Customer Reviews for

My Fair Lazy: One Reality Television Addict's Attempt to Discover If Not Being a Dumb Ass Is the New Black, or A Culture-up Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Best Nook Read...

Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able...
Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able to reference footnotes at the bottom of the page. Rather, they are listed like a glossary in the back of the book. For Nook readers this meant either constantly flipping back and forth between the footnotes page and the rest of the text, or forgoing what I believe are sometimes Lancaster's most witty remarks. I enjoyed the book overall, however, still a very good read.

posted by 4085547 on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SO DISAPPOINTED!

I am a big fan of Jen but this book is totally disappointing. I was hoping that the story will improve as each chapter unfolds ---but I wasted my time. For nook owners, email me and I'll let you borrow for free ... In fairness, I still like her!

posted by Nookie_Girl on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    Not the Best Nook Read...

    Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able to reference footnotes at the bottom of the page. Rather, they are listed like a glossary in the back of the book. For Nook readers this meant either constantly flipping back and forth between the footnotes page and the rest of the text, or forgoing what I believe are sometimes Lancaster's most witty remarks. I enjoyed the book overall, however, still a very good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Fair Lazy Review

    I recently finished reading My Fair Lazy by New York Times Bestselling Author Jen Lancaster. Jen writes memoirs about what's going on in her life, but with a humorous spin. Think a mix of Kathy Griffin, Lucille Ball, a splash of preppy plaid, stir in wine, throw in a funny husband and two pit bulls and you have Jen Lancaster. I love what Jen did in her latest book My Fair Lazy where she attempted to "culture up" or have a Jenaissance as she called it.

    Jen starts her Jenaissance when she realizes that she watches way too much reality tv, is not a fan of cultural events, and is afraid of food she hasn't tried before. I do love that she is a Twilight fan and I will even forgive her for being Team Jacob. She does mention in her book that she likes Robert Pattinson but not Edward Cullen. Jen even made her own version of New Moon with her Twilight Action figures which she posted on her blog.

    Jen starts off small with a quest she calls Jen Eats the World. She decides that she will try different foods from other cultures. She finds out she really likes Cuban and had me laughing out loud about her Castro comments.

    I love how she includes funny emails to her husband Fletch and her friends through out the book. In one she writes to her friend Stacy about a meeting she appeared to be having with her dog Maisy, who she sometimes refers to as armpit bull. On Maisy's agenda, cookies, poops, dropped food, and jumping on guests. Jen also includes footnotes with great little comments. I can not get through one of Jen's books without laughing hysterically.

    If you need a break from fiction or if you're looking for a new author you that you will instantly fall in love with then I highly recommend Jen Lancaster. For more info visit Jen's blog http://www.jennsylvania.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read!

    Jen Lancaster's latest book is laugh-out-loud funny! While I don't always get the realty TV references because I refuse to watch any (except ANTM!), her quest for cultural enlightenment is hilarious as expected. I enjoyed this book much more than her last two, and rate it up there with "Bitter" and "Bright Lights".

    And, if she's is coming to your town, GO. SEE. HER. She is even funnier in person! You will not be disappointed. http://www.jennsylvania.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Jen spills all in her memoir My Fair Lazy. Choosing to sit back and laugh at others on reality television shows. When she decides to sit the remote down, turn off the TV and venture out into the real world to see what life is like on that side.

    Her attempts for a cultural makeover make for a very entertaining read. She takes you along to experience her many adventures including theater, dance, poetry and more. She is a very talented writer whose voice begs to be heard. She's on my favorite authors list now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wiity and Funny - Loved it

    "Breaking is for cowards and turn signals for the weak" LOL #JenLancaster in her book My Fair Lazy... If you are looking for a super funny summer book, beach read, etc., buy ANY of her books. You will laugh. A LOT. I met her at her last book signing in Dallas and she is just as funny in person! Does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    jen doesn't disappoint!

    another great read by jen lancaster! not quite as funny (imo) as her previous books, but would definitely recommend ... it's probably best to read her books in order too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    Jen is still funny!

    I am a huge Jen Lancaster fan. I bought this book while on vacation in Hawaii, and one couldn't ask for a better beach book. Jen's writing and wit is extremely funny & relatable. Especially for those of us who, like her, love our reality TV! My favorite book of hers is Bright Lights, Big City, but any of her books will definitely have you chuckling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3