister. And one horrific bikini incidence later, Savannah really can't imagine her life getting any worse.

    So when Chrissy, Savannah's Fair Godmother (Chrissy is only a mediocre student so she hasn't achieved the level of "Fairy Godmother" yet), shows up, Savannah thinks maybe her luck has changed. After having Chrissy grant her a wish, Savannah realizes her luck has changed: unfortunately for the worse.

    When Savannah wishes to go to a ball with a charming prince, Chrissy sets her up as a servant Cinderella, during a time months in advance of the ball. After a few weeks of servitude, Savannah escapes using her second wish. Sadly, it lands her in the part of Snow White, whom everyone believes is an airhead. Her third wish is so misinterpreted by Chrissy, that Savannah's classmate Tristan is sent to the middle ages. To return, he must complete a series of tasks, including the slaying of a dragon. Savannah realizes that to get Tristan back to where he belongs, she will have to go back to save him.

    I picked up My Fair Godmother mainly because I am a huge fairytale fan. I expected something light, fun, and fluffy with little or no substance. I wouldn't have been disappointed if the book had ended up that way since light books are a great way to clear the mind. But I was pleasantly surprised by My Fair Godmother's true nature.

    I really got into the story, and I really liked the characters of Savannah and Tristan. Their conversations sounded pretty realistic in tone. It's the way two classmates would really act if dumped together into such a strange situation.

    But what impressed me most was Rallison's handling of Savannah. It seems like every book I read nowadays features grade-smart main characters. I've noticed that the kids who don't make the best grades are pushed into the roles of flat, ditzy characters. This upsets me because I have some friends who don't make the best grades but are really funny and aren't ditzy. They are totally round character material. Plus, this discourages reading for kids who don't have the highest GPAs. I like reading books that I can relate to. So do all readers.

    Savannah didn't make the best grades. She didn't put a lot of effort into school. But she wasn't pushed into a flat role. Instead, Rallison dumped the traditional story on its side and made Savannah's studious older sister the flat character. And in a story of twisted fairytales, this really worked.

    I highly commend Rallison for creating a book with such an original, wonderful heroine.

    This book itself had good substance, and I found myself really caring about what would happen to Savannah and Tristan. My Fair Godmother wasn't difficult to read, but I really enjoyed the fact that Rallison never talked down to her readers. Overall, an impressive novel. I look forward to reading more from Rallison in this vein in the future.

    ~bella aire~

    This review was written for the Not-So-Closet-Geek book review site: http://not-so-cg.blogspot.com

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    I chose the book because it just seemed interesting. I thought t

    I chose the book because it just seemed interesting. I thought that it would be about a teenage fairy that got her title removed from a fairy godmother to a fair godmother. The book wasn’t what I expected it to be I thought it was way better, I feel the same about the book I thought it was going to be good and it was. My thoughts on what I thought the book was going to be has changed, I thought it was a better book than I thought it was going to be.
    The fair godmother wasn’t a very good fairy god mother that’s why she was a fair one, Savannah at first kind of is obsessed with how she looks but cares about others, Tristan is a very sweet boy, Jane is Savannahs older sister and is very protective of her, and Hunter is currently Jane boyfriend. The book is a fantasy, and the author is Janette Rallison.
    I liked the book because the characters all change so much from what they were at the beginning, and the book is different in so many ways things just keep going wrong from the start. It was just so interesting and mysterious in a way.
    I liked this book and I recommend you to read it, it’s very funny and has a lot of twist, I recommend that the grades 5-7 would be appropriate to read this book, trust me you don’t want to miss this book.
    I would give this book a star rating of a 4, it is a good book.
    The book is very funny Savannah keeps getting put in fairy tales, she’s in the middle ages as that princess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    The bomb.com!

    Good book loved the romance.only a couple things that i didnt particullarly like but amazing book alltogether.i love fairy tale retellings. I cant wait to read the secind one now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    A twist of fantasy and love

    This books really tells you love is troubled and a big dream when you think its perfect but never ever let some one fix it for you [like a fairy]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Fairytale Fantasy with Princess Twist

    Very old fairytale meets reality with Savannah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Best

    This is a great fairy tale meets teen drama book. It has many qualitys of a fairy tale but there is a modern twist to it. Wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    So good!!

    I loved it so much, i couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Pretty good:)

    This book had a lot of action in it. It was very good and it was a cute story. I really enjoyed it. You have to be patient in the beginning but it gets a whole lot better. Another book worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Really Good

    I just read the sample, and it was really good. I was confused by the first page until i realized that the fairy godmother was the one talking... but other than that, it was really good. I cant say anything for the whole book because i havent read it. but ithink you should buyit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I was prepared for something light-hearted with this book. What I was unprepared for was how much I thoroughly loved it. It's just an all around fun book. Add in the fairy tale element, a "fair" godmother, and a modern day prince only missing the official title and you have a story that appeals to both teens and adults.

    I wasn't sure about Savannah at first. She seemed the typical teenage girl that everyone else wants to be and also loves to hate. I didn't like the way her sister handled the relationship with Hunter. But, I also think Savannah could have behaved differently. Enter in the picture the fair godmother. I actually wish we got more of Chrissy. She seemed like a riot! I loved how the classic fairy tales weren't actually what we think. Who doesn't want to be Cinderella or Snow White? Well, in this story you don't.

    I loved Tristan. He was like the true knight in shinny armor. I can't imagine what he thought when Chrissy showed up at his house and told him he had to become a prince and had to go back in time to do it. I thought he fit in really well into the middle ages. He was book smart and knew how to behave and what certain customs were. But, he was also able to be street wise. The romance was sweet between Tristan and Savannah. You knew it was there from the beginning, yet the author allowed it to grow. It wasn't overwhelming, but you were rooting for them the entire way.

    I can't wait to see what Chrissy is up to with her new charge in the next book My Unfair Godmother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Loved this book

    This was one of those books that I sat down to read "a chapter" and ended up reading half the book. The story is a lot of fun. It reads quickly, the external problems (stuck in the fantasy middle ages!) and internal journeys were challenging and satisfying. Couple of excellent twists; things that happen early actually make a difference later. I loved all the characters, *especially* Tristan. But the relationship between Savannah and her sister and the resolution of their differences extremely satisfying.

    Fairy tales are full of people making foolish decisions, and I like that Rallison made the characters' mistakes (and, yes, foolish decisions) logical and justified, even if things then went horribly awry.

    The one exception to that was the Fair(y) Godmother, Crissy. She was just such a twit, that it stretched the bounds of believability (even for a fantasy creature). I grant that she has to be a screw-up, or the story couldn't happen, however, her character was actually quite unpleasant to me. But I admit I have a very low tolerance for twititude, so it may not bother other people.

    Fortunately, she wrecks mayhem, the disappears until the next time, so it didn't interfere with my enjoyment of Savannah's story.

    Though the conflicts aren't kid stuff (Tristan has to fight a duel, there are various romances and a rather Shakespearean plot in the background), there's no objectionable content. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any age reader, young or young at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

    Ahh this book's so neat!! I did not think I was going to like it as much as I did, I'm so glad I was wrong. I loved this story Janette Rallison created. Great book about fairy tales, completely different from any other fairy tales out there.<BR/>I really felt for the protagonist, Savannah. Her older sister betrayed her (tsk tsk tsk) by stealing her boyfriend, then afterwards both bastards pretty much acted like Savannah was the weird one for not forgiving them. Those turds!! Anywho....Savannah's dork of a Fairy, I mean Fair Godmother Chrysanthemum Everstar (neato name huh?), a cool sometimes pink haired funny teenager, messed up Savannah's wishes and because of her silly self Tristan, this guy from her school, ended up in the middle ages until he can become a prince. Savannah has to go back to help him get out, until then they're both pretty much stuck there, with no electricity, indoor plumming, clean water, etc. :(<BR/>This book made me laugh out loud at times and I just had to finish the book after first starting it, I finished it in one sitting thankyouverymuch :D It's just that entertaining. :) So, I would recommend this one if you're looking for a nice fun read. Ooooh and guess what?!! There's gonna be a sequel and I CAN'T wait to find out what Chrissy's next assigment is (!!!!!).<BR/>--tvandbookaddict

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2